• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP Porlumpar Richard Tan Kok Tong tells you to stay in Singapore on National Day

whistling

Stupidman
This year’s National Day falls on a Friday. It is a public holiday. Many Singaporeans will no doubt go overseas for the long weekend. This comes despite years of efforts to instil a greater sense of patriotism among Singaporeans.

In 1986, the National Day Parade was revamped. From an early morning parade, it became an early evening celebratory event and was made primarily for television. This was so that the whole nation would find it meaningful to stay home, and have dinner parties with family members, friends and neighbours to celebrate the National Day.

National Day observance ceremonies were held at workplaces for management and employees to mark the occasion. There were also National Day dinners in each constituency.

National Day carnivals, Sing Singapore, and Swing Singapore were also organised for people of all ages to enjoy the National Day weekend.

Families and organisations were encouraged to fly the state flag so that homes and buildings all over Singapore, including those along Orchard Road, would be decorated to create the atmosphere for the occasion. Patriotic and traditional English, Chinese, Malay and Indian folk songs were played on TV and radio and at shopping malls for the same reason.

But did we succeed in inspiring Singaporeans to stay home on Aug 9? Probably not. Looking at the traffic jams at the Causeway and the Second Link every Aug 9, we still have a long way to go to instil in our citizens the level of patriotism we see in other countries.

For instance, the Swiss are known to fly home to celebrate their National Day on Aug 1. Americans do likewise for their Fourth of July.

Many Singaporeans instead leave the country to celebrate our nation’s independence elsewhere, mainly in Malaysia. I am not sure if we should feel embarrassed, especially as we gained independence following our separation from Malaysia.

A Malaysian minister actually told me, at an Asean event, that Malaysia’s tourism receipts were among the highest on Singapore’s National Day. And he suggested in jest that Singapore should declare every day a National Day.

Richard Tan Kok Tong

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/forum/forum-our-national-day-but-other-countries-gain

whistling

Stupidman
images

Balls2U

Singaporeans these days are made up of true blue Sinkies and foreign trash. So what's there to celebrate? What one united nation regardless of race, language or religion?

nabeifuckpap

This cunt just wants sinkies to stay in SG to feed more money to PAP SMRT SBS Transit rather spend in Ringgit or Baht LOL

Touchy

Yeah, fcuk him.

I wonder how much he receives in extra income by carrying PAP's balls? $10,000 of extra income per month?

That is a lot for him, as for the useless handicapped clown @k1976 , he/she is receiving IB reward for S$0.01 per post in Sammyboy. :biggrin:

Basically, this clown is here every day, leaching on taxpayers' monies, singing and praising non- stop.

bobby

Why donch the gahmen just impose a $100 exit tax per person on Sinkies using their powderful red passport on that weekend?

k1976

That is a lot for him, as for the useless handicapped clown @k1976 , he/she is receiving IB reward for S$0.01 per post in Sammyboy. :biggrin:

Basically, this clown is here every day, leaching on taxpayers' monies, singing and praising non- stop.

Heng hah.. still walking atound
You have a caring heart of Gold...难得:smile:

k1976

Field marshal kim is also jin handsome de woh

k1976

,Pls always leemember 天在看

Dun act recklessly or try to stir unnecessary problem...small problems can be fix easily

Right, Boss John?

Fucked up people always write to the Shitty Times forum, and their letters get published frequently too.

Not the first time from this Richard Tan. :wink:

Forum: Composing songs is also part of nation-building​

AUG 11, 2022
https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/forum/forum-composing-songs-is-also-part-of-nation-building

Letter of the week: Our National Day but other countries’ gain?​

AUG 02, 2024
https://www.straitstimes.com/opinio...eek-our-national-day-but-other-countries-gain

Oh look, he was a civil serpent working to create propaganda songs for the PAP regime back in the day. :roflmao:
An article from 1989.

So the 'Psychological Defence Division' was in charge of producing propaganda back then. Wonder what it is called these days? :wink:

https://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/newspapers/digitised/article/straitstimes19890202-1.2.27.17

richard1.png

richard2.png
richard3.png

Touchy

,Pls always leemember 天在看

Dun act recklessly or try to stir unnecessary problem...small problems can be fix easily

Right, Boss John?

tell that to yourself please... 请不要来丢脸... obviously you are still waiting for your taxi.

453041751_10219544267557373_4844786211888222029_n.jpg