• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

OZ election soon?

Ash007

Who you guys gonna vote for ah? Gillard or Abott? Want to call better call fast before I get my passport.

http://www.smh.com.au/national/gillard-to-call-election-for-august-28-report-20100716-10d9j.html?autostart=1

Gillard to call election for August 28: report
July 16, 2010 - 1:37PM
Vote
Loading player

This video will automatically play after a 5 second delay.

Laurie Oakes ambushes Gillard on Rudd
Did Kevin Rudd try to do a last ditch deal with Julia Gillard to save his Prime Ministership? Gillard responds at the National Press Club.
Video feedbackVideo settings
Julia Gillard has arrived in Melbourne as speculation mounts she will visit the Governor-General tomorrow to call an election.

Ms Gillard visited Werribee a short time ago for a meet-and-greet with locals along the suburb's main street.

When asked by journalists about the poll date, she declined to answer.

The Prime Minister will reportedly call the election for August 28, triggering a six-week campaign, that has unofficially been under way since she deposed Kevin Rudd as prime minister on June 24.

The ABC reports Ms Gillard will ask Governor-General Quentin Bryce to delay issuing the election writs until Wednesday to allow more time for people, especially the young, to enrol to vote.

Ms Gillard landed in Melbourne today after a whirlwind visit to Tasmania this morning.

She is tonight expected to spend what may be her last night in her Altona home before campaigning proper gets under way.

The ABC is also reporting she will immediately head to Brisbane after calling the election.

Earlier, Ms Gillard she would be sticking to a pledge to give Mr Rudd a senior ministry in a re-elected Labor government.

It has been revealed that the Prime Minister reneged on an apparent deal with Mr Rudd that would have allowed him to stand down before an October election.

The opposition predicts there will be "massive" instability within a Labor government that includes Mr Rudd on the frontbench.

"I have said that Kevin Rudd will serve as a senior minister in a re-elected Gillard government," Ms Gillard told reporters in Burnie during a visit to Tasmania today.

"That is my commitment, I will honour that commitment."

The opposition says that can only lead to trouble.

"We are going to be in for three years of massive instability," opposition finance spokesman Joe Hockey told ABC Radio.

"We've only seen the start of it now."

Labor frontbencher Craig Emerson dismissed reports that some party members did not want Mr Rudd back on the frontbench.

"Julia Gillard has said if Kevin Rudd seeks a position on the frontbench he will be given a very senior position," he told reporters in Canberra.

"The fact is we are a united party, we're moving forward, that's what's important to the Australian people."

Dr Emerson refused to be drawn on suggestions Ms Gillard welshed on a leadership succession deal with Mr Rudd.

"I'm not in a position to comment on these matters," he told reporters in Canberra.

Both Ms Gillard and Mr Rudd have refused to elaborate on what was said on the night before she became Prime Minister in June.

So too has the only other person privy to the discussions, Defence Minister John Faulkner.

Paul Austin, AAP

neddy

Who you guys gonna vote for ah? Gillard or Abott? Want to call better call fast before I get my passport.

I always vote for the party that save money for a rainy day rather than the one who took away my $2 saving and turn it into $4 debt without achieving anything.

Ash007

I always vote for the party that save money for a rainy day rather than the one who took away my $2 saving and turn it into $4 debt without achieving anything.

Then they take money from someone else and now will be $1 in surplus in 3 years time loh.

neddy

Then they take money from someone else and now will be $1 in surplus in 3 years time loh.

Labor think they know what the people want. Their policies have good intentions usually but they suffer from poor project management & execution.
In the end, they spend more money to fix problems that they have created.

JG mining tax really let us off the hook.
The World Cup equivalent is
Australia 1 : Mining Barons 4

Ash007

Labor think they know what the people want. Their policies have good intentions usually but they suffer from poor project management & execution.
In the end, they spend more money to fix problems that they have created.

JG mining tax really let us off the hook.
The World Cup equivalent is
Australia 1 : Mining Barons 4

Still a good results lah.

latest news election on August 21st. Nabeh, wait in SG 12 years never got a chance to vote, become citizen less then 1 month already ready to vote liao. Wahahahahah at least you get to chose who to vote for in this country. So excited.

neddy

latest news election on August 21st. Nabeh, wait in SG 12 years never got a chance to vote, become citizen less then 1 month already ready to vote liao. Wahahahahah at least you get to chose who to vote for in this country. So excited.

Congrats, Ash007

Check to see if you are enrolled to vote. Do it by tonight deadline!
http://www.aec.gov.au/Enrolling_to_vote/Update_enrolment.htm

You know how to vote right. Singaporeans do not really know how voting works here, and it is a bit different ... say from NZ.

You know about the preferential votes, and its distribution. Also, the lower & upper house.

I am going for postal vote this time round. This election is bloody dirty and I have made up my mind.

YOU CAN even PRACTICE HOW TO VOTE HERE. :-)
http://www.aec.gov.au/Voting/How_to_vote/voting_practice.htm

Ash007

Thanks for the link, I've been here long enough to understand the different level of government. Still a bit confused as to how to vote, I'll be looking through the site. Get citizenship cert they immediately get you to sign the enrollment form liao lah. whahahaha

Congrats, Ash007

Check to see if you are enrolled to vote. Do it by tonight deadline!
http://www.aec.gov.au/Enrolling_to_vote/Update_enrolment.htm

You know how to vote right. Singaporeans do not really know how voting works here, and it is a bit different ... say from NZ.

You know about the preferential votes, and its distribution. Also, the lower & upper house.

I am going for postal vote this time round. This election is bloody dirty and I have made up my mind.

YOU CAN even PRACTICE HOW TO VOTE HERE. :-)
http://www.aec.gov.au/Voting/How_to_vote/voting_practice.htm

neddy

Thanks for the link, I've been here long enough to understand the different level of government. Still a bit confused as to how to vote, I'll be looking through the site. Get citizenship cert they immediately get you to sign the enrollment form liao lah. whahahaha

The WHITE voting form can be a problem if you opt for BELOW THE LINE.

johnsgp1

haha..why dun u go stay in Japan, every year also got chance to vote...FYI, i really hope u can go for election every year in OZ...so exciting...hahaha

Ash007

haha..why dun u go stay in Japan, every year also got chance to vote...FYI, i really hope u can go for election every year in OZ...so exciting...hahaha

Come NSW, if labour is voted in again its a real possibility that is going to happen.

fishbuff

oz politics aside, i still hope there will be a leadership change in SG and the whole situation will improve for the singaporeans. naive as it sounds, but there might be a slim chance that it might materialise.

neddy

oz politics aside, i still hope there will be a leadership change in SG and the whole situation will improve for the singaporeans. naive as it sounds, but there might be a slim chance that it might materialise.

No way. The Singapore politics is so dirty that it makes Australian politicians look like angels.

map2006.jpg

Ash007

Certain things need to happen before opposition can win in Singapore lah. My best guess estimate, another 50 years if we are lucky.

axe168

You will get sick of voting, eventually.. The Brisbane Election Committee just slapped me with $$$ for failing to vote.. NB, they should know i'm in Melbourne enjoying - where got time to vote.. haiz..

I still prefer SG, no voting - the PAP is taking good care of us, they know we're always busy.. so self-elect and make themselves comfortable with the continual renewal... :wink:

Ash007

You will get sick of voting, eventually.. The Brisbane Election Committee just slapped me with $$$ for failing to vote.. NB, they should know i'm in Melbourne enjoying - where got time to vote.. haiz..

I still prefer SG, no voting - the PAP is taking good care of us, they know we're always busy.. so self-elect and make themselves comfortable with the continual renewal... :wink:

I'm waiting for the state election. This federal election a bit boring.

axe168

More "positions" in local level lah. You try senate, 12 per state only.

Hey, when is the election ? Do we need to fill in forms ?

There are so many papers on my table.. bills, invoices, election forms, ATOs traffic fines.. knn...