• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Old people begging for a meal?

micromachine

Lieutenant General
On mobile sorry if formatting sucks I was doing a delivery job and was waiting at a hawker center/food corner/food court (sorry not too sure with the terminology) in a heartland area.

As I was waiting for the stall to complete the order, an older auntie (probably 60-70) asked me in mandarin (have shitty mandarin skills) for what I assumed to be a meal. I didn’t really understand and tried to ask her what she said in English, only for her to turn away.

She then came to me and tried to tell me now I’m broken English, now I’ve fallen to my plenty fair share of pity scams and honestly now I’m extremely wary and skeptical of these. So I just told her “I’m sorry I don’t have any money” and left. Don’t know if I did the right thing because I truly do feel like if I could, I’d like to help people truly in need.

Just checking if anyone else has ever encountered something like this and what did you do? Did you find out if it was really a scam?

KNN mr slezy should ask her to beg directly from the stall KNN same like on street see donation campaign just ask them get direct from pap KNN especially those schools that engage students thinking people are light hearted to children KNN no need shy just tell those students KNN ask your principal get from pap KNN

Fake News for sure Singapore is a rich First World Swiss Standard country where money and food a aplenty everywhere

Those who can’t make it in this First World Swiss Standard society had left for 3rd world country like Thailand like me.

There are beggars in switzerland too. Mostly foreigners.same in jiu hu. Either rohingyas or from indian subcontinent.

I would buy her a meal. Wouldn't give her money. If I do, just a $2 to $5.

Once i was in little india area at ah neh kopishop having a teh terek. 4 bangla workers came in and ordered only a plate of nasi goreng and sharing. I went over to the cashier before I left and ordered another 2 plates for them, paid and left. I hope they enjoyed the meal. I am willing to help if you are hungry, but dont ask me for anything more..

Jalan Besar just before Berseh Food Centre, old man at the shophouse begging for $1 from passerbys. :biggrin:

Ate chicken lice around there a few months back. Old lady walk up to the table and ask for money. So much for Swiss standards, only for ministers and silver serpents it seems. :mad:

Should just Soylent green the whole lot of them..let them go with dignity. Better for all...save money and pap can stop pretending they care

Ate chicken lice around there a few months back. Old lady walk up to the table and ask for money. So much for Swiss standards, only for ministers and silver serpents it seems. :mad:
hanor, dunno about you both, i've oso met the same old man and old lady - while being tested at the dsc klinik at nearby blk 31 and other day walking from flanders square to have the mutton herbal soup at jln berseh fc. maybe we missed each other.....:sneaky::tongue:

What ever happened to those Social Enterprise Kopitiam??? :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

for me i ican afford, i will just give.want to give, no regret and supect.
want to suspect, then better dont give.no right or wrong .

100% confirmed fake news,

LKY is on official record that there are no beggars in Singapore.
hanor, just the oldies going about their daily exercise routine and indulging in their favourite hobby - and making small talk and forging new pals in talking about a loose change niah :rolleyes:

these sinkies are lucky. they already have a ceiling, a room and mattress to sleep on. only thing they need is an extra (comfort food) meal from other sinkies. less fortunate folks in sillycon valley have it worse. no choice but to sleep in tents under the freeway. only a few joints of marijuana and a donut a day. no cheap hawker center makan, unlike in sg. cheapest deal in the valley is a cup of coffee with a donut for $1.69. next cheapest is a chalupa cravings box from taco bell or chili hotdogs from weinerschnitzel for $6.99.

this pic is just taken 6.9 minutes ago.
2F7EA199-B5C8-4C81-9C1F-7E32D7B4C637.jpeg

What ever happened to those Social Enterprise Kopitiam??? :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

You'll have to ask this highly unattractive creature. It was her idea to run hawker centres as 'social enterprises'. You can dig out some articles about it.

The-Elim-Chew-Story-Up-Close-And-Personal.jpg

https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/ne...who-started-destroying-hawker-centres.172882/

https://www.mewr.gov.sg/docs/defaul...ry/pressrelease/pcp-recommendation-report.pdf

https://www.todayonline.com/singapo...eds-change-operators-should-show-how-they-use