• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Not many have subscribed

MarrickG

Both Telcos are probably planning how to recover their cost now...

a9.jpg

IF THE results of a quick poll of seven blocks is any indication of the take-up rate of the World Cup package, SingTel and StarHub have their work cut out for them.

With just a day to go to the World Cup, only 37 among the 625 HDB households The Straits Times visited yesterday said they had signed up for the football extravaganza on television - a take-up rate of about 6 per cent.

Those who did not sign up gave a range of reasons but the main one was a lack of interest. This was cited by over two-thirds of those who said 'no' in the poll covering four- and five-room flats in Yishun, Toa Payoh, Ang Mo Kio, Queenstown and Tampines.

A typical response was that given by accounting assistant Mandy Chu, 28, who said: 'Nobody in my family watches football so it doesn't really matter.'

The remainder cited the high price of the package and a lack of time as reasons for not subscribing. The two telcos announced an early-bird package of $70.62 for those who signed up by May 31. Subscribing to it now would cost $94.16.

The amounts are a stark contrast to the $10.50 StarHub charged its subscribers for its early-bird World Cup package in 2006. Several of the people who were interviewed highlighted this yesterday.

Wow, thats a good news, LOL :D:D
They are fucked, hehehe :D:D

The amounts are a stark contrast to the $10.50 StarHub charged its subscribers for its early-bird World Cup package in 2006.

Wow in four years it can jump 900%

we wonder if our pay really do go up that much .

Ok maybe does our home up that much in value in 4 years ?

Screw you Singtel and Starhub . Well done Singaporeans .

Continue to boycott .
Keep up the good work .

Hahhahaah Brilliant!!! Well done Sporeans!!!! Edward "GayFuck" Ying & his SHitHub comrade can continue to suck each others cocks.

Why is CASE and CCS allowing this price-fixing ? Unfder normal competitive environment, in order to fight for customers, one of the telco may lower the price to attract more subscribers. Each one gained is a lesser lost to them. The telco that refused to lower price gets screwed.

Isn't this anti-competition to screw the local viewers the same way os petrol station forming a cartel to set market price ?

Only in Singapore that competition increase price and the consumers gets screwed everytime withot failed, either or whichever way.

:oIo:

Why is CASE and CCS allowing this price-fixing ? Unfder normal competitive environment, in order to fight for customers, one of the telco may lower the price to attract more subscribers. Each one gained is a lesser lost to them. The telco that refused to lower price gets screwed.

Who dare to question when one chairman is son , the other is someone 's wifey.

CASE might just ask you to subscribe first while they look into the matter. After world cup over, they will reply to say they found no eveidence of price fixing.

keynote : We thank MarrickG for his excellent reference materials .
Isn't this anti-competition to screw the local viewers the
same way os petrol station forming a cartel to set market price ?

No it doesn't , we just ignore it all together .

We end up with more quality time with family .

CASE might just ask you to subscribe first while they look into the matter. After world cup over, they will reply to say they found no eveidence of price fixing.

You have to be a member of CASE before they'll even consider your complaint.

So don't forget to bring $ when you go down to complain :)

let them BASTARDS lose money.

Do not sign up. For go this WC 2010
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

37 among the 625 HDB households...ish...so disappointing...2 out of 625 will b ideal...am i being not realistic...:confused::D:p

Actually should let the both Telco fight for the bid untill reach $100m as the asking price by FIFA. Let them both suffer heavy losses.

Lets not pop the champagne yet. Being duopoly with the same bloodline, they can easily recoup whatever losses from this WC by upping charges to their other services like internet, residential line, mobile plan..etc

Wow in four years it can jump 900%

we wonder if our pay really do go up that much .

Ok maybe does our home up that much in value in 4 years ?

Screw you Singtel and Starhub . Well done Singaporeans .

Continue to boycott .
Keep up the good work .

Your pay will inversely decrease as the pay for the government increases..while their jump 900% yours will go down by 900 +100% bonus, and please do not become beggars, for it will embarass Vivien...:p

Some may just cannot tahan and apply halfway through the WC.

Not likely la.

When get to semi-final and Final, there will be free broadcast by mediacorpse mah. It is even not worth it to subscribe by then. Might as well go MacDonald to watch over a burger/coke.

Lets not pop the champagne yet. Being duopoly with the same bloodline, they can easily recoup whatever losses from this WC by upping charges to their other services like internet, residential line, mobile plan..etc

You are absolutely right .

Actually we havent factor the commercial site and the kopitiam subscribers yet, so their losses might not be as big as we think.

Go to www.justin.tv

This is a live streaming site where I watch snooker matches and other sports 'LIVE'. I am definitely sure some members will be uploading the matches live.

I applaud the people of Singapore for standing up to these greedy organizations. Even if I do not have these alternatives, I refuse to succumb to their greed. Let them bleed for their greed.