• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Obama do not see eye-to-eye with Lee Kuan Yew on containing China

SNAblog

Fortunately, Lee Kuan Yew's ill-advice is disregard by the new US administration. It could have worked if it was George Bush. But it cut no ice with Obama.

Lee Kuan Yew had warned America about China:
"The size of China makes it impossible for the rest of Asia, including Japan and India, to match it in weight and capacity in about 20 or 30 years. So we need America to strike a balance."
"I think if the US does not recognize that the Asia-Pacific is where the economic center of action would be and it loses that economic superiority or lead that it has in the Pacific, then it would lose it worldwide"

This is Obama's response is delivered in Tokyo:
"China’s growing economic and military influence in Asia doesn’t necessarily come at the expense of the U.S"
"In an inter-connected world, power does not need to be a zero-sum game, and nations need not fear the success of another,”
“Cultivating spheres of cooperation -- not competing spheres of influence -- will lead to progress in the Asia Pacific."
"The United States does not seek to contain China, nor does a deeper relationship with China mean a weakening of our bilateral alliances,”

Hope the Minister Mentor gets the message loud and clear, and stay away from meddling in US-China bilateral relations.

takcheksian

These are the words of a true statesman.

OFart is just a tin pot dictator of Peesai. What does he know about statesmanship apart from lecturing others?

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
It seems that the old man wanted to position himself as the "middleman" between the two giants, as he has done in the past between China-Taiwan.

Strange indeed. There are much things to be settled in Singapore, really don't need to meddle in other people's business unless it really bothers us.

Goh Meng Seng

Fortunately, Lee Kuan Yew's ill-advice is disregard by the new US administration. It could have worked if it was George Bush. But it cut no ice with Obama.

Lee Kuan Yew had warned America about China:
"The size of China makes it impossible for the rest of Asia, including Japan and India, to match it in weight and capacity in about 20 or 30 years. So we need America to strike a balance."
"I think if the US does not recognize that the Asia-Pacific is where the economic center of action would be and it loses that economic superiority or lead that it has in the Pacific, then it would lose it worldwide"

This is Obama's response is delivered in Tokyo:
"China’s growing economic and military influence in Asia doesn’t necessarily come at the expense of the U.S"
"In an inter-connected world, power does not need to be a zero-sum game, and nations need not fear the success of another,”
“Cultivating spheres of cooperation -- not competing spheres of influence -- will lead to progress in the Asia Pacific."
"The United States does not seek to contain China, nor does a deeper relationship with China mean a weakening of our bilateral alliances,”

Hope the Minister Mentor gets the message loud and clear, and stay away from meddling in US-China bilateral relations.

sufferwell

should ask Obama if he agrees with LKY that Chinese only care about living standards and are not bothered with democracy and free speech

Strange indeed. There are much things to be settled in Singapore, really don't need to meddle in other people's business unless it really bothers us.

th_lky-1-1.jpg

Are u saying I'm too free? KNN!

shelltox

It is election time in the US next year, with rising unemployment the rhetorics for protectionism and antioutsourcing is going to win votes and they are going to vote for people who are pro-protectionism and anti-outsourcing.
Protectionism and antioutsourcing is going to drive final nails in the coffin for the ailing world economy.
Mark my work for it, this is what old man is worried about bcos it was protectionism that led to worsening of the Great Depression and later the dreadful WW2

pocoyo

When ah lee gave that advice to obama, he actually didn't really refer to Asia-Pacific. He actually refer to SG itself.

So far it's been unknown that there r countries or many in the region that shows concern over china strength.

Just take the nearby ones like m'sia, indo, thailand etc, did anyone see them show any concern about china? At least I don't.

It's merely ah lee own fear to the extent that he had to fly all the way to US before the apec just to tell obama that. Maybe he worry obama may not even attend apec where ah lee simply could wait for him to come.

As to why he fear so much about china, it appears to me that he's still unconvinced why a backward and a communist country like china can become so strong and better than SG that's under his care.

Last but not least, certainly due to his die hard belief that ang moh is always tua kee whereby a chinese or an asian country can never be better than an ang mo or western country.

coolguy

1-3.jpg

Why I want jam and butter on both sides of my bread cannot izzit? In fact the more the merrier.
you sinkies slaves only deserve peanuts, not bread.:biggrin:

littlefish

It seems that the old man wanted to position himself as the "middleman" between the two giants, as he has done in the past between China-Taiwan.

Goh Meng Seng

It should be pretty obvious by now that he has not changed with the times. His thinking reflects his view of the world during the Cold War era (not to mention the tough talking he likes to show off). This is a very common occurrence among the elderly. In other countries, they take great pains to prevent this from happening by ensuring that power is passed on smoothly.

Think about this, in this day and age, would any tiny country's politician who is worth his salt openly criticise or lecture much bigger countries without provocation?