• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New Zealand preparing to end lockdown after success in coronavirus battle | Metro News

SBFNews

New Zealand preparing to end lockdown after success in coronavirus battle | Metro News

[IMG]

New Zealand’s Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern says the country is ‘turning a corner’ in the battle against coronavirus after recording the lowest number of new cases in three weeks. She praised residents for mounting a ‘wall of defence’ which is ‘breaking the chain of transmission’ following the swift implementation of lockdown measures. The country has recorded 992 confirmed cases of Covid-19 with just one death so far. Health officials said there were 29 new cases on Thursday, the fourth successive daily drop since 89 were recorded on Sunday and the latest sign of a flattening of the curve. Ms Ardern suggested the four-week lockdown could be softened in just over a weeks’ time, allowing some to return to work if social distancing rules can be maintained.

[IMG]

[IMG]

The PM said New Zealanders’ strict adherence to the rules during the four-week lockdown had ‘saved lives’. She added: ‘At the halfway mark I have no hesitation in saying, that what New Zealanders have done over the last two weeks is huge. ‘In the face of the greatest threat to human health we have seen in over a century, Kiwis have quietly and collectively implemented a nationwide wall of defence. ‘You are breaking the chain of transmission. And you did it for each other.’

[IMG]

But she cautioned against taking a foot off the pedal, adding: ‘We have what we need to win this marathon. You have stayed calm, you’ve been strong, you’ve saved lives, and now we need to keep going.’ Ms Ardern said the government will decide on April 20 whether to relax or extend lockdown measures, which are currently due to expire on April 22. New Zealand confirmed its first case on February 26. But it began testing more than a month before, on January 22.

[IMG]

All new arrivals into the country were ordered into quarantine as early as March 14 and cruise ships were banned. Within days all non-residents and non-citizens were banned from entering the country altogether. Ms Ardern has now ruled that citizens returning home will now spend 14 days in an ‘approved facility’.

[IMG]

By contrast, the UK is still not carrying out health or temperature checks on people arriving from overseas, including from hotspots like Italy and China previously. New Zealand’s lockdown was imposed when the country had 363 confirmed cases. The UK’s came into effect when there were 6,650.

It's really an unfair comparison because on a similar land area the UK has 70 MILLION whereas NZ has 5 MILLION which is less than Singapore's population.

On an average day in the country's largest city I am 2 metres away from others most of the time anyway. In the South Island you could drive for miles and see absolutely nobody for hours while driving past 50 million sheep.

The only time I am in close contact with someone is when I have sex with the multitude of lovely whores that are available in this beautiful country.

PS: There are also no clusterfuck dormitories of foreign workers like they have in Singapore.

It's really an unfair comparison because on a similar land area the UK has 70 MILLION whereas NZ has 5 MILLION which is less than Singapore's population.

On an average day in the country's largest city I am 2 metres away from others most of the time anyway. In the South Island you could drive for miles and see absolutely nobody for hours while driving past 50 million sheep.

The only time I am in close contact with someone is when I have sex with the multitude of lovely whores that are available in this beautiful country.
I say same same too lor. Your beloved Pinky called Jac yesterday for advice you know!

PS: There are also no clusterfuck dormitories of foreign workers like they have in Singapore.

LOL!

Man @Leongsam looks like NZ strategy of flattening the curve was to run out of tests for covid19.

No tests means no cases! All deaths are thus cardiorespiratory failure or AMI or Pneumonia. No covid19

I guess that is another way to do it eh? Costs no money. Literally.

One of the lessons we can learn from all this is that it is not a good idea to pack your country full of people.

Singapore's ideal population should be around 1.25 million. That's what it was when I was a kid and I loved the place. With 1.25 million social distancing should the next pandemic occur will be a lot easier.

The lockdown in NZ was easy. I have so much space anyway even though I am in Auckland.

LOL!

Man @Leongsam looks like NZ strategy of flattening the curve was to run out of tests for covid19.

No tests means no cases! All deaths are thus cardiorespiratory failure or AMI or Pneumonia. No covid19

I guess that is another way to do it eh? Costs no money. Literally.

That's a separate issue. They ran out of nasal swabs so they replaced it with throat swabs which are highly unreliable. I have no idea what the real numbers are but it really does not matter because Covid-19 is no worse than flu.

NZ solid!

Masterstroke to manage the media

NZ solid!

Masterstroke to manage the media

This country is quite easy to manage. It can run with no government at all for months and nothing changes. In some ways it runs better because there are no politicians available to mess up the status quo.

One of the lessons we can learn from all this is that it is not a good idea to pack your country full of people.

Singapore's ideal population should be around 1.25 million. That's what it was when I was a kid and I loved the place. With 1.25 million social distancing should the next pandemic occur will be a lot easier.

The lockdown in NZ was easy. I have so much space anyway even though I am in Auckland.
Thanks man! Finally after reading so many of your posts, you finally make sense!!!

Yup. Wide open land and space is priceless.

I was telling my wife I am so thankful we can isolate in our nice big house. I can work in the walkout basement. Kids in their rooms on upper floor. Wife does cooking on main floor. Only my little 2.5 year old running around with the dog on main floor I can hear the patter of feet.

But definitely better and more space than our tiny condo in Singapore if we were there now.

Thanks man! Finally after reading so many of your posts, you finally make sense!!!

Here's the thing @strawberry I did a lot of thinking back in 2003-2004. Wouldn't it be nice if Singapore had more space right?

In fact a lot of problems in Sg is because of lack of space.

How can Sg get more space and land? Go to war. But that option means bloodshed. No good lah.

This is the MAIN reason I decided to migrate somewhere that has TONS of land and open space!

So much so even LKY would say that people in North America have more babies cos with so much open space you feel optimistic all the time. ( which means that he knows when you are cooped up and crowded you will always feel pessimistic. Not good to live in sinkieland lah)

Here's the thing @strawberry I did a lot of thinking back in 2003-2004. Wouldn't it be nice if Singapore had more space right?

In fact a lot of problems in Sg is because of lack of space.

How can Sg get more space and land? Go to war. But that option means bloodshed. No good lah.

This is the MAIN reason I decided to migrate somewhere that has TONS of land and open space!

So much so even LKY would say that people in North America have more babies cos with so much open space you feel optimistic all the time. ( which means that he knows when you are cooped up and crowded you will always feel pessimistic. Not good to live in sinkieland lah)
Greed of PAP has no boundaries. GMGT NMNT, that's how it is in Singapore! No money you better kwai kwai eat your food and shut up. Even if you got a bit of money and say things they don't like to hear, they will make you no money soon and shit up.

Let me ask you bro......

Let's say the government in Singapore changed. Become very progressive compassionate caring.

So there is minimum wage, empolyment insurance, universal healthcare etc.

Will you be much much happier?

The roads are still going to be crowded. The MRT and buses crowded. Everywhere you go crowded. And the weather.....hot and humid 269 days of the year. The other days hot and wet!

Fun?

For me I told myself no point lah. Don't waste time.

Let me ask you bro......

Let's say the government in Singapore changed. Become very progressive compassionate caring.

So there is minimum wage, empolyment insurance, universal healthcare etc.

Will you be much much happier?

The roads are still going to be crowded. The MRT and buses crowded. Everywhere you go crowded. And the weather.....hot and humid 269 days of the year. The other days hot and wet!

Fun?

For me I told myself no point lah. Don't waste time.

this small island is too crowded.
Every green patch is becoming concrete, thats what i hate.
I no hate foreigners, i am fine with the hot weather. If i want cold weather, I will just fly off north or south depending on time of the year.

Too crowded, high COL as a result and the only people benefiting is the PAP and their connected elites.

this small island is too crowded.
Every green patch is becoming concrete, thats what i hate.
I no hate foreigners, i am fine with the hot weather. If i want cold weather, I will just fly off north or south depending on time of the year.

Too crowded, high COL as a result and the only people benefiting is the PAP and their connected elites.

I hate the hot weather.

But in any case my point is you hate the concrete and lack of green patches. Will a change in govt change that? No it wont.

Singapore has sort of reached its peak already.

I hate the hot weather.

But in any case my point is you hate the concrete and lack of green patches. Will a change in govt change that? No it wont.

Singapore has sort of reached its peak already.
what's done cannot be undone, the rice is already cooked.
good luck to sinkies! :D

Yup. Wide open land and space is priceless.

I was telling my wife I am so thankful we can isolate in our nice big house. I can work in the walkout basement. Kids in their rooms on upper floor. Wife does cooking on main floor. Only my little 2.5 year old running around with the dog on main floor I can hear the patter of feet.

But definitely better and more space than our tiny condo in Singapore if we were there now.
U miss out on the fun Julian is having. No regrets? :cautious: