• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Opposition as insurance? It'll cost you dearly, says DPM Teo

†††††

Opposition as insurance? It'll cost you dearly, says DPM Teo
By Li Xueying

ST_IMAGES_XYPAP08QT.jpg

MR TEO Chee Hean has challenged the Workers' Party (WP) call to voters to vote opposition as an 'insurance' against the ruling party's failure.

Vote for the opposition, and Singaporeans may find that they end up paying 'quite a high premium' - 'maybe 15, 20 per cent of the seats in Parliament', he warned.

In addition, voters may find that when they try to cash in the policy, the opposition 'can't deliver'.

Said Mr Teo: 'By the opposition's own admission, if you ask them, are you ready to form a government... they say, no, no, we're not ready.

'So what they're actually asking you to do is to pay a very high premium for a so-called insurance, which... they can't deliver.'

Mr Teo, who is Deputy Prime Minister and the People's Action Party's (PAP) second assistant secretary-general, spoke during the PAP's introduction of its sixth batch of new candidates.

The PAP, he said, is the 'real insurance policy' that Singaporeans should buy to continue having a good, strong government.

In recent weeks, the WP has been using the insurance argument to call on voters to vote for the opposition.

It has argued that the opposition needs a 'critical mass' of votes if it is to succeed in building up a strong enough presence in Parliament to provide a safeguard against the PAP's faltering.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, speaking to university students on Tuesday, also countered the WP argument, saying the way to safeguard Singapore's future was to give full support to PAP's team of candidates, rather than to weaken that support by voting for the opposition 'in the hope of buying insurance'.

Yesterday, Mr Teo weighed in, calling on voters to support the PAP's new candidates. The new faces may not be fully experienced today, he acknowledged, but they will learn the ropes, and be 'in a good position to take the country forward into the next decades'.

The new candidates introduced yesterday were former civil servant Lawrence Wong, 38, who resigned last month as chief executive of statutory board Energy Market Authority; Dr Intan Azura Mokhtar, 34, an assistant professor at the National Institute of Education; and Mr David Ong, 49, a businessman.

Rebutting the WP's argument, Mr Teo cited the example of Belgium which has been unable to form a government since its last general election in June last year.

He noted: 'Now, it's not for lack of political parties. They have many political parties. Using the opposition terminology, many insurance policies. But the insurance policies don't work. So they haven't been able to form a government.'

Mr Teo was also asked about reactions to some new candidates, especially in cyberspace. He said he welcomed the scrutiny of the new candidates, and hoped there would be equal scrutiny of opposition candidates.

At the same time, he said, critics should be upfront and not hide behind cloaks of anonymity. 'Criticism which is based on untruth and particularly by anonymous people is not good for our system and can be destructive,' he said.

As for statements by some opposition candidates that they would become full-time MPs if they were voted in, Mr Teo said being full-time was no guarantee that they would be able to run town councils well.

What was more important was the ability of the MP to bring in a good team of people to run the town council, he said.

Yesterday's session brought the number of PAP candidates introduced so far to 18. Mr Teo declined to say how many more would be introduced in the coming days.

See Insight, Forum

RULING PARTY SCOUTS FOR TALENT ABROAD TOO

'We have also looked at people who have been out of Singapore for a long time. Not as many as 30 years but who've been away from Singapore for quite a long time.

'Our approach generally has been to say, well, okay, we appreciate your abilities and talents but come back to Singapore first. Don't talk about standing (for election)...

'Settle down, bring your children, get a job, work the ground. Get to know the issues and the people, and let the people know you and the issues. Then we'll decide. That has generally been our approach.'

Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean, replying to a question on whether Singapore's talent pool is inadequate for a two-party system, given that the Workers' Party had found candidates like top corporate lawyer Chen Show Mao. Mr Chen, 50, based overseas since 1982, has degrees from Harvard, Stanford and Oxford universities. He spent his working life in various countries and most recently in China, where he is a partner at international law firm Davis Polk & Wardwell.

WTF is that ugly stone face moron talking about? We are already paying a high premium on our PAP Insurance Policy. In fact, its the most expensive insurance policy in the world. And to make matters worse, we are not getting the coverage we expected.

ivebert

Worker's party

Who do they represent?

Workers or peasants?

They should change their name really to Peasants' Party

PAP has control of the largest worker representation, which is NTUC.

Khun Ying Pojaman

WP gets screwed again for that stupid tagline - 'if PAP falters.'

Get some balls, WP. Point your finger at PAP and say to them : PAP has already faltered !

ivebert

WP gets screwed again for that stupid tagline - 'if PAP falters.'

Get some balls, WP. Point your finger at PAP and say to them : PAP has already faltered !

When they say, who will believe?

They have no access to thinktanks, trade unions, worker unions.

They will do best in helping Sinkie mind-masturbate that they can get a good life after PAP is voted off

U believe that shit?

O

Omega Red

When i type, who will believe?

I have no access to work, money, women.

I am trying my best to masturbate but it is difficult because of my limp dick

I feel like shit

Poor little thing :oIo:

apogee

Worker's party

Who do they represent?

Workers or peasants?

They should change their name really to Peasants' Party

PAP has control of the largest worker representation, which is NTUC.

NTUC is one of the biggest employer in Singapore

... At the same time, he said, critics should be upfront and not hide behind cloaks of anonymity ...
ya, man! ...

let us noe who u burgers r, ah loon is goot @ fixing ... :eek:

... As for statements by some opposition candidates that they would become full-time MPs if they were voted in, Mr Teo said being full-time was no guarantee that they would be able to run town councils well.

What was more important was the ability of the MP to bring in a good team of people to run the town council, he said ...
ya, man! ...

a lot of us wanna b directors of many coys ... dun stop us from making mor moni ... :mad:

... The PAP, he said, is the 'real insurance policy' that Singaporeans should buy to continue having a good, strong government ...
ze real insurance policy is dat there shud b strong opps so dat greedy n incompetent burgers do not have absolute powers 2 corrupt absolutely ... :o

walan eh! ...

a loon burger thinking he himself gr8 talen giving himself astronomical salaries ... n @ ze samt time, forcing peasants 2 accept lower salaries ... has his wifey gambling away peasants hard earn moni wifout regrets ... has his papa drawing astronomical salary 4 making weather forecasts ...

aangsc

don't say he never warn you hor, it will cost you dearly . How it cost you ?
The boss already said ... last estate to get upgrading , no funding for linked and sheltered walkway and blah blah blah....all not in your favour lah.

ivebert

don't say he never warn you hor, it will cost you dearly . How it cost you ?
The boss already said ... last estate to get upgrading , no funding for linked and sheltered walkway and blah blah blah....all not in your favour lah.

Of course

If not, simple-minded Sinkie peasants cannot tell the difference between voting for PAP against voting for opposition

If that happens, the existence of PAP loses its meaning

kingrant

It is now crystal clear that standing for elections (for the PAP that is) is the extension to the highest level in the Admin Service. You are "called" or volunteered to "give back".

And if you shld fail as Minister, they always have a fallback cushion in the form of a top VP post at any of the GLCs.

kingrant

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=596><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width=5></TD><TD height=26 vAlign=bottom width=591 colSpan=2></TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top width=5></TD><TD colSpan=2><!--//START com_dotcom_view_afp_rel.tpl--><!-- xml for comment --><SCRIPT type=text/javascript>/************************************************ IFrame SSI script II- © Dynamic Drive DHTML code library***********************************************/var iframeids=["myframe"]//var iframeids=["myframe2"]var iframehide="yes"var getFFVersion=navigator.userAgent.substring(navigator.userAgent.indexOf("Firefox")).split("/")[1]var FFextraHeight=parseFloat(getFFVersion)>=0.1? 16 : 0 //extra height in px to add to iframe in FireFox 1.0+ browsersfunction resizeCaller() {var dyniframe=new Array()for (i=0; i<iframeids.length; i++){if (document.getElementById)resizeIframe(iframeids)if ((document.all || document.getElementById) && iframehide=="no"){var tempobj=document.all? document.all[iframeids] : document.getElementById(iframeids)tempobj.style.display="block"}}}function resizeIframe(frameid){var currentfr=document.getElementById(frameid)if (currentfr && !window.opera){currentfr.style.display="block"if (currentfr.contentDocument && currentfr.contentDocument.body.offsetHeight) //ns6 syntaxcurrentfr.height = currentfr.contentDocument.body.offsetHeight+FFextraHeight; else if (currentfr.Document && currentfr.Document.body.scrollHeight) //ie5+ syntaxcurrentfr.height = currentfr.Document.body.scrollHeight;if (currentfr.addEventListener)currentfr.addEventListener("load", readjustIframe, false)else if (currentfr.attachEvent){currentfr.detachEvent("onload", readjustIframe) // Bug fix linecurrentfr.attachEvent("onload", readjustIframe)}}}function readjustIframe(loadevt) {var crossevt=(window.event)? event : loadevtvar iframeroot=(crossevt.currentTarget)? crossevt.currentTarget : crossevt.srcElementif (iframeroot)resizeIframe(iframeroot.id);}function loadintoIframe(iframeid, url){if (document.getElementById)document.getElementById(iframeid).src=url}if (window.addEventListener) window.addEventListener("load", resizeCaller, false)else if (window.attachEvent) window.attachEvent("onload", resizeCaller)else window.onload=resizeCallerfunction MM_swapImgRestore() { //v3.0 var i,x,a=document.MM_sr; for(i=0;a&&i<a.length&&(x=a)&&x.oSrc;i++) x.src=x.oSrc;}function MM_findObj(n, d) { //v4.01 var p,i,x; if(!d) d=document; if((p=n.indexOf("?"))>0&&parent.frames.length) { d=parent.frames[n.substring(p+1)].document; n=n.substring(0,p);} if(!(x=d[n])&&d.all) x=d.all[n]; for (i=0;!x&&i<d.forms.length;i++) x=d.forms[n]; for(i=0;!x&&d.layers&&i<d.layers.length;i++) x=MM_findObj(n,d.layers.document); if(!x && d.getElementById) x=d.getElementById(n); return x;}function MM_swapImage() { //v3.0 var i,j=0,x,a=MM_swapImage.arguments; document.MM_sr=new Array; for(i=0;i<(a.length-2);i+=3) if ((x=MM_findObj(a))!=null){document.MM_sr[j++]=x; if(!x.oSrc) x.oSrc=x.src; x.src=a[i+2];}}//Function to get the ActiveXObjectfunction getvar(){ var xmlHttp; try { // Firefox, Opera 8.0+, Safari xmlHttp=new XMLHttpRequest(); } catch (e) { // Internet Explorer try { xmlHttp=new ActiveXObject("Msxml2.XMLHTTP"); } catch (e) { try { xmlHttp=new ActiveXObject("Microsoft.XMLHTTP"); } catch (e) { alert("Your browser does not support AJAX!"); return false; } } } return xmlHttp;}//Function to list the articlesfunction getIframe(page){ //init ajax variable xmlHttp = getvar(); var url = "/discussion/xmlReaderComments2_only3.php"; var params = "id="+encodeURIComponent('{story_id}')+"&page="+encodeURIComponent(page)+"&days=12"; xmlHttp.onreadystatechange=function() { if(xmlHttp.readyState==4) { //Display results document.getElementById("divComment").innerHTML = xmlHttp.responseText; if(page > 1) { //Call the function update omniture count //exec_omniture(); } } //If still processing, display the loading icon else { //src_image.innerHTML = "
ajax-loaderbar.gif
"; } } //Calling the page to perform xmlHttp.open("POST",url,true); //Send the proper header information along with the request xmlHttp.setRequestHeader("Content-Type", "application/x-www-form-urlencoded; charset=UTF-8"); xmlHttp.setRequestHeader("Content-length", params.length); xmlHttp.setRequestHeader("Connection", "close"); xmlHttp.send(params);}function getIframe_count(page){ //init ajax variable xmlHttp1 = getvar(); var url = "/discussion/xmlReaderComments2_count_poc.php"; var params = "id="+encodeURIComponent('{story_id}')+"&page="+encodeURIComponent(page)+"&days=12"; xmlHttp1.onreadystatechange=function() { if(xmlHttp1.readyState==4) { //Display results if (xmlHttp1.responseText=='') { document.getElementById("divComment_count").innerHTML = '0'; } else { document.getElementById("divComment_count").innerHTML = xmlHttp1.responseText; } } //If still processing, display the loading icon else { document.getElementById("divComment_count").innerHTML = xmlHttp1.responseText; //src_image.innerHTML = "
ajax-loaderbar.gif
"; } } //Calling the page to perform xmlHttp1.open("POST",url,true); //Send the proper header information along with the request xmlHttp1.setRequestHeader("Content-Type", "application/x-www-form-urlencoded; charset=UTF-8"); xmlHttp1.setRequestHeader("Content-length", params.length); xmlHttp1.setRequestHeader("Connection", "close"); xmlHttp1.send(params);}//--></SCRIPT><!-- End Load xml for comment --><SCRIPT language=JavaScript><!--maxlimit = 600;function textCounter(field, countfield, maxlimit) { if (field.value.length > maxlimit) { alert("Please do not exceed the limit of characters."); field.value = field.value.substring(0, maxlimit); return false; } else { countfield.value = maxlimit - field.value.length; } return true;}function checklen() { if (document.frmjoa.f_description.value.length > 646) { document.frmjoa.f_description.value = document.frmjoa.f_description.value.substring(0, maxlimit); alert("Please limit to max characters limit."); return false; } return true;}//--></SCRIPT><SCRIPT language=JavaScript1.2>g_fPlayMode = 0;g_iimg = -1;g_imax = 0;g_ImageTable = new Array();function ChangeImage(fFwd){if (fFwd){if (++g_iimg==g_imax)g_iimg=0;}else{if (g_iimg==0)g_iimg=g_imax;g_iimg--;}Update();}function getobject(obj){if (document.getElementById)return document.getElementById(obj)else if (document.all)return document.all[obj]}function Update(){getobject("_Ath_Slide").src = g_ImageTable[g_iimg][0];getobject("_Ath_Slide").alt = g_ImageTable[g_iimg][1];getobject("_Ath_FileName").innerHTML = g_ImageTable[g_iimg][1];getobject("_Ath_Img_X").innerHTML = g_iimg + 1;getobject("_Ath_Img_N").innerHTML = g_imax;}function Play(){g_fPlayMode = !g_fPlayMode;if (g_fPlayMode){getobject("btnPrev").disabled = getobject("btnNext").disabled = true;Next();}else {getobject("btnPrev").disabled = getobject("btnNext").disabled = false;}}function OnImgLoad(){if (g_fPlayMode)window.setTimeout("Tick()", g_dwTimeOutSec*1000);}function Tick() {if (g_fPlayMode)Next();}function Prev(){ChangeImage(false);}function Next(){ChangeImage(true);}function omniPrint(myID, myTitle) { //{sample_id} {sample_title} s.prop3=s.prop1 + ":" + s.prop2 + ":printpage" s.prop4=s.prop1 + ":" + s.prop2 + ":printpage:" + myID s.prop5=s.prop1 + ":" + s.prop2 + ":printpage:" + myID + ":" + myTitle s.hier1=s.prop1 + "|" + s.prop2 + "|printpage|" + myID + ":" + myTitle s.pageName=s.prop1+ ":" + s.prop2 + ":printpage:" + myID + "_" + myTitle s.linkTrackVars='events,eVar29'; s.linkTrackEvents='event15'; s.events='event15'; s.eVar29='print'; s.tl(this,'o','print article'); void(s.t());}////configure below variables///////////////////////////////configure the below images and description to your own. g_ImageTable[g_imax++] = new Array ("/imagegallery/store/phpFEUujk.jpg", "Low Thia Khiang");//extend the above list as desiredg_dwTimeOutSec=4////End configuration/////////////////////////////if (document.getElementById||document.all)window.onload=Playvar strShareLink = "/stories/singaporelocalnews/print/1121575/1/.html";strShareLink = strShareLink.replace('print', "view");</SCRIPT><!-- for Facebook Like function --><SCRIPT src="http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/all.js" async="true"></SCRIPT>

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=789><TBODY><TR><TD height=26 colSpan=3></TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top width=5></TD><TD vAlign=top width=784 colSpan=2>GE: Workers' Party clarifies stand on "insurance policy"
By Saifulbahri Ismail | Posted: 08 April 2011 2017 hrs

SINGAPORE: Secretary-General of the Workers' Party Low Thia Khiang has said again that his party is not ready to form an alternative government.

In an interview with Channel NewsAsia, he also clarified his stand on why he thinks Singapore needs an "insurance policy" in the form of more elected opposition members from his party, in case the ruling People's Action Party (PAP) fails.

Mr Low is currently one of two opposition Members of Parliament.

Even with the addition of Non-Constituency MP Sylvia Lim from his Workers' Party, Mr Low said it is not enough as an "insurance" for Singaporeans.

On Thursday, PAP's Second Assistant Secretary-General Teo Chee Hean had challenged that stand, saying the Workers' Party was asking Singaporeans to pay a premium when it is not ready with an alternative plan.

Mr Teo, who is also the Deputy Prime Minister, also questioned the WP for making the claim when it said it is not ready to form an alternative government yet.

Mr Low said: "We are not saying vote us in to form an alternative government. We are saying as a start, Singaporeans have to insure themselves by voting WP into parliament, to start the process of looking at the possibility of forming an alternative government in the future. We are not even starting yet.

"If we want to be first-world nation, you must at the same time, in tandem, move towards a first-world parliament to provide the kind of safeguard and protection against failure of the government and to protect the rights and interests of the people.

"At this point in time we can't. Let's be realistic. I'm the only elected member of parliament from the Workers' Party in parliament and we have one NCMP. And this election we probably will field 20 over candidates. And that is my worry, that if you continue like that without experienced politicians and parliamentarians and without a mechanism which we can spring out to form an alternative government, when the Government fails, I think we'd be in trouble."

Mr Low stressed that it is important to take this step now while the country is stable and enjoying good economic growth.

Separately, he said the party's manifesto is ready and would focus on creating a better future for Singapore.

Mr Low said: "This election is also about the future and the Workers' Party is also looking about the future of Singapore, the future of Singaporeans and how do we move forward as a nation in the future for a better Singapore."

Mr Low said he is still mulling over the possibility of leading a team to fight in a GRC. He pointed out that the stakes are high and his decision will only be known on Nomination Day. Mr Low said whatever that decision is, he will always be thankful for the support he has received from his Hougang residents.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

denzuko1

It is still better than now when we are not covered by insurance. May be we should take pa as insurance instead. Vote in opposition with 30% pap

Frankiestine

Perhaps that the reason why the opposition will never make any headway into parliament. They are already surrendering without fighting. This is not giving voters any confidence at all. Why can't they just assemble their own so call "A TEAM" and fight those scums on level ground? If they are going to keep harping on the lack of talent to do so then voters are only going to interpret it as an admission of defeat even before the election has started. So why should I throw my votes in with you if you are not going to make any significant changes.

IR123

The PAP, he said, is the 'real insurance policy' that Singaporeans should buy to continue having a good, strong government.

Dear DPM Teo,

Singaporeans has, in the past five years, been living with your concept of 'real insurance policy'. PAP has been especially real to us these few years.

However thank you for your perspective that the PAP is good for Singaporeans.

I assure you that not all Singaporeans are regretful from buying the PAP insurance. Definitely not the Singaporeans of the future.