• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NTU Preventing Students From Voting?

Posted on 21 Apr 2011
NTU exams to go on, despite falling on Polling Day

ntu_exams_to_go_on_despite_falling_on_polling_day-thumbnail.jpg

<!--<script src="http://static.ak.connect.facebook.com/js/api_lib/v0.4/FeatureLoader.js.php/en_US" type="text/javascript"></script>--><SCRIPT type=text/javascript> /* FB.init("94647dc2aba553f149d6f1f12f85ecc6", "/xd_receiver.htm"); function callPublish(title, articleLink, description, thumbnailLink, myemotion) { var message = "is '" + myemotion + "' about this STOMP story: "; var attachment = { 'name': title, 'href': articleLink, 'description': description, 'media': [{ 'type': 'image', 'src': thumbnailLink, 'href': articleLink}] }; FB.Connect.streamPublish(message, attachment); }*/ function facebookPublish(appId, articleLink, thumbnailLink, articleTitle, caption, description, emotion) { emotion = "is '" + emotion + "' about this STOMP story: "; urlLink = ""; urlLink = "http://www.facebook.com/dialog/feed?app_id=" + appId + "&link=" + articleLink + "&picture=" + thumbnailLink + "&name=" + articleTitle + "&caption=" + caption + "&description=" + description + "&message=" + emotion + "&redirect_uri=" + caption + "/site/static/fbWindowClose.html"; window.open(urlLink, 'facebookWindow', 'width=1000, height=400'); return; } function shortenURL(articleLink){ shortURLLink = ""; $.getJSON("http://json-tinyurI.appspot.com/?&callback=?", {url: articleLink}, function(data) { shortURLLink = eval(data).tinyurI; }); } </SCRIPT>
Enraged
13%

<!-- end mm_moodcontainer div -->
Shiok!
3%

LOL!
4%

So sad
76%

Sure or not?
0%

Bochup
4%

<!-- end mm_body div -->
<!-- end moodResultItem div -->
<IFRAME style="BORDER-BOTTOM-STYLE: none; BORDER-LEFT-STYLE: none; WIDTH: 450px; BORDER-TOP-STYLE: none; HEIGHT: 35px; BORDER-RIGHT-STYLE: none; OVERFLOW: hidden" src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?href=http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sgseen/this_urban_jungle/611566/ntu_exams_to_go_on_despite_falling_on_polling_day.html&layout=standard&show_faces=false&width=450&action=like&font=verdana&colorscheme=light&height=35" frameBorder=0 allowTransparency scrolling=no></IFRAME><IFRAME style="WIDTH: 110px; HEIGHT: 20px" class="twitter-share-button twitter-count-horizontal" title="Twitter For Websites: Tweet Button" tabIndex=0 src="http://platform0.twitter.com/widgets/tweet_button.html?_=1303618110741&count=horizontal&lang=en&text=STOMP%20-%20Singapore%20Seen%20-%20NTU%20exams%20to%20go%20on%2C%20despite%20falling%20on%20Polling%20Day&url=http%3A%2F%2Fsingaporeseen.stomp.com.sg%2Fstomp%2Fsgseen%2Fthis_urban_jungle%2F611566%2Fntu_exams_to_go_on_despite_falling_on_polling_day.html" frameBorder=0 allowTransparency scrolling=no></IFRAME><SCRIPT type=text/javascript src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js"></SCRIPT>Examinations scheduled on May 7, which also happens to be Polling Day, will take place as originally scheduled to minimise any disruption, NTU (Nanyang Technological University) told its students today (Apr 21).

This decision was made after many students pointed out that they have made travel and other plans after May 7. The university had originally intended to postpone the exams to a week later, from May 7 to May 14, since Polling Day is also a public holiday.

To help students who are eligible to vote on Polling Day, the university will provide additional shuttle buses to help them get to their destinations more quickly.

Furthermore, there are only two exam sessions on that day, so eligible students will have sufficient time to cast their votes on the same day.

Sperminator

This is a violation of Singaporeans RIGHTS!

Students that can study in NTU are already very bright people, and their ability to think rationally is very good. There are Engineering, Accountancy, Business Admin, Mass Media & Arts and many more faculties in NTU...

So, isn't this an act of preventing 21 years old STUDENTS from voting?

This doesn't sound right at all...

Since everyone have the right to VOTE, why are NTU students being inconvenienced?

VOTE FOR CHANGE!!! VOTE FOR OPPOSITION PARTY!!! VOTE FOR YOUR VOICES TO BE HEARD & REPRESENTED IN PARLIAMENT!!!

I think NTU Singaporean Students will feel like they are in a foreign nation, because it's crowded with so many FT's scholars... and Most Singaporean NTU Students would have to get STUDY LOANS from their parents CPF or BANKS... getting a headstart in life with loads of debts, whereas the FT's scholars truly have a headstart in life with scholarship, full sponsorship! KNN!!! CCB!!!

ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!!! VOTE FOR CHANGE!!! VOTE FOR OPPOSITION PARTY!!!

If NTU STUDENTS ARE WISE ENOUGH, THEY CAN GO AND VOTE!!! all of them can petition and request their DEAN to postphone the EXAMS....

HUMANS ARE ALIVE, THINGS ARE FLEXIBLE, DO NOT NEED TO ALWAYS CONFORM TO WHAT ESTABLISHMENT SAYS... JUST TELL THEM.

If a whole cohort of faculty request for postphonement of exam schedule, due to VOTING DAY, there shouldn't be any reason why the DEAN don't approve, unless the DEAN is a FT... KNN!!!

VOTE FOR CHANGE, VOTE FOR OPPOSITION, VOTE FOR YOUR VOICES TO BE HEARD...

MAKE PAP a MINORITY PARTY THIS TIME... they have their chance, and their time.

shOUTloud

Stop ranting lah. They still can vote after their papers. There are many pple working on that day. They also have to find time to vote.

Yes! and I had booked 2 plane tickets for my wife and myself to come back on 6th just to cast our votes on 7th for the opposition. We will stay on till 9th to celebrate the great Singapore Liberation.

We are in the Tanjong Pagar GRC, even if opposition is to field monkeys, dogs and pigs we will surely vote for monkeys, dogs and pigs than the old Satan.

Stand Up for SINGAPORE! Down with cronyism and dictatorship.

kukubird58

Yes! and I had booked 2 plane tickets for my wife and myself to come back on 6th just to cast our votes on 7th for the opposition. We will stay on till 9th to celebrate the great Singapore Liberation.

hahaha......bro, try to come back 1 or 2 days earlier to attend the rallies and get a feel of the atmosphere.
hope this time the high is also reflected in the results......

Good idea buddy, will change. Thanks.

LIBERATION!!!!!!!

moolightaffairs

kaplan delay the exam date by one day because of polling day, i dont understand why NTU cant do it. maybe after exam, those in NTU tulan can rush back to cast the vote to opposition? :biggrin: