• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NSP new election strategy of monitoring ministers' policies

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
The following is the translation of the Zaobao article:

NSP new election strategy of monitoring ministers' policies.

(2009-11-23)

Yew Lun Tian reports

The National Solidarity Party will be applying a new strategy in the coming general elections. It plans to take on the policy made by the PAP ministers anchoring the respective GRCs.

In respond to our queries, the leader of NSP Tampines team Mr. Goh Meng Seng told us, “This is to enhance the accountability of this government. When the ministers are formulating their policies, they should take the people's interests into serious considerations and be accountable for their policies. If the policies are bad, then they should step down.”

He revealed that NSP has decided to use the GRC minister-specify strategy for campaigning, monitoring and tracking closely the various policies made by the respective ministers after holding internal election seminars since August.

“The PAP government has always stressed about collective leadership and responsibility but most of the time it would mean that nobody will be accountable for the policies made. Since the ministers are just executing the will of the leadership, thus they won't be afraid of taking the rap if anything goes wrong.”

This is why they believe that the strategy of monitoring the ministers closely could create impact on the process of policy making by the government, letting the ministers know that voters want them to be responsible and accountable for the policies made under their charge.

When contacted, the President of NSP said, “We will focus on the policies made by the respective ministers but we will not rule out campaigning on National policy issues or local constituency issues as well.”

This party has announced plans to contest Tampines, Jurong and Jalan Besar GRCs, along with with Yio Chu Kang, Yishun Central and MacPherson SMCs in the next elections. Central Executive Member Teo Chai Chen and Yip Yew Weng have expressed interests to contest Yishun Central and Yio Chu Kang respectively.

Although there are no mention of the possible election dates yet, NSP has already made preparations and deploy ed their teams accordingly. Take the Tampines team for example, it is basically formed with candidates ready to contest. Mr. Goh Meng Seng did not reveal much details about the other candidates except that they encompass all age groups and some are working overseas.

He also pointed out that ever since NSP left SDA, it needs to attract more minority candidates to form the GRC teams. During the 2006 GE, NSP contested under the SDA banner and it could combine resources and collaborated with minority candidates from other component parties like PKMS to form up their GRC teams.

Most political parties will normally hold their cards close to their chests and reluctant to reveal their election plans until the final countdown. Will NSP lose out by revealing their intent of contests in various places and election strategy so early? Mr. Goh expressed confidence in doing so.

He said that even if the ruling party carry out preventive measures like hastening the progress of lift upgrading, the fundamental problem pertinent to the high inflated prices of public housing will still remain.

Mr. Goh believes that the government should not use the resale price of old HDB flats as the basis to determine the prices of the new flats because the amenities of the matured estate will definitely be more pricey.

“Unless the government change their policies to allow citizens to own two flats, else the paper capital gain generated by the rising HDB price is superficial and will not bring actual benefits to the people.”

TeeKee

[If the policies are bad, then they should step down]

What do you mean by if the policies are bad?

Got benchmark or not? What kind of benchmark? :smile:

If your policies benefited one group, another will suffer....how what is considered bad policies?

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
[If the policies are bad, then they should step down]

What do you mean by if the policies are bad?

Got benchmark or not? What kind of benchmark? :smile:

If your policies benefited one group, another will suffer....how what is considered bad policies?

The bench mark lies with the votes of the citizens.

Goh Meng Seng

TeeKee

The bench mark lies with the votes of the citizens.

Goh Meng Seng

but the votes are manipulated by the media and the GRCs walkovers leh....

how could you get an accurate sentiments from the populace?

better dun use that Nielsen bullshit ratings....

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
but the votes are manipulated by the media and the GRCs walkovers leh....

how could you get an accurate sentiments from the populace?

There are of course many factors but if the ministers actually get voted out, it speaks volumes about their policies.

Goh Meng Seng

TeeKee

There are of course many factors but if the ministers actually get voted out, it speaks volumes about their policies.

Goh Meng Seng

how could they be voted out...if...

1. they do last min pitching to draw more voters?
2. they continue to use the 133th to physco voters about 'good' governance.
3. nobody contest in their wards?
4. i only like one but the rest 3 only so-so just tag along?
5. peasants will conveniently forget the MIWs failed policies, after being rewarded with monetary incentives?

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
how could they be voted out...if...

1. they do last min pitching to draw more voters?
2. they continue to use the 133th to physco voters about 'good' governance.
3. nobody contest in their wards?
4. i only like one but the rest 3 only so-so just tag along?
5. peasants will conveniently forget the MIWs failed policies, after being rewarded with monetary incentives?

It will be the job of opposition members like me to persuade the voters that bad policies should not be gone unpunished.

Of course, we may not be able to contest all seats but there must a start somewhere. We need only one minister to fall to send a very strong signals to other PAP ministers.

Goh Meng Seng

TeeKee

It will be the job of opposition members like me to persuade the voters that bad policies should not be gone unpunished.

Of course, we may not be able to contest all seats but there must a start somewhere. We need only one minister to fall to send a very strong signals to other PAP ministers.

Goh Meng Seng

Good Luck!! and God Speed!! :biggrin:

Many people just assume that PAP backbench MPs just tag along to ride ito GRCs led by minsters. That may be true if they're in Tanjong Pagar or Marine Parade GRCs. However, the reverse could also be true in some other GRCs. Take Tampines GRC for example. It was Mah Bow Tan who lost to Chiam See Tong, then got posted to Tampines to ride into Parliament with strength in numbers afforded by GRCs. Take another example, say, Heng Chee How who lost to Low Thia Kiang and was posted out to Jalan Besar for the same reason. In fact, if not for the safety skirt of Lily Neo, Jalan GRC could have fallen under Yaccob Ibrahim, not Lily Neo tailcoating them.

Whats4

what do these so call oppposition mp do in pariahment other than q&a session? tea break toilet break? after that go home and sleep and allow those scums pap legislation to go through? y the hell i need those opposition mp for fuck?? its more like these so call opposition just want their monthly allowance and their cushy jobs of running town councils.

:mad::mad::mad:

TeeKee

what do these so call oppposition mp do in pariahment other than q&a session? tea break toilet break? after that go home and sleep and allow those scums pap legislation to go through? y the hell i need those opposition mp for fuck?? its more like these so call opposition just want their monthly allowance and their cushy jobs of running town councils.

:mad::mad::mad:

2 out of 84 MPs.....can stop funny laws from getting thru?

you must be a joker...what's up doc? :biggrin:

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
I will vote for any party that promises to cut ministers' salaries by at least 50% immediately. :biggrin:

Someone actually asks me this question, how much salary would I ask for if I become a minister. I was stunt at first because I have never thought of becoming a minister in the first place. After recomposing myself, I answered $150,000 per year.

How do I arrive this figure? Some rich guy told me that his girlfriend told him $150K per year is just average pay. :wink:

Anyway, the idea is that minister could well live pretty comfortably with $150K because they enjoy many other perks. $150K is about 5 times of average income for layman. If compare to the lowest 10% percentile, this amount is about 15 times of their average annual income.

The pay of ministers should not be more than 20 times of the average of the lowest 10 percentile. That is my view.

Goh Meng Seng

IR123

Someone actually asks me this question, how much salary would I ask for if I become a minister. I was stunt at first because I have never thought of becoming a minister in the first place. After recomposing myself, I answered $150,000 per year.

How do I arrive this figure? Some rich guy told me that his girlfriend told him $150K per year is just average pay. :wink:

Anyway, the idea is that minister could well live pretty comfortably with $150K because they enjoy many other perks. $150K is about 5 times of average income for layman. If compare to the lowest 10% percentile, this amount is about 15 times of their average annual income.

The pay of ministers should not be more than 20 times of the average of the lowest 10 percentile. That is my view.

Goh Meng Seng

You try getting the Prime Minister to agree to a $450,000 per year salary.

It is inconceivable that the Prime Minister will continue to earn his millions whilst his ministers keep to a moral $150,000 per year.

Somehow the imagination does not extend to the Prime Minister reducing his salary to $450,000 to keep pace with the ministers' salaries of $150,000.

The question is therefore rhetorical.

This road that singapore travelled can never be backtracked.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Ok, I must admit I have pretty low materialistic desires to start with.

This road can be back tracked if and only if PAP lose power.

Goh Meng Seng

You try getting the Prime Minister to agree to a $450,000 per year salary.

It is inconceivable that the Prime Minister will continue to earn his millions whilst his ministers keep to a moral $150,000 per year.

Somehow the imagination does not extend to the Prime Minister reducing his salary to $450,000 to keep pace with the ministers' salaries of $150,000.

The question is therefore rhetorical.

This road that singapore travelled can never be backtracked.

IR123

Ok, I must admit I have pretty low materialistic desires to start with.

This road can be back tracked if and only if PAP lose power.

Goh Meng Seng

I like to express my doubts on this.

There is only one difference between the PAP and the others: the degree of power.

PAP is good for singapore if its power is not absolute.

Whats4

Then vote for PAP.
No point getting angry for oppositions if you feel they are not up for the job.

:biggrin: :wink: :biggrin:

this is what the useless opposition have learnt from the pap scums, take the $$ and talk abit just to show that they did some work. knn all the pariahment mp is wasting of tax payers $$.