• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

OVERHEARD NEWS: BOTH (not just 1) IRs PROJECTS Opening DELAYED

ahleebabasingaporethief

Some Ah Beng contractors (must be bosses) in S Class and 7 Series were having kopi next to my table 5 minutes ago.

All KPKB in hokien ....KNN our cheng hu and say both IRs openings delayed until well into next year.

Wah lau...I was waiting for their explanations but my business contact came and I had to go.

WHY THE DELAY? ANYONE HERE KNOWS FOR SURE? PLEASE SHARE!

bo bian, cheng hu ai hold election first as scared after two gambling dens open all singaporeans lose until drop pants and lost hdb and everything and blame cheng hu liao so must hold election first.

Anyone can point out whether police license is still needed from the Martial Arts Control Unit, under the Ministry of Home Affairs to learn, practice and teach martial arts (except Tai Chi) in Singapore?

"You can fool some of the people some of the time....BUT, you cannot fool ALL the people ALL of the time...

Hahaha Quek Xiao Peng,

We can fool most people on most times too. Most is close to all and it is a good enough quota to reach. The rest that makes most all is just an inconsequential minority and can be easily dealt with.

erm, wasn't it already reported in the news? as in the delay.

for the MB IR, it would be open in section. most important part first.
as for the S IR, similar plan.

anyway, as long as anyone take a look see at both location. they should be able to roughly know when the place will be ready.

erm, wasn't it already reported in the news? as in the delay.

for the MB IR, it would be open in section. most important part first.
as for the S IR, similar plan.

anyway, as long as anyone take a look see at both location. they should be able to roughly know when the place will be ready.

I happened to pass by Marina IR site. By the look of it, it will take at least one year for it to complete. The exterior foundation is yet to be completed. The interior setup and decorations will take at least 6 months to complete (or even 1 year). I do not think it will be able to open in section because it is just too strange to have a casino right in the middle of a construction site. Besides, without the main hotel ready, it will not be able to capitalize on the incoming tourists. Who benefits? Other hotels? The calculation is just not right.

Goh Meng Seng

I happened to pass by Marina IR site. By the look of it, it will take at least one year for it to complete. The exterior foundation is yet to be completed. The interior setup and decorations will take at least 6 months to complete (or even 1 year). I do not think it will be able to open in section because it is just too strange to have a casino right in the middle of a construction site. Besides, without the main hotel ready, it will not be able to capitalize on the incoming tourists. Who benefits? Other hotels? The calculation is just not right.

From grand opening, they've changed to stage-by-staged openings already.

Anyone can point out whether police license is still needed from the Martial Arts Control Unit, under the Ministry of Home Affairs to learn, practice and teach martial arts (except Tai Chi) in Singapore?

Is there such a law:confused:

I see many community centres were offering Karate, tae kwon do,...

From grand opening, they've changed to stage-by-staged openings already.

When they start to talk about hotel room rate will face pressure when the IRs open, you will know they are in for a troubled time.

Goh Meng Seng

You must be joking. The only tourists coming to our IRs will be cheapo Indians from India.

China is not stupid. They will curb their people from visiting S'pore. Just you wait and see.

On Marina side is the LVS corporate financial troubles at their US homebase. On Sentosa side, I think (in my humble opinion only) that Genting made a big mistake. If I were Genting, I would only bid only if guaranteed full control of every inch of land of the island, except for government and police buildings, and guaranteed sole right to casino licence, i.e. just like Genting in Malaysia. With Marina and Sentosa, when a Singaporean really itches to gamble, where to go? Commonsense, s/he will go to Marina. Sentosa is pre-emptively deprived of the bulk of potential local patronage, even if they're the ones not minding paying the $100 entry fee.

Sentosa do or die on tourists and occasional Singapore visitors. If Sentosa is so good at that, then there's no need to put it up for IR bid in the first place.

I happened to pass by Marina IR site. By the look of it, it will take at least one year for it to complete. The exterior foundation is yet to be completed. The interior setup and decorations will take at least 6 months to complete (or even 1 year). I do not think it will be able to open in section because it is just too strange to have a casino right in the middle of a construction site. ...
desperate 2 collect sum water moni la ... as long as can collect water moni, juz put a few mahjong tables there, oso can oredi ...

... China is not stupid. They will curb their people from visiting S'pore. Just you wait and see.
ya, man! ...

fat water no flow in2 outsiders' padi-fields! ... wats mor in2 a tiny red dot? ...

dream on ... benefit macau betta, man! ... rite shirt pocket in2 left pants pocket! ...

That even the stage by stage openings are severely DELAYED. No such openings in 2009 at all.

If you buay tahan to get your itchy hands on the tables or fruit machines, just hop on a cheap express bus to Genting or cheap flight to Macau leh. No need to KPKB here.

Open this year or next year, open stage by stage or grand opening, what's the difference? It is not as if you must go to such places. It's not an MRT line or an expressway where we may have to use it everyday.

Crazy Horse opened and closed, but how many of us have seen it? Singapore Flyers opened, but how many have sat on it? As have been said, it is meant to attract tourists, so how come locals are so kancheong? Unless you are going to work for them or having a big contract to supply materials or services to them.

Express buses to Genting is getting cheaper and more comfortable.

Read that HK Macau Zhuhai bridge will be opened in 2016. They have started building the bridge. Can be a pretty strong competitor to IR model.

Visitors can gamble in Macau (lots of choices for casinos vs just 2), short trip by luxury bus to HK for disney, Ocean Park where you can even see pandas (big deal for some Americans), and of course great shopping and food in HK.

From HK they are just 13 odd hours direct flight to US or UK. We have Universal but they have disney. We have large aquarium they have Ocean park. They also happen to have nicer weather.

So any delays in opening will bump it up against this new bridge.

They also happen to have nicer weather....

You forgot to mention they also have more serious air pollution.
smog-in-hong-kong-2

Genting have to ensure that they secure their for the IR at sentosa. They have to plan for the day when PAS win the states of pahang and selangor

Our air is nothing to boast about lah. Each time Indonesia clears forest we can smell wood smoke. No idea what type of pollutants they are putting out in Jurong Island roo. And the Sentosa seawater is not exactly clean.

You forgot to mention they also have more serious air pollution.
smog-in-hong-kong-2