• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

noordin sacked the whole national team except himself....

BusNo64

no use lah noordin....u shld also sack urself lah....since u all take over, singapore soccer has been going downhill....u bring in foreign trash so how now? State of soccer disappinting? if u wanto knoe the real problem, just look into the mirror lah....wtf...want to select players from "ground zero"?...pls lah...we will still end up with the same old players again becos they are the best of the worse liao...so donch wayang becos election is coming....just follow table tennis and import all `100% foreign trash lah...and then ur master old fart will be veri please with u lah.... :oIo:

Football: Singapore national team set for major revamp

SINGAPORE: Singapore's national football players have been dropped from the team following a year of dismal performances. This is according to the President of Singapore's Football Association, Zainuddin Nordin.

In the last 12 months, the national team failed to qualify for the last 16 of the Asian Cup and the Lions also failed to advance beyond the group stage of the recent Suzuki Cup.

In an interview this morning, Mr Zainudin said, the state of football in Singapore is disappointing.

"What we have done, is that we have analyse the reports and what has happened in 2010 and realise that for the good of football, I think, we have a major revamp of the national team. What is going to happen is that we are going to have a new slate of players that means players that will be totally taken from ground zero.

"That means all the players will be dropped and the national coach and the technical team will do a selection based on merit.. From all the assessments, we believe this is the best thing to do for the good of the future of Singapore football."

Mr Zainudin also called for patience from fans.

"We must also be able to accept that for such a development to happen, it will take time. And this is the thing we need to understand because developments and strategies that need to be done with the young players will require time and opportunities for them to develop."

That means all the players will be dropped and the national coach and the technical team will do a selection based on merit.. From all the assessments, we believe this is the best thing to do for the good of the future of Singapore football."

That means previous selection wasn't based on merit. :eek:

Most of them seem to have their pet projects these days.
Ping pong, football, plays, filial piety, pavement cycling, marathons, and what have you.
What will they think of next?

Most of them seem to have their pet projects these days.
Ping pong, football, plays, filial piety, pavement cycling, marathons, and what have you.
What will they think of next?

Even those without pet projects are tai chi experts :smile:

cooleo

A decent human being would have fired himself. But no, we have a retard who wish to fire others

Even those without pet projects are tai chi experts :smile:
For some of them, taichi is their pet project.
Oh, I just thought of another pet project, parroting ministar's comments and making motherhood statements.
This one, a lot of them in charge and all vying for the top post. :biggrin:

Rimururu

The Singapore team failed because it has focused too much on short-term success by importing foreigners. The whole government of SG is short-sighted. We did win the Tiger Cup in 2005 but after that, there was no silverware. Local talents will still triumph over foreign talents as they have pride in the nation. They are no mercenaries.

Believing in our own boys pay off for all countries. Initially, Malaysia did badly as their own boys are not experienced yet. But now their faith has paid off as the boys helped them lift the cup.

Talent + Patriotism = True Success

Personally, I have seen some local heartland players who can play better than our local foreign-imported team. But most likely, FAS did little to groom talent but prefer foreigners. Egmar Gonclaves issue has not fully woke them up.

Timeline: Football Association chairmen

With David Bernstein set to assume the role of Football Association

chairman, Telegraph Sport looks back at his 13 predecessors.

That's an interesting point actually.
IMO, the president of a football association or even the coach or manager of a national or top club football team should be a former respected player or coach himself.

Just looking at the Barclay's Premier League, all the good teams have either a respected manager or a former player managing the team.

As for manager or coach of SG national team, there are plenty of local candidates. How about people like Fandi, Aide Iskandar, Subramani, Kadir, etc?

As for president of FAS, how about Kim Song, Seak Poh Leong, or perhaps Sasikumar?

Get local people who know the game and are respected in the game to do the coaching and the management, and they in turn recruit and develop local talent. That's a career path and a mini economy in itself.

Debonerman

Don't you guys worry. The Sports School in Woodlands will churn out our future soccer greats. Just make sure the food caterers don't kill them.

And don't look to Mah Bow Tan for encouragement. He built three blocks of flats on the field which grand old man Majid Ariff used to train young boys on the game. Now I see a few kids playing on concrete pathways between HDB blocks.

As for president of FAS, how about Kim Song, Seak Poh Leong, or perhaps Sasikumar?

Kim Song was an FAS Director. When even someone as passionate about the game and the country like him threw in the towel and resigned, the writing was on the wall.