• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAPee DOGS: Lowering taxi fares will hurt cabbies

This won't be the case if taxi rentals are lowered at the same time, right?

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Lowering taxi fares will hurt cabbies
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->WE REFER to Wednesday's letter by Mr David Goh ('Taxi costs') and his suggestion to lower taxi fares.
We recognise that in the present economic downturn, everyone, including taxi drivers, is affected. Our fellow drivers have seen a drop in daily income due to general belt-tightening which led to reduced demand for taxis.
We doubt that lowering taxi fares will help as there is no guarantee that reducing fares will lead to more people taking taxis, but it would certainly hit drivers by further reducing their income, which has already suffered a drop. We are therefore very concerned that thoughtless reduction in taxi fares would lead to hardship for drivers, many of whom are main or sole breadwinners in their families. We believe any suggestion to help should have maintaining drivers' income stability as the primary consideration.
In fact, there are many ways to help drivers. A better way would be for taxi companies to do more to promote taxi ridership. Our taxi companies are working with corporate clients, supermarkets and cashless card merchants to give discounted taxi vouchers, which customers can use to take our taxis. This is a good way to create more demand for our taxis and we welcome more such initiatives from taxi companies to help us as drivers.
Nah Tua Bah
President
Comfort Taxi Operators' Association

Robin Ng
President
CityCab Taxi Operators' Association

Just reduce each taxi rental by $20/day. Since COE is so cheap and road tax rebate higher now but still need to pay high rental.
Each TAXI rental for Hyundai Sonata average daily is $110. They(Taxi company) just need 2 year to cover the cost.
The President of Comfort and CityCab Taxi Operator show be need to the slap on face/burnt. Hope all the TAXI driver will target these 2 person.

SHT is one of the already targeted one...

Just reduce each taxi rental by $20/day. Since COE is so cheap and road tax rebate higher now but still need to pay high rental.
Each TAXI rental for Hyundai Sonata average daily is $110. They(Taxi company) just need 2 year to cover the cost.
The President of Comfort and CityCab Taxi Operator show be need to the slap on face/burnt. Hope all the TAXI driver will target these 2 person.

Rising GST will hurt everyone and lost of more than $50 billions will empty the reserve, it is everyone's CPF.

except for those with old age parents

economy so bad, avoid take taxi when healthy alternatives to walk and cycle and public transport available

The blokes running Comfort and CityCab are not out of touch with the ground, but totally out of touch with the market as well.
Yet they are likely to be rewarded with hefty bonuses for their incompetence. One previous boss of comfort, an ex-MP,was rewarded with a S$1.4M bonus.

Wonder who put them there?

Lower the rental by $20/day that will solve all the problem.
Then revised TAXI fare.
1st 2km $2.50
Next every 200m $0.10. Then the fare is very transparency and easy/simple.
Take away 50% midnight charge or reduce to 30% same as peak hour charge.

Base on current Taxi charge better driver car because is on average 4 times cheaper base on car running on petrol usage. If the fare revised to above many will think harder before buying car.

Lackey Nah is a swine.

He knows lowering taxi rentals will hurt cab companies' fat cat profits.

He is worse than vermins in the sewers.

who is suppose the check into profitering of taxi companies?

$110 rental per day = $3300 per month and $39600 per year.
in two years, all taxis cost are being recovered and the next 5 years is pure profit.

so who should be monitoring them?

Have you ever attended the CTOA's election of office bearers ?..... it is all wayang wayang coz the key positions are "appointed" by gahmen...... before the casting of votes members are briefed on whom to be voted in for which appointment........

of course, reducing the fare will eventually hurt all the cab company's profit!

That why they come out with ways to attract more ridership , if i am them , i will do the same.

The victims are the taxi drivers. The only happy drivers
are those who are single or with grown up kids.
The rest are so stressed everyday and take it out
on other drivers.

Rising GST will hurt everyone and lost of more than $50 billions will empty the reserve, it is everyone's CPF.

GO ALL OUT TO KICK ALL THOSE BASTARDS OUT

ALL OF THEM

DO NOT WAIT UNTIL ELECTION TIME
THE TIME TO ACT IS NOW!

TALK TO YOUR FRIENDS AND YOUR RELATIVES.

SUPPORT OPPOSITION PARTIES WITH YOUR TIME AND MONEY AND STAND BY THEM AND WITH THEM.

THEY SPEAK FOR YOU AND TRY TO SPEAK FOR YOU.

NOT LKY AND HIS BASTARDS IN WHITE WHO ONLY WANT YOUR MONEY AND TO FUCK YOU.

IF NOT FOR YOURSELF, THEN FOR THE FUTURE OF YOUR CHILDREN

THERE WILL NOT BE AN OBAMA AS PRESIDENT OF USA IF THE CIVIL RIGHTS MOVEMENT THERE WAS INTIMIDATED BY BEATINGS AND LYNCHINGS IN THE PAST.

THE TOBBLING OF LKY WILL NOT BE EASY, AND CAN BE BLOODY AS WELL.
THEY WILL NOT GIVE UP THE BILLIONS THAT THEY SUCKED FROM YOU AND CAN CONTINUE TO SCREW FROM YOU NOW AND IN FUTURE.

ONLY YOU HAVE THE POWER TO SAY 'NO MORE OF THAT' AND THROW EVERYONE OF THOSE BASTARDS OUT

Sinkies must organise themselves

Show that they got balls and can stand up to LKY intimidation.

Big money at stake.

Already 400++ billions got sucked and bled by LKY into his Temasick and GIC

EVEN IF NO ELECTIONS, SINKIES MUST SPEAK WITH ALL THEIR FRIENDS AND ALL THEY KNOW

STAND UP TO THAT BASTARD LKY AND PAP BLOODSUCKERS

STAND WITH ALL THOSE THAT FIGHT BASTARD LKY

OR STAND UP YOURSELF IN YOUR CONSTITUENCY

DONT BE BULLIED BY THAT FUCKING COWARD LKY USING HIS CORRUPT KANGAROO COURTS AND ALL THAT HE CAN, AND WILL THROW AT YOU

ask the cabbies to watch this video. It aptly describe the situation they are facing right now.

<object width="480" height="295"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/EH9eJ8iZrfw&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/EH9eJ8iZrfw&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="295"></embed></object>

... A better way would be for taxi companies to do more to promote taxi ridership. Our taxi companies are working with corporate clients, supermarkets and cashless card merchants to give discounted taxi vouchers, which customers can use to take our taxis. This is a good way to create more demand for our taxis and we welcome more such initiatives from taxi companies to help us as drivers.
ur so many patterns ... ask urself frankly, effectif meh? ...

evrybody oso try 2 save ... corporate clients oso on austerity drive ... ppl owe u a living meh?

y dun u juz ask ze taxi companies 2 reduce rental? ...

Taxi driver hate TAXI voucher they want fare in cash. They need to make claim from the company that will take driver time and lost of income.
This type of stupid answer give by the TAXI company( we are promoting TAXI voucher)
Tell them to eat shit.