• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP bans Thaipusam but lion dance is ok

Ilovelamb

Thaipusam set to turn down volume
New guidelines ban traditional loud music and drumming from the annual procession
By Yen Feng

This year’s Thaipusam celebrations will be a quieter affair if guidelines made public for the first time on Thursday by the Hindu Endowments Board (HEB) are enforced.
Those participating in the procession on Jan 19 and 20 are barred from playing recorded music or sounding gongs or drums.

Traditionally, the music – often played at a deafening volume – is seen as encouragement for those who pierce their bodies as an act of faith. Now, only the singing of hymns will be permitted.

Other rules include no shouting, and no paint or makeup to be used on either the devotees’ faces or bodies. Those who flout the rules may be barred from future processions – or face a fine of up to $5,000 under the Public Order Act.

And for the first time, spike or chariot kavadi bearers are required to nominate a representative who will be responsible for their conduct.

The HEB said the rules mirrored guidelines set by the police for permits to hold Thaipusam celebrations. But they were put together for the first time this year for the public to address long-standing issues of crowd and noise control, officials from the two temples organising the procession said.

The temples are the Sri Srinivasa Perumal Temple in Serangoon Road, and the Sri Thendayuthapani Temple in Tank Road. Sri Srinivasa Perumal Temple chairman K. Rajandeeran said the move would not compromise the procession’s religious nature, and would “ensure public safety and that it takes place in an orderly manner”.

Every year, tens of thousands of Hindus take to the streets to give their thanks to Lord Murugan, an important Hindu deity. Sometimes, expatriates unfamiliar with HEB guidelines have joined in.

Last year a 10-year-old visitor from India was seen carrying a spiked kavadi – wood or metal structures fied onto devotees’ bodies – when only those above 16 are allowed to pierce their bodies.

Mr K. Kannappan, trustee of the Sri Thendayuthapani Temple, said residents of new homes along the procession’s 4km route from Serangoon Road to Tank Road complained about the noise last year. “So this year, we will be better neighbours,” he added.

The rules evoked mixed reactions among devotees, with Mr Raj Kumra, 34, who walked in last year’s procession, saying they are a dampener. “The music, the sounds, all that is part of celebrating Thaipusam. It’s our way of giving thanks for our blessings,” he said.

But they will not mean much to Mr Sankar Suppiah, 40, a devotee who has carried a kavadi for the last 20 years. He said: “This is a powerful religious experience for me. I do it for myself, for my family. Rules do not change that.”

I cannot believe it. This is merely a yearly event with rich religious and cultural colours, why would they want to restrict it? Even on what they paint on their bodies?

If the noise level is all year round, then it is of course a cause for concern. But yearly event?

Goh Meng Seng

I cannot believe it. This is merely a yearly event with rich religious and cultural colours, why would they want to restrict it? Even on what they paint on their bodies?

If the noise level is all year round, then it is of course a cause for concern. But yearly event?

Goh Meng Seng

oi fatty, tot u oredi say ur final goodbye? how come still see u come in here to kpkb instead of preparing for GE? :rolleyes: :oIo:

Shut your ass up lah, bus64.
People willing risk everything to go into politic . No body is prefect .

You dont continue act like a 'siao ren' please .

A religious procession or celebration like Thaipusam sans noise, traditional music accompaniment, chatter and even chants is nothing but sanitised! There seems to be an utter lack of logic and common sense among the powers that be! Worry so much about security, law and order! Much ado about nothing, really!:rolleyes:

Go to malaysia (JB) to celebrate!
Over there, Indians burn malay literature books for mentioning the Hindu caste and the word pariah.

Other rules include no shouting, and no paint or makeup to be used on either the devotees’ faces or bodies. Those who flout the rules may be barred from future processions – or face a fine of up to $5,000 under the Public Order Act.

what about those chinese tangkee , got banned anot ? must banned all religions!!!!

why tone down? Already many things here tone down liao...

For thaipusam...once a year i won't mind the noise because its add life and color to the event mah..

compare to Penang or other parts of the world where this is celebrated, we considered mild liao...

alamak...we multi-religious country...tolerate one day a year...ok de...

So the PAPies can kiss the votes of Hindu voters goodbye in the coming elections!

Ah nehs always talking so loud. !
one hell of nuisance in mrt..
imagine how loud their celebration will be.

Goh Meng Seng

You cannot-even-run-a-computer-shop MP-willneverbe. Read the article carefully. It is the temples themselves who want to enforce. Obviously the devotees have gone out of hand.

But in your eyes, it's always good to be popularlist, eh, Mr UFO?

Ah nehs always talking so loud. !
one hell of nuisance in mrt..
imagine how loud their celebration will be.

<iframe title="YouTube video player" class="youtube-player" type="text/html" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/h9Xr3yb35vo" frameborder="0"></iframe>

<iframe title="YouTube video player" class="youtube-player" type="text/html" width="640" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/yd3a5uwHb44" frameborder="0"></iframe>

<iframe title="YouTube video player" class="youtube-player" type="text/html" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/4DzkpG6CDtk" frameborder="0"></iframe>

<iframe title="YouTube video player" class="youtube-player" type="text/html" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/zh86gcpryGM" frameborder="0"></iframe>

You cannot-even-run-a-computer-shop MP-willneverbe. Read the article carefully. It is the temples themselves who want to enforce. Obviously the devotees have gone out of hand.

===

err....i doubt its the temples who themselves want to enforce...they must be been told by "gods" to tone it down...and then through their hands show that they are showing restraints...

clever people uses their mouths, dumb people uses their hands....

A religious procession or celebration like Thaipusam sans noise, traditional music accompaniment, chatter and even chants is nothing but sanitised! There seems to be an utter lack of logic and common sense among the powers that be! Worry so much about security, law and order! Much ado about nothing, really!:rolleyes:

1. aiyoh!
2. sheep has forgotten that it is mandatory to buy insurance not only for the carriers and other devotees.
3. also some 3rd party thing against damage on roads, lampposts and other public amentities.
4. so safe, man!

Wrong!GMS has not been a popularlist which is his main trouble to be a politician.

What he has been trying so far in his political life is "ME MORE CLEVER THAN YOU GUYS,MY FELLOW VOTERS."

So pl sir,this is a good start for him although it is indeed too late,so late into his life that I do not think he would have a bright political future.Although I still support him in erections.

I remember vividly how MM LKY started off with such a loud exclaim thinking he was the brighest bi\oy in the whole world but he did learn very quickly,he mastered the ART OF BEING HUMBLE in Hokkien by calling him self,"ME, YR SMALL YOUNGER BROTHER" which stays till today after watching how his nemesis Lim Chin Seong became true Mr popularlist of Singaporeans then!

After watching GMS for a rather lont time,I have concluded that GMS cant make it but still hope he makes it this time against the bad guy,Mr Mah.

sinkieland is so boring. your pap make it even more so..