• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NSman Man Forced to Resign from Bank Due to ICT. What Are You Defending?

[h=2]Legit deferment requests repeatedly denied by MINDEF[/h]

PostDateIcon.png
October 19th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

denied.jpg
Dear Editor,

I am writing to express my opinion of how MINDEF has handled my request for
deferment from In-Camp Training (22 October – 2 November).

I joined a bank in March this year as a Relationship Manager. In this
capacity, my performance is almost entirely judged based on my sales numbers.
After joining, I was in mandatory training for 2 months, and a couple of weeks
after while MAS processed my clearance. It was June before I started running for
sales numbers.

While this industry is a cut-throat one, the team I was in was run with an
even tighter noose – by August my line manager had already indicated it was
vital that I delivered the sales numbers or I could come under the chop. Sales
targets are measured monthly, quarterly and annually. My line manager felt that
my ICT would be an obstacle, and requested that I apply for deferment. As such,
I applied for deferment on 29 August, under the category of New Employment,
taking in the account the criteria as set out by MINDEF:

NSman may be deferred from ICT if he satisfies all the following
guidelines:

• a. He has started on a new job less than 3 months before his national
    service call-up
    b. His employer requests for the deferment
    c. His national
    service call-up is more than 7 days’ duration.

Seemingly, I met all 3 criteria as

• a. I started the job less than a month before my call-up
    b. My line
    manager reqested for the deferment, and attached an official letter with my
    application
    c. The call-up was _7 days
However, my application was declined in September. By this time, my line
manager had tightened the noose again, and warned that if I could not deliver
the performance in line with expectations by October, my position with the bank
could be in jeopardy. I then submitted another application, together with
another letter from my line manager that explained the situation quite
explicitly. However, this application was declined again.
I appealed against
this, and again this was declined on 1 October. At this point, I was advised by
my line manager that I should tender my resignation especially since I could not
obtain a deferment from ICT, as this would severely hamper my ability to
delivery sales for the month of October and November and therefore greatly
affect the overall numbers for Quarter 4 as well as 2012.

And so, I tendered my resignation with the bank, with my last day of
employment on 26 October.
As the sole breadwinner in my family, you may imagine
that this is extremely detrimental to my family and thus very crucial that I am
able to obtain new employment ASAP. I then submitted another deferment
application on 2 October so that I may be able to actively and urgently look for
a new job, rather than be stuck in camp for 2 weeks, not being able to look for
jobs, send out applications, response to calls from potential employers, check
for emails from potential employers, or attend interviews if need be. This was
again declined on 17 October. I immediately submitted an appeal, as well as
wrote to my MP for assistance.

Click to enlarge

On 18 October, the MP for my constituency wrote that he had written to MINDEF
with regards to my case. Today (19 October) I checked the NS.sg website and
found that the status was still Pending Decision. The ICT starts on Monday, so
there is no way MINDEF will revert before the deferment department do not work
on weekends.
I called the MINDEF hotline to enquire, and was informed that they
have indeed received a note from an MP but the case was only opened at 4:00pm
today. As such, I have heard nothing from MINDEF.

I have attached a log of my deferment applications lifted from NS.sg for your
reference.

While I recognise the need for military defence and readiness, we are not
full-time army personnel and we do possess a civilian life, with civilian
ideals, and civilian families to feed. I have followed MINDEF guidelines for
deferment applications, via correct and proper channels but have come up empty
while my career and my family’s financial stability has been negatively impacted
by the SAF’s insistence that I should not be granted a deferment from ICT.
Perhaps if I was a key appointment holder within my reservist unit, there may be
some justification in the seemingly imperativeness that I should be present at
the ICT. However, I am far from that. I am not a specialist/officer, I have been
permanently downgraded to PES C9L3 due to a slipped spinal disc condition and
for the past few ICT’s, my function has been to assist the Quartermaster in
collecting food rations from the cookhouse.

Your sincerely,
Lim Ek Kwang

<cite class="fn">Pink Panty Loong:</cite>

October
19, 2012 at 8:50 pm
Pink Panty
Loong(Quote)

Agree with you. I remember there was one time when I’ve been kept calling
back for reservist and I was jobless then. Busy looking for jobs and have been
called for interviews. I tried to defer, but the farking army said will give me
time-off to attend interviews. Blardy hell, I kept facing alot of problems when
I try to get time-off from there. And the farking location of the army usually
damn ulu one I always rushed till it affects my interview performance. KNNCCB,
lim peh already no livelihood liao and government don’t bother liao but I still
gotta go back and serve the farking army to protect blardly PAP’s properties and
their beloved foreign Trash. Go FARK SPIDER.

Not new to me. I was terminated twice because of oversea ICT which was about 3 weeks each. I am a chef and finding replacement in peesai is not a problem due to the fact that there are alot of FT in FnB line willing to earn much less. Some of these FT workers even got degrees in FnB from unknown unis.

hi guys! let me be the first! especially to Mr Lim Ek Kwang, er hum!

WHO THE FUCK DID YOU VOTE FOR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What the F@#$@#K was he thinking when he voted?:p . Come 2015, more goodies coming his way...he will forget !! ( 2015 is SINgapore 50th Anniversary)!!

If you ask me that, Id say it didnt made a difference whom i voted for. Sinkees already brainwashed liao, especially employers.

How come Mr Lim still don't understand all these NS and reservist bullshit is just to make Sinkees obedient?

Hope Mr Lim seng mok a little bit. Pappies luv this type of law abiding shitizen.

@ Mr Lim Ek Kwang

If you had voted for PAP at GE2011, please don't whine now! It's your just desserts!

He can complain his case to the TAFEP (Tripartite Alliance For Fair Employment Practices) or manpower Minister Ex-Major General Tan Chuan Jin .

the 60% are defending the job thieves who are here to steal jobs, to protect them so they can steal jobs safely :rolleyes:

Hey Chumps,

WAs this Lim fellows forced to resign because of NS or because his his poor performance.m I think with or without NS, he would have been told to resign anyway.

This Lim guy should rethink where is strengths are, is it in admin, writing, analysis or operations. Not likely to be in sales.

Remember that Burger King incident? Where is Bus 64.

Hey Chumps,

WAs this Lim fellows forced to resign because of NS or because his his poor performance.m I think with or without NS, he would have been told to resign anyway.

My thoughts too...why would he resign just because his boss told him too? He had every right to stay on and draw his salary whilst serving his Reservist since SAF will pay until he is fired by the bank. By resigning, I believe he is only entitled to Rank Pay and as a LOBO, his rank pay is peanuts compared to his civilian salary.

Based on what he wrote, he didn't fulfil the 3rd rule of the guideline. His ICT was 7 days exactly, not "more than 7 days".

Perhaps that was the deal-breaker.

In any case, it was all bad luck. Strange though that he got his call-up less than a month. I had thought the norm was to notify you way in advance?

If he really had known about the call-up months ago and still made a career switch hoping to get deferment, it will just be his folly, not his bad luck.

What the F@#$@#K was he thinking when he voted?:p . Come 2015, more goodies coming his way...he will forget !! ( 2015 is SINgapore 50th Anniversary)!!

He'll probably be unemployed or a taxi driver because I don't know who will employ someone who has reservist liabilities, especially when there are so many cheap foreign talent out there :confused:

Maybe he can try to get a gov't job:p

He is an idiot to being with, He should already have the idea of playing M.C if he ever gets called up during both Good & Bad times, To don the SAF uniform is the biggest insult you can give yourself.(Who the fuck are you serving for and for what?) (I have only been to ICT 3 times before my "awakening" since i O.R.D like 6/7years ago, The amount of deferment(Work, Studies and Overseas Studies) has - those fuckers put me on M.R, but if they ever call me up... "Doc. I think I got sore-eyes, very itchy".....(After dripping some special eye solution into my eye to make it seem like i have sore-eyes) :D , I will never ever fucking Serve this country.

Maybe can get Char_Azn to take over his ICT. Next time Char_Azn cannot attend ICT, he can return favour. :D

To defend the millionaire ministers n their cronies; the FTs; other elites like Howard Shaw.... & your miserable bank account n other microscopic assets........

I find it funny that there are sinkie couples who are still desperate for wanting a son to carry on the family line,,eventhough men are severely disadvantaged by the PAP due to NS, reservists and the womens crapster,,,