• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

No Minimum Wage ; No Need Poverty Line – Huat Ah Sinkies always above both lines ah

Singapore is a very unique country indeed as there is no need here for minimum wage and also no need to set a poverty line. Why? Could be all sinkies will be above the poverty line earning above minimum wage?

Huat Ah sinkies all so lucky ah!

259023100e.jpg

Setting a poverty line may not be helpful: Minister
Broader definition of poverty reflects better the complexity of issues
Published on Oct 23, 2013 6:39 AM
By Robin Chan Political Correspondent

Singapore is not considering having an official poverty line, as it would not fully reflect the severity and complexity of issues faced by the poor, and may also lead to those above the line missing out on assistance.

Minister for Social and Family Development Chan Chun Sing made these points on Monday, amid renewed calls for Singapore to look into having one after Hong Kong set an official poverty line last month.

In a written parliamentary reply, he said the Government's approach is to use broad definitions for the groups it seeks to help, set clear criteria to identify and assess those in need, and come up with tailored schemes.

"If we use a single poverty line to assess the family, we also risk a 'cliff effect', where those below the poverty line receive all forms of assistance, while other genuinely needy citizens outside the poverty line are excluded," he said.

They were the Government's first comments on the issue since Hong Kong's policy change on Sept 30.

Mr Chan said a poverty line would also miss out other issues that poor families face. These include ill health, lack of housing and weak family relationships.

Replying to questions by Non-Constituency MP Yee Jenn Jong and Nominated MP Laurence Lien, Mr Chan said Singapore's assessment process for providing help to those in need is "rigorous but also flexible" to cater to the genuinely needy.

This means that those who do not meet certain criteria in help programmes are also able to receive assistance.

The Government also conducts regular reviews to ensure that ComCare assistance remains relevant to the low-income and vulnerable, he said.

ComCare is social assistance provided to low-income families.

Mr Chan said different nations tailor their methods to identify and help their needy according to their circumstances, and other developed ones such as New Zealand and Canada also do not subscribe to official poverty lines.

Hong Kong set its poverty line at half the median household income level according to household size, with about 1.3 million, or a fifth of its population, living under it. So the poverty line for a four-person household is HK$14,300 (S$2,300).

Like Singapore, Hong Kong is grappling with high levels of income inequality. Its Gini co-efficient, a commonly-used measure of income inequality, is 0.53, compared with Singapore's 0.47. The closer the number is to 1, the higher the inequality.

Mr Yee also asked what the Government's internal measure of neediness was when it distributed N95 masks to 200,000 needy households in June during the haze.

Mr Chan said that the one million masks were given to households with a per-capita income below $900.

Their income was verified through their membership in the Community Health Assist Scheme Blue Scheme or by self-declaration of income at the community clubs.

Re: No Minimum Wage ; No Need Poverty Line – Huat Ah Sinkies always above both lines

Once a poverty line is set, it becomes open season for the useless layabouts of society to con their way into becoming "officially poor" so they qualify for benefits.

The PAP is smart enough not to draw a line in the sand when it comes to defining poverty. To do so would be a big mistake.

Re: No Minimum Wage ; No Need Poverty Line – Huat Ah Sinkies always above both lines

Once a poverty line is set, it becomes open season for the useless layabouts of society to con their way into becoming "officially poor" so they qualify for benefits.

The PAP is smart enough not to draw a line in the sand when it comes to defining poverty. To do so would be a big mistake.

Knew you will come in quick.

Nonsense, PAP is so good at setting various criteria such as:
1) Household income 10,000 and below are allowed to buy HDB (Previously it was 8,000)

2) Household income 12,000 and below are allowed to buy EC (previously it was 10,000)

setting this kind of criteria is much complex than proverty line criteria.

Mr Tan forgets that many Singaporeans have some basic thinking and have logical thinking and they will not accept this kind of explanation. We are no longer in the 50s whereby only Lee and his cronies were educated in England. Nowadays many people are well educated and even the taxi driver got PhD. People will never believe Mr Tan smoke screen

If you use same criteria as hong Kong, we have 15% below poverty line

that's just lazy thinking. i expect a lot more from our highest-paid-in-world-standard government.

there are so many ways around the cliff problem - bands of income is one way. linking help to attempts to find work. etc etc. i am paid zero and instead have to pay to support this forum.

the definition of poverty sets the SAFETY NET for all of society.

i demand more emoticons if you want to hear more :oIo:

When it comes to responsibilities, they draw a line. :oIo::kma:

Nonsense, PAP is so good at setting various criteria such as:
1) Household income 10,000 and below are allowed to buy HDB (Previously it was 8,000)

The criteria has been manipulated and circumvented since day one. In fact I put my hand up as one of the culprits. I waited till I was unemployed for 9 days between jobs to make a statutory declaration that the combined income of my family was less than $1800 which was the limit at the time.

the issue is enforcement then. why deny the majority because of the minority?

"If we use a single poverty line to assess the family, we also risk a 'cliff effect', where those below the poverty line receive all forms of assistance, while other genuinely needy citizens outside the poverty line are excluded," he said.

What cliff effect? He is paid millions and don't know how to use a sliding scale of subsidy amount base on the poverty line? He should learn from USA government before giving such filmsy reason to oppose the poverty line.

http://retiredsyd.typepad.com/
"The subsidies work on kind of a sliding scale. For example, if you make up to 133% of the FPL, the theory is that you shouldn’t have to spend more than 2% of your income on health insurance premiums. At 400% of the FPL, that threshold increases to 9.5% of your income."

FPL = federal poverty level

rigorous thought did not go into the matter. it was dismissed off hand.

What cliff effect? He is paid millions and don't know how to use a sliding scale of subsidy amount base on the poverty line? He should learn from USA government before giving such filmsy reason to oppose the poverty line.

http://retiredsyd.typepad.com/
"The subsidies work on kind of a sliding scale. For example, if you make up to 133% of the FPL, the theory is that you shouldn’t have to spend more than 2% of your income on health insurance premiums. At 400% of the FPL, that threshold increases to 9.5% of your income."

When it comes to responsibilities, they draw a line. :oIo::kma:

And when it comes to their own ACCOUNTABILITY.

THEY TOO DRAW A LINE FOR THEMSELVES.

DEMOSTRATED FULLY WITHOUT DOUBT AS THE FIRST GUY TO DO SO ..

WONG CAN'T SING!

Kee Chiu tries to put block Pandora Box opening on poverty line

The real catastrophe the Mad-dog General is trying to sweep under the carpet is the Pandora's Box that will be opened. Hong Kong's government-appointed Commission on Poverty has set its first poverty line at half of the median monthly household income. By doing so, it is boldly confronting the problems of wealth gap, labour disquiet, housing affordability and myriad problems that come about when the rich have too much, while the poor are ignored. Politicians may tell you different, money is a zero sum game. The MG does not have the cajones to face facts like the top 1% in Singapore has an annual salary that is more than 58 times that of the bottom 3.4%.

- http://singaporedesk.blogspot.sg/2013/10/no-poverty-line-please-we-are.html

Re: Kee Chiu tries to put block Pandora Box opening on poverty line

Has anyone discovered the false assumptions in Kee Chiu's arguments for LEEgime not wanting to set the poverty line?

Re: Kee Chiu tries to put block Pandora Box opening on poverty line

Has anyone discovered the false assumptions in Kee Chiu's arguments for LEEgime not wanting to set the poverty line?

denying that poverty is a problem will make the issue worse

529201_10151912254464701_581342054_n.jpg

THE POOR IN SPORE...

the issue is enforcement then. why deny the majority because of the minority?

What enforcement? I made a statutory declaration that was absolutely true at the time that I made it.

There are no poor in Singapore. There are those who may not be earning much money but they can hardly be classified as poor as they have all the basic comforts of life... food, water, clothing and shelter of some sort.

Many of the so called poor have TVs and own mobile phones too.

rigorous thought did not go into the matter. it was dismissed off hand.

It has been dismissed because it's a stupid idea which should never be allowed to see the light of day.

THE POOR IN SPORE...

He has a bed, a roof over his head and food to eat. What more do these people expect?.... gold plated taps?