• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP projecting a false image of confidence and strength

aurvandil

After running around like a headless chicken for 9 days, the PAP is now playing its last psychological card.

They got LHL to apologise for mistakes.

They are now using every means possible to project an image of confidence and strangth.

Having failed with direct intimidation, they are now trying indirect intimidation. Meaning that if you are an opposition supporter, you are a minority. So better be careful and think twice if you want to vote Opposition.

Will the tactic work or will it backfire?

The results of GE 2011 had been decided long before Nomination Day. The crying, apologies and now propoganda add to the politcal theatre. People are however not stupid and can think for their own self interest. The PAP's campaign message resontes with those who are doing well and who are scared to lose what they have got. For those who are not doing well and who are finding daily life a struggle, it is the Opposition message which makes sense. Since the PAP is made up mainly elites, they naturally think most Singaporeans are doing well. It is hard for them to understand that the majority of Singaporeans are not doing well and are in fact struggling through life.

As part of final campaign, we now hear whispers of secret polls and studies which claim to give up to date reading of the ground. If you are a statistician, you will know this is plain impossible. To achive a 95% confidence interval, you need a RANDOM sample of 384. Multiply this across all the GRCs being contested, and you will need thousands of observations. This is especially if you want to go down to the consituiency level.

It is impossible to sample such a large number of people without it being publicly noticed. This is especially given the heightened political awareness during this period. And if it was noticed that the PAP was doing such a poll, you will see this all over the Opposition web sites, especially since political polling is against the law.

Even if the poll was conducted, there is still the time needed to enter the data and tabulate up the results. Given the short time frame involved, it is logistically impossible to get this done.

More so if fgds or focus group discussions are involved. A FGD involving 10 to 15people takes about an hour to conduct. The result is mainly qualitative and it will take an analyst about a day to do a decent report on 1 group. Multiply by all the areas contested and we again have something which is logistically impossible.

Which leaves us with the PAP's kopitiam research. This is your large group of grassroots people who fan out and attempt to get feedback on what is happening on the gound. It is imperfect, biased and wldly inaccurate.

What's worse is that the grassroots is dominated by the pre-65 group. Hence SM's comment that he is not able to feel the young. This is because his grassroot of old timers cannot connect with the P65 generation which has been showing up in large numbers at the opposition rallies.

The honest truth therefore is that the PAP doesn't have anymore secret or advanced knowledge of what the electoral landscape is like after what has been an unprecedented election campaign.

aurvandil

GMS then you should be celebrating:biggrin::rolleyes:

Being a poor opposition member, he where got money to celebrate? This is unlike PAP which has booked all the tables and prepared all the buffets in anticipation of victory. The only PAP team who didn't down a deposit is the PAP team in Aljunied. in the event they win, the plan is to add tables at Marine Parade.

... unlike PAP which has booked all the tables and prepared all the buffets in anticipation of victory. The only PAP team who didn't down a deposit is the PAP team in Aljunied. in the event they win, the plan is to add tables at Marine Parade.
how many tables dey have booked? ... :confused:

y + @ marine parade? ... y dun dey + @ amk? ... :confused:

aurvandil

how many tables dey have booked? ... :confused:

y + @ marine parade? ... y dun dey + @ amk? ... :confused:

GY is GCT side one mah. Of course go Marine Parade lah. It will be damm awkward if the whole gang show up at AMK to makan.

A bit of history. If you look back at the Jack Neo affair incident, George Yeo first came out in support of Jack Neo. THis is because Jack Neo was supposed to be his king card to counter LTK. Agter George Yeo issued his statement of support, Lim Biow Chuan came out to say having affaird is "unaviodable" for sucessful men. Lim Biow Chuan was from MP GRC before his choice Mountbatten area was carved out to become a SMC.