• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Open Letter To Defecting PKR MPs — Shamsuddin Kamal

kensington

MARCH 3 — Three PKR MPs have so far quit the party and turned independent, meaning turned BN MPs anyway, you have that right, but also the people who elected you have some rights.

All of you left the party upon which you were elected and singled out one reason: no faith in leadership.

Some even said they want to go back to Umno (either directly or indirectly) because of bangsa dan agama. Well, dear MPs, most Malaysians know why you are leaving and these are the reasons:

1. UMNO is behind the spate of defections to hurt Anwar Ibrahim and whoever it finds that has a weak heart, it snatches him/her away to play along.

2. UMNO wants to humiliate Anwar Ibrahim and whoever it finds has a wicked heart, it beckons him so that he/she will play along.

3. UMNO wants to salvage whatever that’s remaining of its credibility and does so by playing the racial card and it brings alone anyone who can’t see beyond its devilish tactics and so far it has gotten few.

4. UMNO wants to incessantly attack Anwar Ibrahim and his family and it will spend any amount of money on whoever it finds is susceptible to corruption and so far it has gotten few.

5. UMNO controls the state apparatus and scares anyone who is involved in shady deals forcing him/her to join UMNO or turn independent-read supporting UMNO/BN unconditionally and so far it has gotten few.

6. UMNO is collecting whoever it finds has a case and uses that case against him/her to switch sides and so far it has gotten few.

7. UMNO knows it can’t get elected PAS leaders because PAS leaders swear to their Creator Allah the Almighty to remain faithful to their ideals whatever may come and therefore it looks for those who swear by God but can only be described by the Qur’anic verse: “They swear by Allah that they are indeed (part) of you; but they are not of you: yet they are afraid (to appear in their true colours).” (Yusf Ali 9: 56)

8. UMNO knows it can’t get DAP MPs because they are committed to a cause and therefore it instigates the ones who aren’t committed to anything and therefore who behave like the hypocrites. “La ila ha ula, wa la ila ha ula” (neither here nor there) as Allah describes the hypocrites.

9. UMNO knows who has a weak mind and heart, which can be bought and therefore it sets traps for those and when they fall, the choice is one: go and insult Anwar Ibrahim and PKR and say I’m an independent MP-read UMNO/BN MP and so far it has gotten few.

10. UMNO is doing this to get a case against its rivals, particularly the man it spends sleepless nights on devising ways and means to cripple him, and so far it has gotten few wicked souls who have breached their trust in God and in the people.

11. UMNO gave everyone an Utusan Malaysia typical statement, say PKR and PR are not fighting for Islam/Malays and that Anwar failed to act on my/our message. The disdain you have for my people the Malays, the belief that we can’t see through you shenanigans is interesting indeed. I will remind you what Abu Jahl told the men who plotted at night to relieve the Holy Prophet’s clan from the crippling sanctions but posed as innocently concerned: Hadha amrun qad dudhiya bilalyl (This is a secret plan hatched by the previous night). We can see through your Allah, Islam and the Malay jokes.

12. None who say his complaints have not being acted upon gave an input earlier or commented on the above issues in any way that’s responsible, honest or inclusive. Former PKR Sec. General Salehuddin Hashim told a Western newspaper and a news agent two months ago that Malaysia will fail if UMNO continues to use racial and religious issues to divide the nation and he gave Malaysia only one decade to collapse. This was after UMNO members burnt some churches. Today, he was supporting the defecting MP on why UMNO is right in instigating evil in the nation on the same issue. Sometimes you cry why God gives time to some people when they can be so wicked and hypocritical but He knows much. “And do not think Allah to be heedless of what the unjust do; He but giveth them respite against a Day when the eyes will fixedly stare in horror.” (14: 42)

It should be noted that none of the MPs who have gone to BN by claiming that they are independent has offered leadership and ideas. None has come out with a political platform to share with the nation. None has gone back to his/her voters to tell one million reasons why suddenly working with UMNO and betraying the PR flag was the moral choice and none has sought an answer from his voters. None has given an intelligent answer as to why they didn’t provide the leadership they aspire for.

None has being true to what he has said. None has not been mentioned as a potential frog by the people and the blogs months before he/she has left the people and joined the evil ones. None has been brave enough to tell the people the true nature of their actions. And none has been true to One, the Almighty Allah SW.

The turncoats should be remind that they are being used by UMNO to do one thing: to hurt Anwar Ibrahim, but you forget that you are hurting the people who have left their working stations in far away places to campaign for you, work for you, donate to you and eventually vote for you to win. In fact, Anwar is getting sympathy today than he was yesterday. You might not have hearts but the people have and the people will show it to you. They won’t forget what you have done, in fact, while the UMNO machinery that coerces you may be happy, neither Allah SW who demands honesty nor your voters are happy. And God will give us the opportunity to exact revenge against you when you expect the least.

For UMNO that’s doing this in the belief that it will break the back of Anwar, I say this to you, Anwar is a mortal, he can drop dead any moment- so you are betraying the people you aspire to lead; but the people who have been hurt will live in multitudes to compare the notes with you and the turncoats at the right time and I sum up all this with an ancient proverb: The one whose death is being planned has a God too who will save him. God will save this nation, Anwar Ibrahim, PAS, DAP, PKR and all the moral forces in this nation. You shall live long enough to witness it. For now, continue with your evil mechanizations but the Great Master-Allah SW- shall work for those who desire good.

“And those who strive in Our (cause),- We will certainly guide them to our Paths: For verily Allah is with those who do right.” (29: 69)

P.S. To PR supporters, the struggle continues and awakening the nation continues and preparing for tomorrow continues and as RPK said yesterday, selecting the candidates starts today and PKR should subject them to Bay’ah like PAS. Like Chinua Achebe said, for every noble cause, few heads must roll and along the way the men and women who are fighting evil must meet evil and feel pain but we shall overcome.

We trust in Allah and in our people. We shall overcome.

kensington

End to MP exodus, PKR leaders say

By Clara Chooi

KUALA LUMPUR, March 4 — PKR national leaders believe that Bagan Serai MP Mohsin Fadzli Samsuri’s resignation should mark the end of the current exodus of MPs.

While speculation remains rife a few more might join the three who have quit, PKR is working to release another loyalty pledge by Friday, signed by all the 27 remaining MPs, as a bid to prove their support and solidarity behind party de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

PKR Election Director Fuziah Salleh confirmed the party’s latest move with The Malaysian Insider last night and added that the issue of loyalty among the PKR leaders “does not arise”.

“We have a list of signatories of all MPs, which we will release latest on Friday,” she said in a text message.

The Kuantan MP noted that yesterday’s pledge signed by 12 PKR MPs had been released first as the group, none of whom hold posts in the party’s central leadership, were being targetted by bloggers and the media as potential defectors.

“This is why they had to do their press conference earlier,” she said.

The 12 MPs who declared their full support for PKR were Teluk Kemang MP Datuk Kamarul Baharin Abbas, Balik Pulau MP Yusmadi Yusoff, Kelana Jaya MP Gwo-Burne Loh, Kuala Langat MP Abdullah Sani Abdul Hamid, Indera Mahkota MP Azan Ismail, Padang Serai MP N. Gobalakrishnan, Kapar MP S. Manikavasagam, Kuala Kedah MP Ahmad Kassim, Ketereh MP Ab Aziz Kadir, Merbok MP Datuk Rashid Din, Tanah Merah MP Amran Ab Ghani and Petaling Jaya South MP Hee Loy Sian.

On whether the party planned to release signed loyalty pledges by all its remaining PKR assemblymen nationwide, Fuziah said the party was first concentrating on its MPs.

“That is the issue now,” she said

Since the 12th General Election, PKR has lost six assemblymen beginning with the Perak “frogs” Behrang assemblyman Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi and Changkat Jering assemblyman Mohd Osman Mohd Jailu, and followed by Lunas assemblyman Mohd Radzhi Salleh, Port Klang assemblyman Badrul Hisham Abdullah and former Penanti assemblyman and former Penang Deputy Chief Minister I Mohammad Fairus Khairuddin.

Another PKR assemblyman, V. Arumugam (Bukit Selambau) had also quit the party in April last year due to personal marital issues. He had contested as an independent in March 2008 but subsequently joined PKR.

Over the past few weeks, the spate of defections from PKR shifted to MPs this time, with Bayan Baru MP Datuk Seri Zahrain Hashim leading the fray, followed by Nibong Tebal MP Tan Tee Beng on Monday and Mohsin yesterday.

The recent defections have stirred up the murky waters of PKR’s reputation and raised questions on whether more from PKR’s remaining pool of 15 MPs would soon follow suit.

This may not be the case however as the remaining few comprise party hardliners and post-holders like Fuziah,

PKR Wanita chief Zuraidah Kamaruddin, PKR vice-presidents Dr Lee Boon Chye, Mohamed Azmin Ali and R. Sivarasa, secretary-general Saifuddin Nasution, PKR strategic director Chua Tian Chang or Tian Chua, Anwar himself, his daughter Nurul Izzah and Selangor Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim and party treasurer William Leong Jee Keen.

Others like Kedah PKR chairman Datuk Johari Abdul and Hulu Selangor MP Datuk Dr Zainal Abidin Ahmad are also unlikely to defect.

Johari, the former Biro Tatanegara director, was instrumental in the recent criticisms against the Barisan Nasional on the bureau’s “racist” syllabus, while Dr Zainal Abidin is presently unwell but had last month released a statement denying that he had plans to quit from PKR.

The only other two MPs touted to be possible defectors are Kulim-Bandar Bharu MP Zulkifli Noordin who is facing the party’s disciplinary panel for his role in the “Allah” issue and Wangsa Maju MP Wee Choo Keong, who had joined defectors Zahrain and Tan in criticising Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng.

When contacted, Zuraidah laughed and said that it was an obvious fact that no one in the above group had any plans to leave PKR and said that as far as the party’s leaders were concerned, there would no longer be any more defections.

“In Zul’s case, he is still facing the disciplinary board so the decision will be up to him later. However, as far as I know, I have spoken to him, and he has not indicated plans to leave us,” she told The Malaysian Insider last night.

The party’s disciplinary board will decide today whether to concede to Zulkifli’s demand for a fully Islamic panel to hear his case.

Zulkifli is being tried before the panel for lodging a report against Shah Alam PAS MP Khalid Samad over the “Allah” row despite a party gag order.

Zuraidah also said that on Wee’s part, the latter had already conveyed to her and a few other leaders that he too would remain loyal to the party.

“I spoke to him and he said he will be back most probably tomorrow (today). He already stated his loyalty when we spoke last night (Tuesday),” she said.

Zuraidah reiterated the views of Saifuddin that there was nothing abnormal about Wee accompanying Barisan Nasional leaders to Washington for a seminar by international think-tank Center for Strategic and International Studies.

Zahrain was also a part of the delegation.

“It was just a trip for Parliamentarians,” said Zuraidah.

When contacted, Dr Lee also pledged his loyalty to Anwar’s leadership and shunned the idea raised by defector MPs that there was no room for criticism in the PKR leadership.

“This is not true at all. In fact, PKR has the biggest room of all the parties. Just look at Zul and Zahrain and Tan. What did the party do to punish them after they made all those criticisms? Try asking an Umno member to criticise Najib and see what happens,” he said.

Dr Lee’s views were echoed by Fuziah who added that the party’s decision-making process always involved a range of differing views.

“It is not true that there is no avenue for criticism within the party. We are a democratic party and we have always allowed room for differences in opinions. We do not follow Barisan’s ‘kowtow’ culture where no one dares to have a different opinion,” she said.

Chua told The Malaysian Insider that the fact that the media was constantly flooded with stories of opinion clashes among PKR members clearly proved that the party had always been open to criticism.

“In fact, we have even come to a point where people are telling us to keep our members in check so that all these problems are solved internally.

“We have always been open to receive criticisms,” he said.

The Batu MP noted that for now, he remained confident of the loyalties of all the other PKR MPs.

“Of course, I cannot speak for others but at the present moment, I remain optimistic of this,” he said.

Leong also said he too had no plans to leave the party, adding that there was no question about his loyalty to the party leaders.

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/55173-no-more-mp-exodus-pkr-leaders-say

kensington

PKR will go on...

PKR has the burden of history, it’s Umno’s true nemesis and suffers for that reputation.

Despite all the desertions and dissertations, PKR is the only party due to its ideology and membership make-up — in look and feel — which has the value proposition to compete with Umno.

The other Pakatan Rakyat parties?

DAP wants to shed its Chinese-only perception, and PAS is actively on the way to becoming a fully-integrated Islamic-principled party.

They need time to force some paradigm shifts and stay intact through that process to become what they desire.

But for now, it is PKR which fills that void, due to its history and development.

You have to move back in time to retrace this story, the story of PKR and to know what it was and is, what it always promises to become — and come short — and the common malaises which haunts it.

Somewhere in the vaults of the major media companies — from a time before Internet portals — various pictures of Barisan Nasional (BN) leaders celebrating their 1995 general election landslide victory sit. They are filed and stored, but not for reproduction in the present.

You will see a nervous but relieved Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad. The substantial losses of 1990 to the trio of Semangat 46-PAS-DAP and rebelling Parti Bersatu Sabah had died down. The economy was purring.

Nothing advertised the ‘times-are–a-changing’ better than having a Malay language graduate and Islamist firebrand rebranding himself as finance minister.

Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim will be found in that picture holding up Dr M’s hands and they would be smiling from ear to ear. Not far would be Datuk Seri Najib Razak, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, and all the usual characters from the Umno family.

Umno was in its zenith, it was impregnable. The landslide victory vindicating the thinking that a race party is the answer for Malaysia. Everyone was content.

It was postulated that only Umno could end its own dream. And the script went exactly that way.

The Anwar dismissal in 1998 and subsequent protests and trials were monumental but not decisive. It was the diaspora of Umno grassroot leaders and members into what was not an Umno-clone which was.

The creation of Parti Keadilan with the intention of seeking justice for all and political change was unprecedented. A large number of Umno members rejected Umno. Their reasons, their allegiance to Anwar and even naïve think that the move would result in immediate change did not affect the cumulative effect of it.

A sea was crossed, for a population afraid of drowning in a water bucket.

The colossal loss of Malay votes in Election 1999 meant PAS was the biggest parliamentary winner after BN. It was important for the Umno strategists that Parti Keadilan ended up third behind the religionists and DAP.

Let’s get this out of the way. Keadilan as a party is not the fear for Umno. Keadilan as a concept is. There was never a practically multiracial party with a Malay spine since the days of Datuk Onn Jaafar. And that was enough to scare the pants off Umno.

Which is why Election 2004 — despite the landslide win — remained somewhat unsatisfying to Umno for it did not bury Keadilan — which was now PKR following its marriage with Parti Rakyat Malaysia (PRM).

Everywhere PKR — especially the ex-PRM candidates — was falling like bowling pins and the defeated crew quickly licked their wounds and turned their eyes to events in Permatang Pauh.

Party president Datuk Seri Wan Azizah Wan Ismail was being run very close for what was to be their single parliamentary seat.

After several recounts, Azizah kept her seat in Dewan Rakyat.

PKR was to have a heart-beat until the next election.

In the 10 years of existence leading to Election 2008 PKR was plagued by problems. Of its Malayness isolating non-Malay issues.

Of leaders — who left the lap of luxury inside Umno and expecting a short spell in the desert — growing disappointed with a leadership which was struggling with its own teething problems.

Of its inspiration — Anwar — imprisoned for most of that time.

However, the ex-Umno faction gave the party reach to places like Dengkil and Bukit Semanggol and not just in Petaling Jaya and Johor Baharu. They were more than just the sentimental choice of unionists and NGOs — which PRM was unfortunately and unfairly stereotyped before merging with the less chic Keadilan dudes.

The party despite its lack of political wins was operating nationwide.

But the active political observer has to recollect that leading up to Election 2008 PKR had only one closely-won parliamentary seat to show, and lost the assembly contest in the Ijok by-election to a newbie candidate.

That is why the critique that PKR should have recruited better candidates for Election 2008 is hubristic if you have been rooting for change in Malaysia prior to 2008.

The idea of contesting with little financial support from a party with six wins in two general elections was not enticing enough to capable candidates.

Names had to be put on the ballot for all the parliamentary and assembly seats PKR negotiated with PAS and DAP, keeping to the promise of one on one contests against BN nationwide.

And in the future there will be other surprises in the party. PKR suffers more than DAP and PAS, because the two latter parties have been in the game longer as opposition parties, lived without political pork-barrel which comes with winning and are not inundated with those previously with the enemy.

That is why it is tough for PKR, but I feel they escaped the bigger body blow in 2004.

The concept of a multiracial party with substantial Malay presence will grow as fewer and fewer leaders in it would be ex-Umno men with living memories of a better life; joined by a generation of local graduates with less caution than their parents seeking a party to back their multicultural aspirations.

The challenge for PKR is to keep its general momentum through that transition.

They can’t counter the mainstream media attacks, costly branding exercises and the financial incentives BN relies on, but they have to sustain the broad belief in a multicultural Malaysia built on effective leadership not race leadership.

If PKR passes the present low-point then all roads will lead to Putrajaya eventually as mixed race-seats in the country hits past the critical mass line.

But politics is all year round even if elections are not. And as PKR deals with adolescence, trying to balance between better candidates and realpolitik maybe a few more people have to step forward.

They say in politics, half of it is in showing up.

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/opinion/praba-ganesan/55180-pkr-will-go-on

kensington

Of crossing overs and cultural cancer

By Azly Rahman

Should I cross over for those millions of ringgits?
That is a two million ringgit question.

How much does one get for ‘crossing over’ these days? I do not know. But if there are millions of ringgit involved, this nation will continue to rot as corrupt politicians continue switching allegiances, getting appointments to good positions, and making horrifying decisions for you and your children.

We must destroy this culture and heal anew.

We were convinced things will be better after the elections. We were sure that the revolution was going to benefit the masses and no party hopping would occur.

We are wrong. Things are getting more complex, in a complex time of rising prices.

This is my template letter to anyone on the verge of party hopping for money, based on an advise I gave to a politician who wrote to me — his/her dilemma over switching party allegiance:

Dear sir/madam,

Don’t make this mistake.

Don’t do it if it’s for two million ringgit. Or for any amount of money you do not earn ethically. Stay to be free, and speak up against internal party corruption.

You will die satisfied that you have not sold your soul to any other party in whose ideology you actually do not subscribe to. These ‘party jumpers’ have no clear intention, just clear benefits for themselves.

Principles not resource

If resource is the issue, think of how you can take your party to newer heights without more money. Make your party appeal to the younger generation. Know your party’s roots and make it dynamic.

You may not have the money, machinery, and the media at your disposal as means to influence the masses, however you have the will. Focus on helping people and problem solving at the grassroots level. ‘Small is beautiful’

Think about the ‘class’ struggle we are in. Prevent a generation of our children from the dehumanisation of a new class system. Worker rights need championing in this globalised economy and you can win them their minimum wage for starters.

Figure out how to deliver what you promised and will promise, and find your place in the party’s equation. Phenomenological questions can help you understand your existence and purpose. Without it you are just part of a game of hypocrisy.

Don’t flatter yourself with state honours presented to you in fine and archaic language meant to elevate you beyond what you are. You are not meant to be a ‘yes man/woman’ for powerful people and make others beg for your favour. Politics is about doing societal good not Machiavellian scheming.

A simple life is a virtuous life. Love others and commit yourself to good. Corruption of the soul is the beginning of all corruption.Sages such as Socrates spoke against this. Those sacred scriptures warned us against entertaining our greed more than meeting our needs. How much more do should we become agents of social destruction with the power we have as leaders?

On the question of limited financial resources in pushing our political agenda, here are some thoughts.

Leverage the Internet as a cheap and powerful tool of your campaign, while leaning on traditional methods of appeasing your constituency. Also the SMS system to mirror ‘multilevel marketing’ for effective campaigning.

Brainstorm with the young. Be creative. The greatest tool of human progress is the two pound universe one carries around – the human brain. The greatest enemy of knowledge is of course, ignorance, said Socrates.Tell the young that it is wrong to be engaged in corrupt practices and to take more than you need. The things we take from society belongs to the poor, the marginalized, the oppressed, the orphans or all races. Everything that we do is interconnected in this cycle of life. We live a life of complexity, or chaos, and constant change. We must understand too that we are makers of our own history and masters of our own destiny. If we do not live an unexamined life, it will not be a life worth living.

Past wisdom

The great soul MK Gandhi did not have much at his disposal yet he brought down the British empire. He was armed with a deep sense of spirituality and the principle of satyagraha.

Ahmad Boestaman, Tunku Abdul Rahman, Tun Dr Ismail, Onn Jaafar, Nik Aziz, Lim Kit Siang, V Rajaratnam, and many others have shown us what dignity and ethics mean. Learn from them but enrich these concepts of ethics to meet the needs of changing times without losing sight and vision of political realism. Learn from the many around you who are not servants of money.

However if you are logically convinced that your party is on the road to destruction due to massive corruption amongst its leaders, then by all means leave! You have one life to live – make it the best life, for yourself and for others. At a time when we have entered the world of multiculturalism, do not revert to blind ideology of racism.

Ultimately if you take those millions offered, sit in Parliament making decisions for our children, you will be a major crook who continues to rationalise his or her crookedness. You too will sink with the Bahtera Merdeka. The rakyat will help you sink with your two million, bahtera and all.

Like a saying goes, taken from an American Indian tribe: we do not inherit the Earth, we borrow it from our children. To add to this. we do not want to leave a dirty and corrupted world behind — from the Creator we come, unto the Creator we return.

May the Universal God bless Malaysia. And save her from total destruction.

http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2010/03/04/of-crossing-overs-and-cultural-cancer/

kensington

And now we have these so called defections of failed “leaders” from within PKR to UMNO! Huh! Let us call it for what it really is! These are the gutless rats that are fleeing NOT from a sinking ship but from the wrath of PKR where they have been given shelter and a chance to give their services to a Nation that sorely needed their commitment to go towards a future of hope and a better future for all since the last elections. Where they have found shelter and given a second chance in life in Politics when nobody else will have them.--- Hussein Hamid...

Profound insight...

kensington

http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2010/03...ept-and-barisan-nasional-are-in-such-tatters/

Najib cannot find real comfort in PKR’s agonizing self-cleansing process when his 1Malaysia concept and Barisan Nasional are in such tatters

UMNO and Barisan Nasional leaders are fully exploiting the present turmoil in Pakatan Rakyat caused by the PKR’s agonizing self-cleansing process but the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak cannot find real comfort when his 1Malaysia slogan and concept – in less than a year – and the Barisan Nasional are in such tatters.

Only in today’s Sin Chew Daily, the Gerakan youth leader Lim Si Ping said that this is the best time for Gerakan to pull out of Barisan Nasional and that it is only by leaving Barisan that Gerakan can restore its dignity.

If Pakatan Rakyat is tottering on its last legs as pictured by the mainstream media (msm) in the past few days, such a thought would not have occurred to the Gerakan youth leader!

Nanyang Siang Pau today reported that the Prime Minister has issued an ultimatum to the three MCA warring factions to “ceasefire” within this month because of an imminent Cabinet reshuffle in April, leading to the latest speculation that the newest permutation in the “Three Kingdom” MCA battle will see a Chua-Liow vs Ong realignment.

It is not only the lesser Barisan Nasional parties who are chronically afflicted with fatal schisms like MIC and PPP, even the UMNO “Big Brother” is seriously fractured, with Najib’s authority weakening, instead of strengthening, by the day.

This is obvious by the way that Najib’s 1Malaysia concept was rubbished by forces in Umno.

Yesterday, Berita Harian openly joined Utusan Malaysia in the divisive , provocative and incendiary campaign to falsely paint Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng and the Pakatan Rakyat Penang State Government as anti-Malay and anti-Islam, when such incitement goes against the very grain of Najib’s 1Malaysia campaign.

It highlights the impotence and irrelevance of the Minister in charge of the 1Malaysia programme Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon and the entire 1Malaysia campaign.

In fact, it could be asked whether Najib is actually the real target of such an irresponsible and inflammatory campaign as the projects cited to attack Guan Eng and the Penang State Government were or are Federal projects – like the Penang Global City Centre, the second Penang bridge and the UDA project in Tanjong Tokong.

The 1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme (GTP) RoadMap launched by Najib in January, focusing on the need to promote an “all-inclusive 1Malaysia media”, admitted:

“However, when some of the reporting and writing becomes too ethnic-centric or even takes on a more race-centred angle, it raises, rather than breaks down, barriers. Further, instead of providing constructive and valid criticism, some writers abuse the greater freedom of expression now available to use terms and express feelings that are racist or inflammatory in nature and tone.” (p 16)

The 1Malaysia GTP Roadmap is describing the genre of Malaysian journalism which is anti-1Malaysia – presently spearheaded by Utusan Malaysia and now joined by Berita Harian, both UMNO-owned vehicles.

Would it be wrong to infer that the irresponsible, racist and inflammatory attack by Utusan Malaysia and Berita Harian against Guan Eng are directed ultimately at Najib by the Prime Minister’s enemies in Umno – unless Najib is himself the mastermind behind the Utusan Malaysia and Berita Harian attacks against Guan Eng?

On Sunday, former Prime Minister Tun Abdullah made a very significant speech when he publicly revealed that all is not well with Najib’s 1Malaysia in Umno itself, and asked UMNO leaders to bravely speak up on their reservations and objections to the 1Malaysia concept.

Abdullah should know better. When he was Prime Minister, there was sky-high praises for his “Islam Hadhari” concept but which disappeared from public consciousness in the first day of the Najib premiershjp!

PKR and Pakatan Rakyat can only emerge from the current long-overdue shake-ups and shake-outs stronger and healthier, unaffected and unswerving in the historic mission to bring about far-reaching political change in the next general elections.

Who can say that Najib can prove the famous RAHMAN prophecy wrong that he will be the last and final UMNO Prime Minister of Malaysia?

http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2010/03...ept-and-barisan-nasional-are-in-such-tatters/

kensington

(Free Malaysia Today) - The PKR leaders, including three MPs, who quit were driven by dollars and cents, claimed the party's information chief Latheefa Koya today.

In a statement, she said the defections were part of a plan by Barisan Nasional to undermine the will of the people and detsroy PKR, which is led by Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

So far three MPs - Mohsin Fadzli Samsuri (Bagan Serai), Zahrain Mohamed Hashim (Bayan Baru) and Tan Tee Beng (Nibong Tebal) – have resigned with former secretary-general Datuk Sallehuddin Hashim promising that more would follow suit.

“It is not coincidental that all of a sudden, the stated MPs profess losing confidence with the party and wanting to build 'an independent block' when the plain fact is that the defectors were driven by monetary rewards,” said Latheefa.

“The truth is PKR cannot compete with BN when it comes to monetary rewards,” she added.

Citing the political coup in Perak as an example, she said the BN grand design would include the alleged use of certain tycoons to help alleviate these debt-ridden and opportunistic Mps.

“It is simple common sense when suddenly some of them have now been cleared from their debts and are enriched,” she added.

BN has denied playing a role in the defections, and accused PKR of shifting the blame for its internal crisis.

READ MORE HERE

http://malaysia-today.net/index.php...-pkr-&catid=19:newscommentaries&Itemid=100131

kensington

Zaid: PM is ‘two-thirds crazy’

By Clara Chooi and Neville Spykerman

PETALING JAYA, March 5 — PKR’s Pakatan Rakyat co-ordinator Datuk Zaid Ibrahim (picture) has accused Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak of being “two-thirds” crazy by his act of buying over opposition MPs.

zaid-march5.jpg

The former Umno man appealed to Najib to respect the country’s democratic system and to think about the future stability of the nation.

He noted that the Barisan Nasional government already holds the majority seats in Parliament and could pass any law.

”Let politics be about service and about improving policies. He (Najib) is the only man who can do that. He cannot let his operators to run wild with all sorts of offers,” he told a press conference at his home here this afternoon.

Zaid expressed confidence that no matter how many elected representatives that the Barisan successfully buys over, Pakatan would still prevail in the next general election.

“The people are not stupid. They know what is going on. In any case, if they feel they had made a mistake in the last election, they can correct that in the next one,” he said.

Meanwhile, PAS Meru state lawmaker Dr Abd Rani Osman predicted that Umno’s moves to destabilise Pakatan Rakyat (PR) by inducing defections will backfire.

“Previously they used the Allah issue and now this (crossovers) but it will backfire like all their other efforts,” he said.

The Selangor Backbenchers Club (BBC) deputy chairman, who was speaking at a press conference with seven other PR lawmakers, said they condemned the actions of the three MPs — Datuk Zahrain Hashim (Bayan Baru), Tan Tee Beng (Nibong Tebal) and Mohsin Fadzli Samsuri (Bagan Serai) — who have quit PKR to become independent lawmakers.

“We see this move as a betrayal of the mandate given by voters in an effort to destroyed PR.”

Abd Rani said the sudden “loss of confidence” in PKR by these now-independent MPs was pre-conceived and induced by money.

“It not something we can prove but the lifestyle changes of the individuals will be seen by the people.”

He said the BBC in Selangor was fully behind the administration of Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim and his executive councillors and their efforts to develop Selangor.

DAP’s Ng Swee Lim, who was at the press conference today, sarcastically said that PR should hold “thanksgiving prayers” to mark the departure of the MPs.

“At least we now know who our enemies are. It’s better they go now rather than be a torn in our flesh,” he said.

MORE TO COME

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/55339-zaid-pm-is-two-thirds-crazy

kensington

Anwar: ‘Cleanse party of such people’

Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) adviser Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim admitted that the party is facing a problem after three members of parliament (MP) quit recently.

He said the resignations served a good lesson so that only loyal members were chosen as candidates in future elections.

“PAS had the same problem when its president quit while the late Tunku Abdul Rahman also quit Umno. Keadilan is now facing a little problem,” he said at a political rally at Pulau Gadong last night.

PKR MPs Datuk Seri Zahrain Mohamed Hashim (Bayan Baru), Tan Tee Beng (Nibong Tebal) and Mohsin Fadzil Samsuri (Bagan Serai) recently quit the party.

“We clean the party of such people. It is better for them to leave now than later,” Anwar said.

He added PKR elected representatives and leaders would be given courses to make them strong to face challenges and remain loyal to the party.

-----------

PKR sacks Zul Noordin

By Clara Chooi
PETALING JAYA, March 6 — PKR sacked its controversial Kulim-Bandar Bharu MP Zulkifli Noordin today in a move to rid the party of a lawmaker who has become a major liability for the Pakatan Rakyat (PR).

The decision was reached this evening when the party’s supreme council decided to endorse the recommendations made by the disciplinary board.

The council convened a meeting from 3pm this evening to deliberate on the board’s investigation report, which was completed yesterday.

The rebel MP was referred to the board for infringing a party gag order by lodging a report against Shah Alam PAS MP Khalid Samad over the “Allah” row and for his criticism of DAP’s Lim Guan Eng.

He was one of the few MPs expected to join the likes of Datuk Seri Zahrain Hashim, Tan Tee Beng and Mohsin Fadzli Samsuri, who recently resigned to become Independents.

Zulkifli has been adamant about not wanting to quit, telling the media that he wanted to stay on to fight his case.

He declared, however, that his “breaking point” would be if he were made to sacrifice his religious principles by allowing himself to be tried before a panel of non-Muslims.

To date, Zulkifli has penned five letters to the party leadership, with the earliest sent this morning, pleading for the board to be replaced by an all-Muslim panel.

Zulkifli has also been accusing certain quarters in the party, whom he refers to as “little Pharoahs”, of trying to boot him out.

With today’s decision however, Zulkifli gets to stick to his resolve not to quit for the party has already decided to remove him.

In an immediate response, Zulkifli said he did not feel sad at getting the news.

“There is nothing to shed tears for. In fact, I am proud I stood my ground despite all this. And I have remained loyal to (party de facto leader Datuk Seri) Anwar Ibrahim despite what people say,” he said in an SMS.

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/55460-pkr-sacks-zul-noordin

kensington

PM, wife told to come clean on RM50m defection fund:oIo:

Wong Choon Mei, Harakah Daily

Pakatan Rakyat has slammed Prime Minister Najib Razak for using “unprincipled methods” to regain a two-thirds majority in Parliament, urging him to come clean on accusations that he was using taxpayers’ money to set up a RM50 million fund to lure opposition lawmakers to the Umno-BN coalition.

“We strongly condemn any unprincipled means such as these to regain the political upper hand,” PAS deputy president Nasharudin Mat Isa told Harakahdaily.

“It is no use and the people will see through it. It is better for Umno to try and beat Pakatan through free and fair elections rather than using unscrupulous defections and gerrymandering exercises.”

Two-thirds craze to shore up sagging prestige

Indeed, Najib has intensified a campaign to rock the Pakatan in a bid to shore up his sagging prestige in Umno. He must call for the next general election before March 2013 and fears are high within his own coalition that he will not be able to help them regain voter confidence by then.

The Pakatan has been gaining ground on a multitude of issues including the non-payment of oil royalty to heartland Malay state, the trumped-up sodomy charges against Opposition Leader Anwar Ibrahim and the abuse of federal institutions such as the police and the courts to stamp Umno’s will on the people.

"Why is he crazy for a two-thirds majority in Parliament? Barisan Nasional has enough seats to pass law easily,” PKR senior leader Zaid Ibrahim said to a press conference on Friday.

“He should not resort to this. It will only destroy his credibility and Umno’s even more.”

The first couple and the former sec-gen

In the past four weeks, Najib has enticed three PKR MPs – Zahrain Mohd Hashim, Tan Tee Beng and Mohsin Samsuri – to become Independents friendly to the BN. Another two, including problematic Kulim Bandar Bharu MP Zulkifli Noordin, are expected to follow.

Top PKR leaders believe that the PM and his wife Rosmah Mansor had zoomed in on former secretary-general Salehuddin Hashim for his in-depth knowledge of party members and their strengths and weaknesses. They sought his help to ‘persuade’ his party mates to quit.

“Najib and Rosmah met with almost all of them, those who could be used, enticing them with all kinds of reward,” said PKR deputy president Syed Husin.

"It is not impossible that Salehuddin used his six years in PKR to dig out the secrets of his colleagues and used the information to his advantage," PKR strategic director Tian Chua told Harakahdaily.

Taxpayers' money

Accusations are also buzzing that Najib had granted a federal government power deal to his cousin so that commission of RM50 million could be churned to raise funds to finance the defections.

“We have enough evidence to show that this was something that was orchestrated some months back. It is very difficult to obtain hard evidence but we have enough information about these meetings and offers,” Zaid said.

Meanwhile, the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission has been urged to probe the scandal immediately.

“These are very serious allegations involving the very top leadership of the country. The MACC must restore confidence by immediately initiating an investigation,” PKR Youth chief Shamsul Iskandar Akin told Harakahdaily.

http://malaysia-today.net/index.php...-fund&catid=19:newscommentaries&Itemid=100131