• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAPee To Force Sporns to DIE if Expired!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Puzzled over euthanasia workshop
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><DIV class=story_text><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I REFER to last Saturday's report, 'Pro-euthanasia group to run workshop here'. I am puzzled as to why official approval was given for the pro-euthanasia group, Exit International, to run a workshop here, considering that it promotes a subject that is against public policy.
Undertaking active euthanasia and abetting or attempting suicide are illegal in Singapore. Suicide as a cause of death is usually excluded in insurance claims, for good reasons. In the unlikely scenario that such claims are allowed under new legislation, what is to stop a cash- and resource-strapped family from directly or indirectly coercing a 'burdensome'patient to go for it, if only to ease their burden and repay debts incurred?
Legalising euthanasia prompts the question of how the Government and society view the value of a terminally ill individual's life, when he is no longer economically viable. It is disturbing that the organising committee has deemed it to be 'more acceptable/less controversial' if the workshop is restricted to people above a certain age. This connotes that somehow it is more acceptable for older people to end their lives, that the intrinsic value of their lives is somewhat lesser than younger people's.
If the organisation seeks to argue that an individual has the right to end his life so as not to prolong his own suffering, then it somehow seems contradictory that such a right is recognised only after a certain age. Is suffering in illness not universal, regardless of age group and other demographics? How do we decide if the suffering of the mentally ill merits the 'merciful' act of euthanasia?
As someone who has had two family members die from terminal cancer in the past year and a bedridden member enduring years of infirmity, I venture that most terminally ill patients would benefit from holistic palliative care. That when such a patient expresses a wish to die sooner rather than later is sometimes due to a failure on the doctor's part to adequately relieve the pain and discomfort, or simply undiagnosed and thus untreated clinical depression. And that, for some, such a cry for death may be just a disguised cry for better palliative and psychological care.
Dr Hoe Wan Sin
<!-- end of for each --><!-- Current Ratings : start --><!-- Current Ratings : end --><!-- vbbintegration : start --><DIV class=vclear><!---vbbTime (Thread ID: 18889) - Start : Thu, 16 Apr 2009 05:23:02:35---><SCRIPT language=javascript>function readCookieVbb() { var errorString = getURLParam("error"); user=getCookie("HTTP_user_id") luser="" if (user!=null) { luser=user.toLowerCase() if (luser == "anonymous" || luser == "anonymous|anonymous") { window.location= p_logoutLink; } } if(user != null && user !=0 && luser!=null && luser != "anonymous" && luser != "anonymous|anonymous") { document.writeln("<table border='0' width='100%' cellspacing='0' id='story_comments' style='display:none'>") document.writeln("<tr id='comments_body' style='display:none'><td colspan='2'>") document.writeln("<table border='0' width='100%' cellspacing='0'>") document.writeln(" <tr ><td class='heading'>Latest comments</td></tr>") document.writeln(" <tr><td id='messageDisplayRegion' width='100%'></td></tr>") document.writeln(" <tr><td align='right'>&raquo; Offensive? Unsuitable? Report comment
</td></tr>") document.writeln("</table>") document.writeln("</td></tr>") document.writeln("<tr><td width='100%' colspan='2'>Leave a comment
</td></tr>") document.writeln("<tr><td><textarea rows='4' cols='45' name='replyMessage' id='replyMessage'></textarea></td>") document.writeln("<td align='right' valign='bottom'></td></tr>") if(user ==0) { // do nothing } else { document.writeln("<tr><td colspan='2' class='details'>Logged in as") document.writeln(user) document.writeln("</td></tr>") } document.writeln("<tr><td colspan='2' class='georgia11 darkblue'>Warning: Any user who posts offensive or irrelevant comments will be banned from this Discussion Board.</td></tr>") document.writeln("<tr><td colspan='2' id='viewAllPostsRegion' align='right'></td></tr>") document.writeln("</table>") } else { document.writeln("<table border='0' width='100%' cellspacing='0' id='story_comments' style='display:none'>") document.writeln("<tr id='comments_body' style='display:none'><td>") document.writeln("<table border='0' width='100%' cellspacing='0'>") document.writeln(" <tr ><td class='heading'>Latest comments</td></tr>") document.writeln(" <tr><td id='messageDisplayRegion' width='100%'></td></tr>") document.writeln("</table>") document.writeln("</td></tr>") document.writeln("<tr><td>") document.writeln("<table border='0' align='center' width='460' cellspacing='0'>") document.writeln("<tr><td colspan='2' class='georgia11 darkblue'>Warning: Any user who posts offensive or irrelevant comments will be banned from this Discussion Board.</td></tr>") document.writeln("</table>") document.writeln("</td></tr>") document.writeln("<tr><td colspan='2' id='viewAllPostsRegion' align='right'></td></tr>") document.writeln("</table>") document.writeln("<table border='0' width='100%' cellspacing='0'>") document.writeln(" <tr><td align='right'>&raquo; Post comments here</td></tr>") document.writeln("</table>") }}</SCRIPT><STYLE> .Post { font-family:Georgia, "Times New Roman", Times, serif; padding:0; margin:0; font-size:11px; } .AlternatePost{ font-family:Georgia, "Times New Roman", Times, serif; padding:0; margin:0; font-size:11px; } ThreadDisplayPanel { border: 1px Solid #000; width: 600px; } .gwt-Label{ font-weight: bold; } #story_comments {padding:15px;} .heading {border-top:3px double #007BFF;border-bottom:1px solid #777777; font-weight:bold; font-size:14px;padding:5px 5px; margin-top:10px;} .details {border-bottom:1px solid #007BFF; padding:5px 5px 5px 0px; font-family:Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size:11px; color:#777777;} .more{padding:5px 5px; text-align:right;font-size:11px;font-weight: bold;}</STYLE><META content=/vbbStory/com.mavenlab.sph.vbintegration.vBIntegration3 name=gwt:module><SCRIPT language=javascript src="/STI/STIMEDIA/style/gwt.js"></SCRIPT><TABLE cellSpacing=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SCRIPT language=javascript> readCookieVbb()</SCRIPT><TABLE id=story_comments cellSpacing=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR id=comments_body><TD colSpan=2><TABLE cellSpacing=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=heading>Latest comments</TD></TR><TR><TD id=messageDisplayRegion width="100%"><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE class=Post style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>The writer's concerns and fears are well founded given the practice of this govt to manipulate issues according to its often hidden agenda. This govt is known for its two-facedness -what it says or don't say and what it actually does are often in contradiction by employing cunning and craft to mask its real ulterior intension and motives. This govt often treats the general population as 'the other side' to be manipulated, hoodwinked, cajoled, sweettalked, threatened if nec into getting its way with it. As recent as just days ago, the new HA Minister's indulges in sophistry in parliament get his way with the govt's new POA law.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: commentator_sc at Thu Apr 16 09:44:40 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

th_1-3.jpg

The alternative if of course for u to die in JB! *chey*

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Euthanasia robs terminally ill and their loved ones of precious moments
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I REFER to last Saturday's report, 'Pro-euthanasia group to run workshop here'. Legalising euthanasia will short-change the quality of life for those who are terminally ill and for their families and friends. I lost my grandfather to prostate cancer last year and my friend, who will be 21 this year, is struggling with leukaemia.
The main fears of patients like my grandfather and my friend are that they will be a burden to their families. The sudden inability to enjoy a normal routine such as a game of soccer or a visit to the mall with friends hits them the hardest.
A period of adjustment to change ensues. During this period, the support of family and friends is most appreciated. Encouragement and mere presence give support to the patient and draw the social circle of relatives and friends closer to one another. More than pain and suffering, that is what the patient fears most - lack of this support.
Legalising euthanasia will lower our quality of life. We have a responsibility to help those around us struggling with terminal illnesses to face life courageously. Seeking death is a quick way out and not the best solution. Kelvin Wong

Einfield

ha ha ha ......really ah.....but I refused leh.... because....... you and yr family got sucked by the bloody vampire leh.......:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

You must be a sinki still stuck in sinki land, my condolence to you for a slow and painful death by the vampire. I'm enjoying live else where, he's out of range.

I like your nick, every time someone read it, they curse your mom. What is your IQ?

tiulehloumoh

You must be a sinki still stuck in sinki land, my condolence to you for a slow and painful death by the vampire. I'm enjoying live else where, he's out of range.

Really ah.....out of range........but the bloody vampire will dig up your family grave hor...........:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Einfield

ha ha ha ...no no no....only for asshole like you who got bitten and suck dried by the bloody vampire......:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Say what you like, all I want to say to you is to call your nick, tiulehloumoh. Hahahhaa.

Thanks for entertaining me asshole, I have to go enjoy life now, you want some more of it, I come back some other time.

tiulehloumoh

Say what you like, all I want to say to you is to call your nick, tiulehloumoh. Hahahhaa.

Thanks for entertaining me asshole, I have to go enjoy life now, you want some more of it, I come back some other time.

Ha ha ha ......got tiulehloumoh from me hor .........don't jarbou leh......got lampar in you mouth already har ........:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin: just waiting to ass you.....:biggrin::biggrin:

Einfield

Ha ha ha ......got tiulehloumoh from me hor .........don't jarbou leh......got lampar in you mouth already har ........:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin: just waiting to ass you.....:biggrin::biggrin:

OK since you like it so much, one more before I go.

You poor bastard no life is it? Enjoy getting fuck by people every behind a computer.

You got lampar??? Don't talk cork la, you just another cork sucker.

Happy now? Hahahhahah

tiulehloumoh

OK since you like it so much, one more before I go.

You poor bastard no life is it? Enjoy getting fuck by people every behind a computer.

You got lampar??? Don't talk cork la, you just another cork sucker.

Happy now? Hahahhahah

Angry already har ?....jangan marah lah.....come come.....let me sayang you.......be good ok....or else bloody vampire will bite you again........:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin: