• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NSF Kena Crushed Only Son of Family. Serve NS for FCUK???

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>July 6, 2009
ARMY OFFICER KILLED BY LAND ROVER
</TR><!-- headline one : start --><TR>Parents grieve sudden death of only child
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><TR>Family has questions; Mindef says incident still being investigated </TR><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Kimberly Spykerman
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
ST_IMAGES_KIMMINDEF06.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

2LT Chan was described as a 'cheeky and happy' man by his close friends. He was also known to be a 'happy-go-lucky' person.
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->HE WAS their only child. And the parents of Second Lieutenant Nicholas Chan Wei Kit, 21, are still unable to believe their son is gone after his sudden death last Friday afternoon at Seletar Camp, in which an army land rover rolled back, pinning him underneath.
A recovery vehicle was dispatched, although the Defence Ministry did not say how soon after the accident, to lift the vehicle off him. But 2LT Chan died in hospital of his injuries - a little more than an hour after he took over the vehicle.
His mother, a housewife, received a call at their flat in Bukit Batok, telling her that 'something had happened' to her son, and that he was in hospital. Together with her husband, an engineer, they rushed down. But by the time they got there, it was too late.
The family is still questioning what led to 2LT Chan's death. After all, he had been on military trips to Brunei and Taiwan, and had always returned safely.
His mother said she is still too distraught to probe much into the details of her son's death.
But one thing they want to know is whether any other military personnel were with their son at the time of the incident. The family said Mindef has told them that it cannot reveal this now as the matter is still under investigation.
What little they know is that 2LT Chan - a newly commissioned officer - was a Motor Transport Officer based in Jurong Camp. He had gone to the Seletar camp that day to collect the vehicle.
It is also not known if he was alone at the time but his mother said he could not have gone to collect the vehicle alone because he did not have a driving licence.
In between sobs, she said that her son would come back almost every night to the family home to have dinner before heading back to camp. She had been expecting him as usual last Friday evening - but he never showed up.
2LT Chan's cousins described him as a 'happy-go-lucky' and 'playful' person, with a keen eye for fashion. He had a passion for clothes, they said, and even chose to specialise in retail management as a student at Temasek Polytechnic.
Close friends also called him a 'cheeky and happy' man. Said his former Basic Military Training platoon mate Audi Khalid, 21: 'He was the life of the platoon.'
2LT Chan's best friend Jarryl Wong, a full-time national serviceman, said he placed a Beatles CD - one of 2LT Chan's favourite bands - next to his friend's body in the casket. 2LT Chan was decked out in the uniform he had worn for the officer commissioning ceremony.
'It was something he would have liked. He brought a lot of joy into my life. I'm just thankful I got to see him before he died,' said Mr Wong, 22, who met 2LT Chan for dinner the day before his death.
Last Saturday, his parents visited the site at Seletar Camp where 2LT Chan died to offer prayers.
His mother said that all she wanted now was to know what exactly happened on that fateful day.
She has not spoken to any of his army mates about the incident, though a steady stream of them have been pouring in to pay their respects at the wake.
'I'm not blaming anyone. Nick is gone already. We're just waiting for the investigations to be complete,' she said.
2LT Chan will be given a full military send-off tomorrow.
[email protected]

I have a Malaysian PR friend who told me that his whole family will move to Australia to prevent his sons from serving NS.

I heard that with joy and feel so happy for them. Now i know these family got some brains.

I love this phrase. Job for FT and NS for sinkies. That is so right. And what can sinkie do about it? There is one brave thing they will do.. bend down further. Personally i do not have the courage to do that, only a sinkie dare to do that.

Maybe sinkeis should be knighted for that.

ah_phah

".... 2LT Chan - a newly commissioned officer - was a Motor Transport Officer based in Jurong Camp. He had gone to the Seletar camp that day to collect the vehicle..."

MTO go seletart camp collect vehicle??? AssAF shortage of military drivers? MTO without military driver's license kena arrow to collect vehicle??? land rover can flip by itself? maybe AssAF need to consider purchasing more sturdier vehicles; eg: HUMVEE!

Char_Azn

This guy got into the most cho bo lan appointment for officer and he still can get himself killed. I think is what we refer to as natural selection. If nature doesnt get to him first, something else will.

Wayne Piew

If there is any consolation, the parents will at least get a folded S'pore flag for keep-sake after the funeral, to remember their son by.:(

cooleo

Did the reporter purposely include the pun intended "HAPPY-go-LUCKY" phrase? Obviously, u can't be very HAPPY or LUCKY if you die after getting pinned down by a vehicle!

All I can say is that this is very unusual. For a vehicle to roll back like that, it means that no one put the parking brake on. I am very familiar wit this type rover, driven it countless times. Even if the rover rolled on top of Lt chan, they do not need to wait for a recovery vehicle to come and rescue him. The land rover is mostly made of aluminum, other than the engine block. 4 or 5 people can easily lift the side that is crushing him, and another person can pull him out. In fact, SOP is to call an ambulance first rather than a recovery vehicle. Also, they should have a tire jack in the rover. They can use that one, plus other jacks from other vehicles in the motor pool and jack up the part of the rover that is pinning him. I know most drivers are hokkien peng, but I sure hope they were not standing around picking their nose and watching this guy die while waiting for a recovery vehicle. This whole incident is very suspicious to me, and smells. By the way, the mother might be mistaken. Lt chan may not have a civilian drivers license, but I am sure he had an SAF drivers license. So, he is authorized to drive the rover.

Conan the Barbarian

What was he defending?

My condolences to the parents. I really feel sorry for them,
having the resources to bring up only 1 kid and losing him.

SotongMee

Salute to another fallen comrade and son of Singapore. Majullah Singapura!

First time I hear an MTO kenna killed in accident suppose to be relax
appointment.

But feel sad that another freak accidents had taken a NSMan in his youth.

Salute to another fallen comrade and son of Singapore. Majullah Singapura!

First time I hear an MTO kenna killed in accident suppose to be relax
appointment.

But feel sad that another freak accidents had taken a NSMan in his youth.

Who said MTO was relax appt? So many times, the drivers assigned to my platoon and other platoons over slept and reported late for duty. We CBCB to the MTO, sometimes, the CO will also screw him over. I think the MTO is the one that initiated the most charges resulting in DB in my unit. Lagi tulan if your driver langar a civilian vehicle, more paper work and more charges. The only thing good is maybe he gets to book out every night, and no need to go on exercise.

JohnTT

I have a Malaysian PR friend who told me that his whole family will move to Australia to prevent his sons from serving NS.

I heard that with joy and feel so happy for them. Now i know these family got some brains.

True. I also heard from my PR colleagues. Happy for them :smile:, but sad for S'poreans....:(

SotongMee

This is what I refer to, not as "xiong" therefore relatively more relaxthan offizers in the operational platoons in my former NS unit.

The NSF offizers usually the fattest, most unfit, misfit and lousy offizers of their cohort and I am referring to those I met plus this as you have mentioned
is also very correctly observed "The only thing good is maybe he gets to book out every night, and no need to go on exercise"

If regular offizers kenna MTO appointments they are usually condemned.

Yes the MTO appointment is tough as you described more on a admin viewpoint. Sorry if my personal experience and obervation differs.

If without a seasoned regular MT SNCO to assist him, the monkey drivers will run cycles around the MTO making his life very difficult.
Those selected for driver vocation soldiers during my army days are ill discipline crazy and playful lot.

In the case of our poor NSF 2LT, I am not speculating but he could well been have crashed by one of his mischievous playful monkey driver from his MT Platoon or MT Coy.

No matter what is the outcome of the investigation, it is painful for his parents whom has lost the only son.

Who said MTO was relax appt? So many times, the drivers assigned to my platoon and other platoons over slept and reported late for duty. We CBCB to the MTO, sometimes, the CO will also screw him over. I think the MTO is the one that initiated the most charges resulting in DB in my unit. Lagi tulan if your driver langar a civilian vehicle, more paper work and more charges. The only thing good is maybe he gets to book out every night, and no need to go on exercise.

scoobyhoo

All I can say is that this is very unusual. For a vehicle to roll back like that, it means that no one put the parking brake on. I am very familiar wit this type rover, driven it countless times. Even if the rover rolled on top of Lt chan, they do not need to wait for a recovery vehicle to come and rescue him. The land rover is mostly made of aluminum, other than the engine block. 4 or 5 people can easily lift the side that is crushing him, and another person can pull him out. In fact, SOP is to call an ambulance first rather than a recovery vehicle. Also, they should have a tire jack in the rover. They can use that one, plus other jacks from other vehicles in the motor pool and jack up the part of the rover that is pinning him. I know most drivers are hokkien peng, but I sure hope they were not standing around picking their nose and watching this guy die while waiting for a recovery vehicle. This whole incident is very suspicious to me, and smells. By the way, the mother might be mistaken. Lt chan may not have a civilian drivers license, but I am sure he had an SAF drivers license. So, he is authorized to drive the rover.

yes, I had written in other thread that a section of soldiers can life up the Land Rover with no problems. The main thing is whether other ranks must act according to the command of commissioned officers, and they just blur there waiting for order?