• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Non-Stop Singing of "Decisiveness" of Useless Budget by Ah Long

Subliminal message: If u're still jobless and hungry, it's your own fault?

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Jan 27, 2009
</TR><!-- headline one : start --><TR>A 'very decisive' Budget <!--10 min-->
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Zakir Hussain, Correspondent
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
pmlee-adwinkoo.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

On whether the Government would have to again dip into the reserves for further stimulus, PM Lee described this as a 'hypothetical' situation, and said it was still premature to tell if it would be needed. -- ST PHOTO: EDWIN KOO
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"-->
PRIME Minister Lee Hsien Loong has described the $20.5 billion Resilience Package as a 'very decisive Budget' that aims to help see Singaporeans through the difficult economic times ahead.
'We know that things are going to be tough. And the Budget is crafted with this scenario in mind, knowing that we are going to have a tough time, and not expecting (things) suddenly to turn around just because we've had the Budget,' he said on Monday.
PM Lee was speaking to reporters after visiting the Tuas plant of pharmaceutical giant GlaxoSmithKline to distribute hongbao and thank those working on the first day of the Chinese New Year, something he has done every year.
The visit came days after the Government announced the $20.5 billion stimulus package to save jobs and cut costs as Singapore braces itself for its worst recession since independence, with the economy forecast to shrink by 2 to 5 per cent.
The Government sought and obtained in-principle approval from the President to draw $4.9 billion from the reserves to fund two special growth boosters: a Jobs Credit scheme to subsidise part of Singaporean workers' wage bills, and an initiative to help share the risks of viable businesses that get loans.
The Budget is also projected to be in deficit by $8.7 billion.
Asked whether there were further off-budget measures planned to boost the economy this year, PM Lee said it was too early to tell.
'We take it one step at a time,' he said.
'We've taken some time to put together this Budget. We had a few months since September when the American financial system started going visibly and seriously out of kilter, and we spent the last few months assessing the situation, deciding what best will fit our circumstances, what the economy needs most.'
He added that the Government would have to watch how things go in America and Europe over the next six to nine months, and said it was assessing the situation 'constantly and very carefully. So if we need to do more, we can do more'.
'But we would prefer to make a decisive move and then monitor for some time, which is what we have done with this Budget, rather than do a little bit and then after a while do a little bit more,' he explained.
'This way, there's an impact. So everybody knows where we stand.'
Noting that reactions to last Thursday's Budget included reports that some households wished they had received more help, he said that the cash they would get was 'not a small amount.'
'We've doubled the GST offsets, we've got 50 per cent more on Workfare and it all comes to $20 billion for the whole package. So let's see how things go over the next few months,' he said.
As for comments that the new Jobs Credit scheme favoured employers, PM Lee said that in helping companies to cut costs, the Government was helping workers keep their jobs.
On whether the Government would have to again dip into the reserves for further stimulus, he described this as a 'hypothetical' situation, and said it was still premature to tell if it would be needed.
Mr Lee said that the move to tap the reserves was 'a signal to Singaporeans that we are attacking this problem with all of the weapons at our disposal and I think that's a strong signal'.
'Having done this, let's give it some time before we reassess the situation.'
He also gave the reassurance that the Government has ample reserves and would use them prudently, and that he himself was glad that some Singaporeans were concerned about the move to dip into the reserves.
This showed that they understood that the reserves should not be spent frivolously, he said, adding that it should be used in critical times for major policies.
PM Lee was cheered that unionists and workers felt that with Jobs Credit and Spur - the Skills Programme for Upgrading and Resilience to foot a large share of the pay of workers undergoing training - Singapore could distinguish itself from other countries and maintain a cordial relationship between employers, unions and Government.
'So we deal with this problem as one team. You have to do that,' he said.
'It's always tough with a storm and amidst the sound and fury of a storm, but we've gone through many of these before,' he added.
'Well, this is a bigger one, but it's not our first battle. Let's fight it together.'
He also expressed his hope that employers who have been planning to lay off staff after the Chinese New Year period would think again about such a move.
Mr Lee noted that there were factories with retrenchments in the pipeline, and urged bosses to consider not just the immediate future but to take a longer-term perspective, now that the Government has announced various schemes to trim wage costs.
This includes the $4.5 billion Jobs Credit scheme, and the Spur programme that was launched in December.
'There are many other things that you can do before you come to make the decision that you have to downsize,' he said.
PM Lee noted that unions were talking to employers to deal with the problem, and that layoffs were an issue 'we can all deal with together'.
'Having said that, there will still be some retrenchments and we will see how the year goes,' he added.
'It depends very much on the overall state of the economy and the important thing is that we try and save as many jobs as possible.' Mr Lee was accompanied on the visit to GlaxoSmithKline by labour chief Lim Swee Say and key unionists.

batman1

Self-praise is no praise. The arse-licking media interview only the MIW Elites. Did they interview the jobless ????? They are still dreaming and monitoring the situation. Maybe when Sinkeeland go down the drain then only they will wake up.

mscitw

The only group that benefits are the merchants, local and foreign.

Some goodies were reserved to well paid lackeys and cronies in the form of income tax rebates so that more of them can pay for ego trips to work as part time kitchen help e.g. PS Tan.

funglung

But it is all your fault.

YOU KNOW HOW SELF SERVING AND VICIOUS LKY IS

YET SINKIES DID NOT HAVE THE BALLS TO STAND UP FOR THOSE WHO SPOKE FOR THEM

SINKIES WENT ON TO VOTE AND VOTE LKY AND PAP IN

SINKIES GOT WHAT THEY FUCKING DESERVED.

TO BE SCREWED AND SCREWED BY LKY AND HIS FAMILY AND CRONIES ALL OUT
TO SCREW YOU AND ENRICH THEMSELVES

The_Latest_H

If one can be considered to be "decisive" after his father said a day before that Singapore has to save jobs, then go ahead and declare that as such then.

And see if people will laugh along with you or not.

besotted

The reduction to business costs, in terms of payroll subsidy, tax cut and spur subsidy is massive

I will be scolded in this forum for sure, but i am speaking from a business' viewpoint, most here are from worker or student's viewpoint

exSINgaporean

More jobless the better ! Less powerful people. So you all can work for $3.00 an hour.[/QUO

Singaporeans receive less than 2% from their state pension?

In the Reuters July 11, 2006 it reported clearly that for the FIRST TIME, Chairman of the GIC, the right Honourable LEE Kuan Yew disclosed that the GIC had achieved an average annual return of 8.2% in Singapore dollars term for the past 25 years (yes TWENTY FIVE YEARS you got it and it is 8.2% NOT less than 2%).

It simply cannot be correct that SINgaPOOReans are just receiving less than 2%...it MUST be near to 8.2% as reported by the Right Honourable Lee Kuan Yew.

Honourable Lee will not hold back the money as he knows, being a honourable gentleman, that the money and the gains below to the people. So he cannot hold back.

Can someone call LEE KUAN YEW, his sissy son, HOLE JINX sue the reporter for giving false info.

If they don't sue then this "below 2% return to the people" is correct. So it is up to the people to have a class action against the PAP. Sue Lee Kuan Yew for keeping the 6.5% difference. Where did the difference go to?

For just an average of $10,000 CPF annual contribution per year per person at 6.5%, LEE Kuan Yew is sucking on that person $588,877 for the past 25 years! Well multiply it by say 250,000 Singaporeans who contribute this amount, it is equal to ...well too much for my financial calculator to show clearly.

So let's round it up to $500,000 It works out to be $125 billion. No wounder I read few years ago that Lee Kai Seng in Hong Kong said the richest man in the world is in Singapore...sorry please double check this info and all my the rest of my report bec. I am subject to Errors and Obmissions. I am not LEE Kuan Yew...I can be wrong. Please prove me wrong! Please.

If Lee Kuan Yew does not prove me wrong, then I assume I am right. Even if I lie then by repeating my lies on this website long and often enough it will perceived to be true. "Perception" is just like real.

LEE KUAN YEW please please prove me wrong and I will unreservingly apologize IF I am wrong.

"When the water subsides, the rock will surface" Chinese Proverb.

"Disclosing the state-controlled fund's performance for the first time on Tuesday, its Chairman Lee Kuan Yew said GIC had achieved an average return of 9.5 percent annually over the last 25 years in US dollar terms.

Speaking at a dinner to mark GIC's anniversary, Lee, Singapore's founding father and former prime minister, said in Singapore dollar terms the average annual rate of return was 8.2 percent. The return over global inflation was 5.3 percent a year."

Sing a song, make it simple...sing out LONG!...We will be hearing the same song, same lyrics sung by different singers, different styles in four offical languages & more!.

It is a boring song...unless one is deaf & blind...there is no escaping, so enjoy...

congo9

The reduction to business costs, in terms of payroll subsidy, tax cut and spur subsidy is massive

I will be scolded in this forum for sure, but i am speaking from a business' viewpoint, most here are from worker or student's viewpoint

Reduction of cost of living is just the tip of ice berg, Singapore has price itself out. Citizen is bleeding from nono stop sucking blood from the goverment, which the ppl ironically supported.

What is a S$20 billion budget when we can lose over 90% of our investment in just a few months ???? Yes , it is huge,gigantic and unprecented. But there no need for SIngapore papers to POR LUM PA till LHL head swell. Decisiive my big fat toe ........it time to lower the cost of doing business and the overall living standard , and may be the quality of life will be better !

commoner

It's almost in every budget that brought out these comments:

Ministers: "bold, decisive and business oriented"

MPs : "BOLD, Decisive, and impeccable, perfect budget solution all the time, cannot do any better, far beyond my greatest sexual experience.

Oppositions: "not enough to help the poor households"

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOiiiiiiiiiii Can have something bold and decisive comments or not? Na Bei

Reduction of cost of living is just the tip of ice berg, Singapore has price itself out. Citizen is bleeding from nono stop sucking blood from the goverment, which the ppl ironically supported.

What is a S$20 billion budget when we can lose over 90% of our investment in just a few months ???? Yes , it is huge,gigantic and unprecented. But there no need for SIngapore papers to POR LUM PA till LHL head swell. Decisiive my big fat toe ........it time to lower the cost of doing business and the overall living standard , and may be the quality of life will be better !

Business is just part of the overall formula of running the country, they have to take into account the other folks as well, workers too.

They only know how to beg MNC to come invest in sinkieland and if MNC dun come, they suck their own balls or order sinkies to lick them.

What happen to human resources, i thought that is the most precious things in sinkieland. no?

Effort should be channel on developing the people into quality first world individual with high intelligence and creativity and not turn them to some dumbfuck, 10 year series sinkies. Plus lower the cost in all areas, they can start by GST.

Let the people play a more active role in the building of economy rather than some lord trying to control everything and do some intelligent-insulting talks as though pple are stupid.

Self-praise is no praise. The arse-licking media interview only the MIW Elites. Did they interview the jobless ????? They are still dreaming and monitoring the situation. Maybe when Sinkeeland go down the drain then only they will wake up.
They will only wake up if they are voted out at the polls.

Frankiestine

If it is "DECISIVE" then it should work...no excuse for the "BUTs" and "IFs" in the event the economy doesn't turn round..

Frankiestine

then all the more you should be hiring local staffs since the payroll subsidy is meant for employers with singaporean employees...