• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP give 69 yr old man $150 mthly to liv

<TABLE id=msgUN cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - PAP give 69 yr old man $150 mthly to liv</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF noWrap align=right width="1%">From: </TD><TD class=msgFname noWrap width="68%">limtuakang <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate noWrap align=right width="30%">5:48 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT noWrap align=right width="1%" height=20>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname noWrap width="68%">ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 4) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%" rowSpan=4> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>4328.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Watch the moving video interview here:
http://wayangparty.com/2008/12/26/69-year-old-man-unable-to-find-job-given-only-s150-a-month-by-government-for-living-expenses/http://singaporeenquirer.sg/?p=723
Prologue:
69 year old Mr Chua used to work as a construction laborer in the past. He is still healthy and able to work, but nobody wants to employ him, citing age as a concern.
As he does not qualify for the Public Assistance scheme, he is only given a monthly allowance of $150 which he supplements by borrowing from his friends.

Excerpts of interview translated from Hokkien:
SG Enquirer: Do you go to look for work ?
Mr Chua: Yes, I cycled everywhere from Geylang to Whampoa, but they say I am too old and refuse to employ me…..I told my friends like this die already I have no job to do, no job no money. If this house has to be paid by me, then I really die.
SG Enquirer: How much did the government give you a month ?
Mr Chua (crying): S$150 only. They open a bank account for me and deposit the money into it every month.
SG Enquirer: Is it enough ?
Mr Chua: Not enough. The water bills is already a couple of dollars…..in 2, 3 or at most 4 days, the money is gone.
SG Enquirer: Are food prices high now ?
Mr Chua: Yes, very expensive ! When I go out to look for job, I dare not drink coffee at coffeeshop. I ordered hot water instead, no money what to eat ? Can only drink water.
SG Enquirer: Did you ask your MP to help you look for job.
Mr Chua: Yes, they gave me a job as a sweeper at ….don’t know where, offered me S$300 monthly, but the transport fares cost a hundred plus dollars already.
SG Enquirer: Did you ever go hungry ?
Mr Chua: When we are hungry, just take some roti (bread).
SG Enquirer: Do you still have CPF ?
Mr Chua: No.
SG Enquirer: Are you upset with your predicament ?
Mr Chua: Yes, but what to do ? When we run out of money, I have to go around to borrow from my friends and when the S$150 is deposited on every 3rd of the month, I will use it to repay them.
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

TV2008112422090200.jpg

KNN! My daddy and hubby dun need $ to invest abroad ah? My ministers dun need to eat ah? Be fair can or not? *zzzz*

Wayne Piew

Mr Chua can always go to some temples for free meals. $150 is more enough for him since he does not how to save during his younger years.

Q

Qinhuang

The old man misses the great CPF scheme.
Singapore has the best retirement scheme in the world,
How come got such a problem?

i dont think this is a genuine news. Lee Kuan yew will never let this kind of thing happens. Young time f88k around nothing to do with now.
i think he donated too much to the NKF or renci monk during younger days.

$150 not enough , the old man should beg at the Istana entrance or beg somewhere near oxley hill.

cass888

Why does he need to get the $150 in the first place? Local construction workers were very well paid in the prime of his days (1980-1990), can earn betwen $2k to $2.5k+ a month with overtime during a time when that was a lot of money.

Did he donate all his money to charity via the Turf Club and Singapore Pools?

Where is his CPF? If his employers evaded CPF, that is why we need more stringent enforcements. If he spent donated it all via Turf Club / Singapore Pools, then that is exactly why we need the minimum sum / compulsory annuity scheme.

This story tells us why it is so important to have the current policies in place. Give people their CPF at 55 like the reCHEEme of the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan suggests and when they're 69, they'll be complaining that $150 is not enough

The future aged will be able to sell their HDB flats and downgrade. If HDB starts giving out "cost subsidised" flats like the reCHEEme of the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan suggests, then the future aged will end up like Mr Chua because their flats will be worth nothing. And no, I do not relish paying higher taxes to feed people like him.

Instead of highlighting the truth, people like you want to inflame the indignance of the populace - a tactic of the reCHEEme of the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan.

<TABLE id=msgUN cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - PAP give 69 yr old man $150 mthly to liv</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF noWrap align=right width="1%">From: </TD><TD class=msgFname noWrap width="68%">limtuakang <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate noWrap align=right width="30%">5:48 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT noWrap align=right width="1%" height=20>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname noWrap width="68%">ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(1 of 4) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%" rowSpan=4></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>4328.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Watch the moving video interview here:
http://wayangparty.com/2008/12/26/69-year-old-man-unable-to-find-job-given-only-s150-a-month-by-government-for-living-expenses/
Prologue:
69 year old Mr Chua used to work as a construction laborer in the past. He is still healthy and able to work, but nobody wants to employ him, citing age as a concern.
As he does not qualify for the Public Assistance scheme, he is only given a monthly allowance of $150 which he supplements by borrowing from his friends.

Excerpts of interview translated from Hokkien:
Mr Chua: Yes, I cycled everywhere from Geylang to Whampoa, but they say I am too old and refuse to employ me…..I told my friends like this die already I have no job to do, no job no money. If this house has to be paid by me, then I really die.
SG Enquirer: How much did the government give you a month ?
Mr Chua (crying): S$150 only. They open a bank account for me and deposit the money into it every month.
SG Enquirer: Is it enough ?
Mr Chua: Not enough. The water bills is already a couple of dollars…..in 2, 3 or at most 4 days, the money is gone.
SG Enquirer: Are food prices high now ?
Mr Chua: Yes, very expensive ! When I go out to look for job, I dare not drink coffee at coffeeshop. I ordered hot water instead, no money what to eat ? Can only drink water.
SG Enquirer: Did you ask your MP to help you look for job.
Mr Chua: Yes, they gave me a job as a sweeper at ….don’t know where, offered me S$300 monthly, but the transport fares cost a hundred plus dollars already.
SG Enquirer: Did you ever go hungry ?
Mr Chua: When we are hungry, just take some roti (bread).
SG Enquirer: Do you still have CPF ?
Mr Chua: No.
SG Enquirer: Are you upset with your predicament ?
Mr Chua: Yes, but what to do ? When we run out of money, I have to go around to borrow from my friends and when the S$150 is deposited on every 3rd of the month, I will use it to repay them.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

cass888

He must have been a very charitable person, donating a lot of money to charity through Singapore Pools and Singapore Turf Club.

The old man misses the great CPF scheme.
Singapore has the best retirement scheme in the world,
How come got such a problem?

i dont think this is a genuine news. Lee Kuan yew will never let this kind of thing happens. Young time f88k around nothing to do with now.
i think he donated too much to the NKF or renci monk during younger days.

$150 not enough , the old man should beg at the Istana entrance or beg somewhere near oxley hill.

Q

Qinhuang

Singapore pools and turf club contribute much to charities.

some money may go to NKF or Renci.

the old man should see the PAP MP if money no enough, PAP MP got ready cash to help.

PAP MPs are better than loudhailers right, they got ready cash hor to help.

Why does he need to get the $150 in the first place? Local construction workers were very well paid in the prime of his days (1980-1990), can earn betwen $2k to $2.5k+ a month with overtime during a time when that was a lot of money.

Did he donate all his money to charity via the Turf Club and Singapore Pools?

Where is his CPF? If his employers evaded CPF, that is why we need more stringent enforcements. If he spent donated it all via Turf Club / Singapore Pools, then that is exactly why we need the minimum sum / compulsory annuity scheme.

This story tells us why it is so important to have the current policies in place. Give people their CPF at 55 like the reCHEEme of the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan suggests and when they're 69, they'll be complaining that $150 is not enough

The future aged will be able to sell their HDB flats and downgrade. If HDB starts giving out "cost subsidised" flats like the reCHEEme of the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan suggests, then the future aged will end up like Mr Chua because their flats will be worth nothing. And no, I do not relish paying higher taxes to feed people like him.

Instead of highlighting the truth, people like you want to inflame the indignance of the populace - a tactic of the reCHEEme of the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan.

I had said before, most of these people who worked in the 70s and 80s, did
not have CPF, They earned as they spent. They never buy HDB, or
probably not saving their earnings, not enough to buy instead renting one.
Our Gahmen awared of this, thats why a minimum sum of CPF being kept
for old age. Why resort to $150 from Gahmen. That is the price he pay for
not saving enough. If he is fit, at least go to the nearest food stall and work
as a cleaner. But then pride is what they are. Will they lower themselves?

theblackhole

he created his own state of misery. blame nobody but himself. bad seeds bear bad fruits.he should be happy with his $150 a month. got money also want to complain.chay!

<table class="msgtable" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="96%"><tbody><tr><td class="msg" valign="top"><table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"><tbody><tr><td class="msgtxt">
Mr Chua: Yes, I cycled everywhere from Geylang to Whampoa,
</td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table>

He didn't cycle to Geylang to look for work. He cycled there to squander his savings on PRC pussy!:p

Must have been fucking around during younger days..... now want more taxpayer money to feed these parasites...:oIo:

Probably he took all his CPF at 55 years old when the minimum sum not yet being implemented. There will be many people like him, especially those working for food stalls and small businesses.

DannyBoyBoy

Interview with a 69 year old uncle struggling to find work

Despite of the fact he is still healthy, nobody wants to offer him any job.
<param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/EbDJh6E1678&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/EbDJh6E1678&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>