• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Only RM1 treatment charge for common illnesses

GoFlyKiteNow

Friday January 8, 2010
Only RM1 treatment charge for common illnesses

KUALA LUMPUR: At the age of 85, retiree Quah Kok Seng still works and earns a living by doing odd jobs, which does not provide him a permanent income to help pay for medical treatment.

He is happier now that a 1Malaysia Clinic has opened near his flat at Lembah Subang, where he needs to pay only RM1 for treatment and medicine.

“It is within walking distance,” he said when met yesterday after the opening of the government-subsidised clinic by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

“Even if I’m healthy, you can’t expect me at my age to go through the hassle of waiting, calling for a taxi or walking so far to have my treatments.”

Malaysians can begin getting medical treatment for common illnesses for RM1 at 45 1Malaysia Clinics from today.

A total of 50 such clinics will open in a week after Najib launched the first one in Lembah Pantai yesterday.

The 1Malaysia Clinics offer treatment for common illnesses like fever, cough and cold, and follow-up treatment for well-controlled diabetes, hypertension and asthma as well as dressing and stitch-removal procedures.

Opening hours are between 10am and 10pm to better serve those who work office hours.

Sundry shop owner S. Selvaratna, who lives near the Lembah Subang branch, could not believe that a clinic had opened near her place.

“There are no buses passing by here, so every time we need to go to a clinic, we have to pay at least RM10 for taxi and then about RM20 to RM30 for a simple flu treatment,” said the 33-year-old.

Proton factory worker Zakaria Jusoh, 31, said he was relieved at the opening of the Lembah Subang branch.

However, he said his wife Norhayati Zulkifli wished there were facilities to treat pregnant women and children as well.

Family Health Development director Dr Safurah Jaafar, who coordinated the set-up of the clinics in two months, said the clinics not only provide treatment but also help people understand healthy diets and lifestyles.

She said an assistant medical officer, a staff nurse and an assistant health officer with at least five years’ experience would staff each clinic. “Doctors from the nearest clinic or hospital will also make a visit once a week to audit, evaluate and ensure the clinics are maintained well,” she said.

What can you buy with $1 in Singapore? Not even a packet of tissue paper at 7-11 store. Zzzzzzz

najib5.jpg

Datuk Seri Najib during the launching of
" Klinik 1Malaysia" at Lembah
Pantai Kuala Lumpur. thesun/Saiful Hizam

najib1.jpg

My blood presure still normal......" says Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak during testing the blood presure by medical assistant, Clinic 1 Malaysia. thesun/Saiful Hizam Mansor

The government has spent RM10 million for 50 clinics, inclusive of the costs of setting it up with the necessary facilities.
“For now its only 50 and we will evaluate the operations of these 50 first. If there is good support from the public and the programme is successful, the government will consider more such clinics,” Najib said.
The clinics, which will be opened from 10am to 10pm daily, will be managed by medical assistants and staff nurses and are set up at locations easily accessible by the public in residential areas with a population of more than 10,000 people.
Health Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, who was also at the launch, said the scope of the clinics’ services include:
> minor treatments for fever, cough and flu;
> follow-up treatments for stable chronic patients like those who are diabetic, have high blood pressure and asthma cases;
> minor surgical procedures like cleaning wounds and taking out stitches;
> simple laboratory tests;
> stabilising patients under emergency cases before referring them to hospitals; and
> health consultation and promotions for patients.
“While the public is encouraged to seek emergency treatments from the 1Malaysia Clinics, for cases that are beyond the scope of Medical Assistants, they will be referred to the nearest health clinics or government hospitals,” Liow said.
“To ensure the quality and medical standards are not compromised, these clinics will be supervised once a week by a medical officer from the nearest health clinics,” he said.
In all, there 10 1Malaysia clinics in the Klang Valley, five each in Penang and Johor, four each in Perak, Sabah and Sarawak, two in Kedah, one in Perlis and three each in the rest of the states

Malaysia government very efficient leh, just use Rm 10m can open 50 clinics liao!!! Singapore S$10m can't even setup a OPD. Zzzzzzzz

Must wait how nong?
scarly wait 3 days to see doc....oledi mati.

:o :( :o

Do not worry, it is fated

if you must die because of serious fatal illness, you will die even if you got doctors and nurses on standby in full facility hospital 24/7 and need to wait under 3 minutes for doctors to arrive.

Must wait how nong?
scarly wait 3 days to see doc....oledi mati.

:o :( :o

If u think about it, Sinkapore is like 3rd World Cuntry compared to other countries...

North Korea: They can watch World Cup
Sinkapore: Sorry! Bo lui to bid for the World Cup airing rights!

Matlaysia: Setting up of $1 clinic to help the poor
Sinkapore: Recently i was charged $53 for a normal clinic consultation + medicine. Polyclinic chao chao $10 and very inconvenient. Must wait 3 hours!

Malaysia boleh lah!

Public medical services for pleasants at RM1 (45 Singapore cents) a visit.

This kind of price, only Singapore free clinics can compete.

;) Malaysia Boleh!

What can you buy with $1 in Singapore? Not even a packet of tissue paper at 7-11 store. Zzzzzzz

When she runs out of oil, I wonder who is going to pay for the budget deficit.
with such low payment, doctors and nurses are poorly paid and they rather go into the private sector or overseas/

They are using the tax payers money to good use. While here you will never get that. At least the govement is doing something to the people

I had a friend, Singaporean, married to a malaysian gal. During her pregnancy her visit to the clinic would cost no more than RM10 and they also gave her milk powder for her to drink for the baby inside for free.

Does it includes discharges of MC for 1 Ringget?

I think most Singaporean with fever cough and headache goes to the clinic for this purpose and there would be a super long queue if we are offered this cheap service. But tkk, will not happen.:rolleyes:

In little red dot, polyclinic charges $8 or RM20 for consultation alone, medicine extra....... now even got prescription fee of $2.........WTF!:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

Does it includes discharges of MC for 1 Ringget?

I think most Singaporean with fever cough and headache goes to the clinic for this purpose and there would be a super long queue if we are offered this cheap service. But tkk, will not happen.:rolleyes:

on bad days the Q can be 3 hours! Paying $10 is not cheap considering the super quick time these gahmen doctors take to see you.

with such low payment, doctors and nurses are poorly paid and they rather go into the private sector or overseas/

My guess is you will also be worry that TV stations may have to go under if they dun charge you $150 to watch worldcup. ;)

Malaysia gov. fork out more than 10 billion dollar to serve the public healtcare each year.

Gov'ts in Europe, Australica, Canada,....., Malaysia use tax money to pay for the healthcare of their citizens.

In Spore there are no budget deficits because citizens pay "market rate" for everything.

The only deficits come about when Madam Ho looses billions gambling with tax payers money :rolleyes: