• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Over 300 Sinkie Parents Queue Through The Night For Kids' NAFA Art Classes! Willing To Brave Starvation For Ideal 11am Class! Kiasu Or Smart?

nafa.jpg

Camping overnight to get the ideal time slot for art classes is not an issue to some parents.

More than 300 parents spent over six hours queuing overnight on Saturday at Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts' (Nafa) Bencoolen campus, each prepared with chairs, sleeping bags, yoga mats and snacks.

These parents, whose children have been assured of a spot in in Nafa's art enrichment classes, went early to snag the class timings, which are on a first-come, first-serve basis.

One parent, who wanted to be known only as Ms Bai, went as early as 2.35am for the registration that only started at 9am. She was ninth in the queue.

The 36-year-old webmaster told The New Paper that she was looking at an 11am Saturday class for her son.

"Getting that timing was important for me as I had to coordinate

Even though registration ended at 1pm, it took another two hours for the crowd to disperse.

Ms Bai, who got to register at 10am, said: "I did not bring any snacks, but to me, getting that 11am slot was more important than how hungry I was."

Nafa offers four main courses for their junior art department, with fees starting at $552.10 a term for students aged five to 12, and from $352.10 to $492.10 a semester for those aged 13 to 16.

They also offer short-term vacation courses during the June and December school holidays.

Parents started enrolling their children in March.

After getting their enrolment confirmation in October, they pick their time slots in November.

According to the Nafa website, since the department was set up in 1976, student figures have grown exponentially from less than 100 students to more than 3,000 students.

https://stomp.straitstimes.com/sing...ht-at-nafa-to-book-art-classes-for-their-kids

KNN this is clearly an action of tam chia + ter nao besides the kiasu KNN confirm with infinity chop pap supporters KNN

Sinkies damn free no need work
Whats the use if your kid do not have the art talent? :biggrin:

Should this be classified as "unlawful assembly" ?

nafa.jpg

Wat use are NAFa classes? What economic value is there?

I would encourage more kids to take up art. There's demand for architects, interior designers and fashion designers. There's more to nafa than ballet dancing or basking as a loser portrait artist.

Arty farty types are often faggots.

Kids these days can't even be left alone during the school holidays... sad!

NAFA is a fugging arrogant school. The admin stuff are old and rude and NAFA's teaching model kills creativity. It's like training your kids to be draughtsman, instead of architects.

Exploring the human bodies, by doing few good pieces on nudes...not yours of course, the watercolours will melt.

KNN parents have this thinking in their mind rike if my child next time can study well can go top uni then good but if cannot make it can act arty farty rike act blur rike that so that other people cannot guess their income KNN aka 死要面子 KNN

Parents should wake up ...their focus on art is hurting our PISA ranking.

it's worth it if they can cum out with artwork like these.
1575485333327.png

1575485351806.png

1575485371803.png

1575485423225.png

1575485450465.png

1575485481051.png

NAFA is a fugging arrogant school. The admin stuff are old and rude and NAFA's teaching model kills creativity. It's like training your kids to be draughtsman, instead of architects.

NAFA has every right to be proud. Its enrollment jumped from 100 to 3000 students today.