• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP importing talents or importing burden ?

Tiu Kwang Yew

So is PAP forcing the employers to employ cheap labor from PRC, Matland and war-torn countries.

Might as well name sinkapore third-world and bring down HDB 3 room beehive to 7000 dollars like the one the shortie asshole lived he called the PALACE.

Nov 24, 2009
Eager to learn - despite language gaffes aplenty

THE class of 18 students - ranging from teenagers to those in their 30s - were by turns baffled, amused and embarrassed, but always attentive and eager to learn.

Mainly Chinese nationals, they came from different industries: hospitality, entertainment, food, and even factory and construction. Armed with electronic dictionaries, they were attending a basic English conversational course for foreign workers.

There were plenty of language gaffes and mispronounced words during the three-hour lesson The Straits Times sat through at NTUC's Employment and Employability Institute in Redhill last Thursday.

Simple questions posed to one another during dialogue exercises such as 'Can you take a message, please?' were greeted with stunned silences, blank faces and then a burst of giggles.

'May I take a message?' became 'May I taxi a mess?' while the answer to 'Where would you like to meet her?' was 'I miss her!'

Said their trainer Mavis Lim, 55: 'Their vocabulary is limited and grammar is a problem because they tend to forget to use verbs. Some simply do a direct Mandarin-to-English translation.

'We teach using a variety of tools - a lot of reading, role-play, dialogue and we focus on topics related to work.'

Bridging this language gap and improving service levels, said employers such as Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel and Golden Village Singapore, are the main reasons they send their foreign employees for this course.

Ms Guo Xiaohui, 20, who is from China and works at the candy bar at Golden Village theatres, recalled how she could not tell the difference between Coke and nachos. 'I thought they sounded the same. So I gave the customers the wrong items.'

While the students took their trainer's corrections good-naturedly, most tell the same tale of being 'looked down upon' because they could not speak English. Some have been driven to tears after being told 'to return to China' while others have received complaints for being rude when they were, in fact, unable to express themselves.

Chinese national Liu Jia Yi, 20, a cashier at one of Golden Village's theatres, hopes to learn as much as possible. 'I don't think I will be able to speak perfect English after the course, but hopefully, it will enable me to speak to my customers effectively,' she said in Mandarin.

Do they use the phrases they pick up in class? Yes, said Mr Xun Lei, 27, a purchaser at St Regis Hotel, in Mandarin.

He added in English: 'Goodbye, see you again!'

So is PAP forcing the employers to employ cheap labor from PRC, Matland and war-torn countries.

Might as well name sinkapore third-world and bring down HDB 3 room beehive to 7000 dollars like the one the shortie asshole lived he called the PALACE.

This Hainan Ah kor, "huat teow nan"...you believe the craps that he spews. :rolleyes:

He must be grumbling at his parents for bringing him up in a gangster infested Kim Keat avenue, 3 rooms flat, than you belive him about the palace thing.

If that is the case...SINgaporeans are living in palaces...wow!:p

takcheksian

wah, so lihai aa

800sf 3 room is equal to a 100000sf palace, then 4 room is an entire high class neighborhood.

5 room must be a world class city by itself.

One terrace house must be equal to one province or state.

One bungalow equal a country.

Then the GCB that old fart lives in? Equal an empire aa?

No wonder Old Fart acts like Emperor of the Galaxy and lecture world leaders all the time!

This Hainan Ah kor, "huat teow nan"...you believe the craps that he spews. :rolleyes:

He must be grumbling at his parents for bringing him up in a gangster infested Kim Keat avenue, 3 rooms flat, than you belive him about the palace thing.

If that is the case...SINgaporeans are living in palaces...wow!:p

Interesting thread title.
I've noticed that there are lots of elderly china nationals around these days.
Can you imagine, they import a "foreign talent" cleaner, he brings his wife, 2 young children and 2 elderly parents. Does that mean Singapore "gains" 6 people and a cleaner's economic contribution?

cooleo

>>Ms Guo Xiaohui, 20, who is from China and works at the candy bar at Golden Village theatres, recalled how she could not tell the difference between Coke and nachos. 'I thought they sounded the same. So I gave the customers the wrong items.'<<

KNN...will she understand the difference between blowjob and handjob?!