• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NKF investment income dropped from $3m to $80K

fixncc

Please see article below. How can investment income dip 97% from $3m to only $80K with a reserve of $270m? This is ridiculous!

The only way this could have happened is NKF must have bought some high risk investments and got burned. (maybe subprime stuff?)

If one invests in blue chips with $270m of capital, surely dividends would alone be more than $80K! Don't tell me there is another Cowboy Durai sitting on the board. Donations are from the public and this is totally unacceptable. The 80K amount is not even sufficient to cover inflation!

Majority of the investment should have been held in soverign bonds or bank deposits and this would not have happened.

Looks like NKF is still in as deep a sh*t as before when most people would have thought otherwise. I was dumbfounded when I read the article.

What I don't like is journalists who write things using their arses to do the thinking. No one could have missed the ridiculous $80K investment kachang income and any journalist who is truly serving public interest here would have probed into this.

Instead, the journalist wrote the article in a way to appeal for more donations. Look at the title of the article! I hate to see people getting conned into donating to NKF without knowing how NKF mishandled $270m of public donations. Please spread the word that NKF is still as screwed up as before.

NKF S$900,000 in the red - its first deficit in 10 years
By Lynda Hong, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 17 November 2009 2122 hrs

SINGAPORE: For the first time in a decade, the National Kidney Foundation (NKF) is in the red. In its latest fiscal year ending June 2009, NKF had a deficit of S$900,000.

The lack of donations and a dip in investment income were cited as reasons for the deficit.

S$18.5 million were received in donations, a 26 per cent or S$6.5 million drop from the previous fiscal year. Investment income dipped by 97.5 per cent from S$3 million to S$80,000.

NKF hopes donors will return with the end of the recession and will nurture existing donors. Every year, NKF has a net increase of about 150 patients.

Expenses rose as the number of patients increased by 7.3 per cent to hit 2,574. Subsidies and assistance also rose by 9.4 per cent to S$22.3 million.

For this financial year, the organisation is setting aside S$24.5 million for assistance aid and subsidies.

Its reserves currently stands at S$270 million. NKF said it is able to cope and will use the surplus from the previous years to tide over the deficit.

Despite the deficit, NKF is still planning to build a new dialysis centre in Jurong. - CNA/vm

theblackhole

singaporeans now too poor to donate to any charity liao...renci coming...i don't knowwhat will happen with the monk sentenced to jail....any guess.

Meteor77

mingyi3.jpg

MYFS.jpg

Only seat 6-7 months i am out to spend those monies i tuck away with my lovely daring Raymond. We will be going to aussie to i-gallop and stay at St Regis

SotongMee

For S$270million reserve, a $3million per annum gain is way too LOW, only 1. 1%.

How and where did NKF invested the hugh reserve? Savings account for interest?

Please see article below. How can investment income dip 97% from $3m to only $80K with a reserve of $270m? This is ridiculous!

The only way this could have happened is NKF must have bought some high risk investments and got burned. (maybe subprime stuff?)

If one invests in blue chips with $270m of capital, surely dividends would alone be more than $80K! Don't tell me there is another Cowboy Durai sitting on the board. Donations are from the public and this is totally unacceptable. The 80K amount is not even sufficient to cover inflation!

Majority of the investment should have been held in soverign bonds or bank deposits and this would not have happened.

Looks like NKF is still in as deep a sh*t as before when most people would have thought otherwise. I was dumbfounded when I read the article.

What I don't like is journalists who write things using their arses to do the thinking. No one could have missed the ridiculous $80K investment kachang income and any journalist who is truly serving public interest here would have probed into this.

Instead, the journalist wrote the article in a way to appeal for more donations. Look at the title of the article! I hate to see people getting conned into donating to NKF without knowing how NKF mishandled $270m of public donations. Please spread the word that NKF is still as screwed up as before.

NKF S$900,000 in the red - its first deficit in 10 years
By Lynda Hong, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 17 November 2009 2122 hrs

SINGAPORE: For the first time in a decade, the National Kidney Foundation (NKF) is in the red. In its latest fiscal year ending June 2009, NKF had a deficit of S$900,000.

The lack of donations and a dip in investment income were cited as reasons for the deficit.

S$18.5 million were received in donations, a 26 per cent or S$6.5 million drop from the previous fiscal year. Investment income dipped by 97.5 per cent from S$3 million to S$80,000.

NKF hopes donors will return with the end of the recession and will nurture existing donors. Every year, NKF has a net increase of about 150 patients.

Expenses rose as the number of patients increased by 7.3 per cent to hit 2,574. Subsidies and assistance also rose by 9.4 per cent to S$22.3 million.

For this financial year, the organisation is setting aside S$24.5 million for assistance aid and subsidies.

Its reserves currently stands at S$270 million. NKF said it is able to cope and will use the surplus from the previous years to tide over the deficit.

Despite the deficit, NKF is still planning to build a new dialysis centre in Jurong. - CNA/vm

This is indeed the problem with S'pore in general. There is a total disconnect between risk and reward and a fundamental understanding of investment. You are right, NKF should have been totally invested in conservative income generating financial instruments. eg. AAA rated bonds, govt. issued debts, preferred shares from strong companies with good track record of dividends, etc. On a base $270 million in reserves, they should have been earning at least 3% return or $81 million. Not a paltry $80,000. And also, if you analyse this statement, they say that they earned $3 million the previous year. Assuming their reserve was only $250 million last year, than $3 million is a ridiculous $1.2 million. WTF? If they had income earning to their potential of $81 million, they would not have to subsidize their patients with a lousy $8,000 a year. They can pay for their whole treatment.

U can see that many thing in S'pore are run along the same lines. Our national reserves, touted by every fucked up PAP elite as a rainy day fund, to be protected and preserved at all expense is fritted away by Temasek and GICV on high risk, speculative companies in suspect sectors. Similarly, they should have been invested conservatively.

Our own retirement fund is channeled towards real estate in the form of our HDB flats. CPF is to be used for retirement purposes only, not to cover every day expenses like rent for the roof over our heads. People don't seem to understand this concept.

This is indeed the problem with S'pore in general. There is a total disconnect between risk and reward and a fundamental understanding of investment. You are right, NKF should have been totally invested in conservative income generating financial instruments. eg. AAA rated bonds, govt. issued debts, preferred shares from strong companies with good track record of dividends, etc. On a base $270 million in reserves, they should have been earning at least 3% return or $81 million. Not a paltry $80,000. And also, if you analyse this statement, they say that they earned $3 million the previous year. Assuming their reserve was only $250 million last year, than $3 million is a ridiculous $1.2 million. WTF? If they had income earning to their potential of $81 million, they would not have to subsidize their patients with a lousy $8,000 a year. They can pay for their whole treatment.

wau lau ooi..

3% on 270million is 8.1m lah..

not 81million..