• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New Spin: HK Electricity 1/2 of Sg Cos Use Coal Woh!

No mention that Sporns are being told to pay x times more now than when oil was being used. Who are the Papayas trying to fool?

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Electricity prices: Why HK is cheaper
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->IN HER letter on Thursday ('Consider tiered charge in electricity tariff'), Non-Constituency MP Sylvia Lim suggested adopting a tiered tariff system to make electricity more affordable, like Hong Kong.
Ms Lim acknowledged that electricity prices are lower in Hong Kong partly because it produces electricity from coal, whereas Singapore produces most of our electricity from natural gas. In fact, this is the main reason, rather than Hong Kong's tiered tariff system.
Singapore's approach is to charge everyone the full cost of electricity, and give targeted assistance, through U-Save rebates, to households that need it most. After taking U-Save into account, a three-room HDB household effectively pays an average of $50 a month for its electricity bill, comparable to what is payable in Hong Kong for the same amount of electricity consumed.
Charging below full cost in a tiered system would reduce the incentive for households to save electricity and lead to wasteful consumption. It is also not an efficient way to help the poor because well-off households would also enjoy the lower tariff rate in the first tier. If we need to do more to help the poor, it is better to increase the U-Save amount, as the Government has done.
Ms Lim pointed out that Singapore does have a tiered system of tariffs for water. However, water is a strategic resource for Singapore, and the water tariff is set so the first tier recovers the full cost of water production, and the next tier is set higher to encourage water conservation. Applying this principle to electricity tariffs would therefore raise prices for Singaporeans.
Ms Lim also asked for the details of the electricity tariff formula to be published. The Energy Market Authority has done so on its website. Lim Bee Khim (Ms)
Director/Corporate Communications
For Permanent Secretary
Ministry of Trade and Industry

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Fairer comparisons: Japan and Ireland
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><DIV class=story_text><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->IN HIS letter on Monday, 'Electricity Prices: 82% higher here than in Hong Kong', Mr Paul Chan asks why Singapore has a higher electricity tariff than Hong Kong, when both places depend on imported fossil fuels and do not subsidise electricity.
Electricity is more expensive in Singapore because our fuel cost is much higher compared to Hong Kong. In particular, fuel charges account for 19 cents per kilowatt-hour of the overall tariff in Singapore, but just 5 cents per kilowatt-hour in Hong Kong.
Hong Kong enjoys this significant cost advantage in fuel largely because more than half of its electricity is generated from coal-fired power plants. Coal is cheaper than oil and natural gas, but it is also a dirtier fuel. Hence, the price of this heavy reliance on coal is felt in the impact on air pollution and quality of life. Another 10 per cent of Hong Kong's electricity comes from nuclear power plants in China which are unaffected by the high global oil price.
In contrast, Singapore's electricity is generated predominantly using imported natural gas, which is indexed to the fuel oil price by commercial contracts. We also do not have a ready source of low-cost energy supplies from our neighbours.
Any comparison of electricity prices across jurisdictions will have to take into account these variations in fuel mix and supply. In fact, our electricity tariff is lower than or comparable to that of countries such as Ireland and Japan, which, like Singapore, are highly dependent on imported oil and natural gas to meet their electricity needs.
Jenny Teo (Ms)
Director (Corporate Communications)
Energy Market Authority

<!-- end of for each --><!-- Current Ratings : start --><!-- Current Ratings : end --><!-- vbbintegration : start --><DIV class=vclear><!---vbbTime (Thread ID: 14501) - Start : Sat, 1 Nov 2008 02:40:32:641---><SCRIPT language=javascript>function readCookieVbb() { var errorString = getURLParam("error"); user=getCookie("HTTP_user_id") luser="" if (user!=null) { luser=user.toLowerCase() if (luser == "anonymous" || luser == "anonymous|anonymous") { window.location= p_logoutLink; } } if(user != null && user !=0 && luser!=null && luser != "anonymous" && luser != "anonymous|anonymous") { document.writeln("<table border='0' width='100%' cellspacing='0' id='story_comments' style='display:none'>") document.writeln("<tr id='comments_body' style='display:none'><td colspan='2'>") document.writeln("<table border='0' width='100%' cellspacing='0'>") document.writeln(" <tr ><td class='heading'>Latest comments</td></tr>") document.writeln(" <tr><td id='messageDisplayRegion' width='100%'></td></tr>") document.writeln(" <tr><td align='right'>&raquo; Offensive? Unsuitable? Report comment
</td></tr>") document.writeln("</table>") document.writeln("</td></tr>") document.writeln("<tr><td width='100%' colspan='2'>Leave a comment
</td></tr>") document.writeln("<tr><td><textarea rows='4' cols='60' name='replyMessage' id='replyMessage'></textarea></td>") document.writeln("<td align='right' valign='bottom'></td></tr>") if(user ==0) { // do nothing } else { document.writeln("<tr><td colspan='2' class='details'>Logged in as") document.writeln(user) document.writeln("</td></tr>") } document.writeln("<tr><td colspan='2' class='georgia11 darkblue'>Warning: Any user who posts offensive or irrelevant comments will be banned from this Discussion Board.</td></tr>") document.writeln("<tr><td colspan='2' id='viewAllPostsRegion' align='right'></td></tr>") document.writeln("</table>") } else { document.writeln("<table border='0' width='100%' cellspacing='0' id='story_comments' style='display:none'>") document.writeln("<tr id='comments_body' style='display:none'><td>") document.writeln("<table border='0' width='100%' cellspacing='0'>") document.writeln(" <tr ><td class='heading'>Latest comments</td></tr>") document.writeln(" <tr><td id='messageDisplayRegion' width='100%'></td></tr>") document.writeln("</table>") document.writeln("</td></tr>") document.writeln("<tr><td>") document.writeln("<table border='0' align='center' width='460' cellspacing='0'>") document.writeln("<tr><td colspan='2' class='georgia11 darkblue'>Warning: Any user who posts offensive or irrelevant comments will be banned from this Discussion Board.</td></tr>") document.writeln("</table>") document.writeln("</td></tr>") document.writeln("<tr><td colspan='2' id='viewAllPostsRegion' align='right'></td></tr>") document.writeln("</table>") document.writeln("<table border='0' width='100%' cellspacing='0'>") document.writeln(" <tr><td align='right'>&raquo; Post comments here</td></tr>") document.writeln("</table>") }}</SCRIPT><STYLE> .Post { font-family:Georgia, "Times New Roman", Times, serif; padding:0; margin:0; font-size:11px; } .AlternatePost{ font-family:Georgia, "Times New Roman", Times, serif; padding:0; margin:0; font-size:11px; } ThreadDisplayPanel { border: 1px Solid #000; width: 600px; } .gwt-Label{ font-weight: bold; } #story_comments {padding:15px;} .heading {border-top:3px double #007BFF;border-bottom:1px solid #777777; font-weight:bold; font-size:14px;padding:5px 5px; margin-top:10px;} .details {border-bottom:1px solid #007BFF; padding:5px 5px 5px 0px; font-family:Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; font-size:11px; color:#777777;} .more{padding:5px 5px; text-align:right;font-size:11px;font-weight: bold;}</STYLE><META content=/vbbStory/com.mavenlab.sph.vbintegration.vBIntegration3 name=gwt:module><SCRIPT language=javascript src="/STI/STIMEDIA/style/gwt.js"></SCRIPT><TABLE cellSpacing=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SCRIPT language=javascript> readCookieVbb()</SCRIPT><TABLE id=story_comments cellSpacing=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR id=comments_body><TD colSpan=2><TABLE cellSpacing=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=heading>Latest comments</TD></TR><TR><TD id=messageDisplayRegion width="100%"><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE class=Post style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Ireland and Japan have far higher cost of operations. A more proper comparison would be HK, M'sia, Taiwan, etc.

The usual crap replies from govt bodies.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE id=msgUN cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - New Spin: HK Elect 1/2 of Sg Cos Use Coa</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF noWrap align=right width="1%">From: </TD><TD class=msgFname noWrap width="68%">kojakbt22 <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate noWrap align=right width="30%">3:44 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT noWrap align=right width="1%" height=20>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname noWrap width="68%">makapa <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (3 of 4) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%" rowSpan=4> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>2035.3 in reply to 2035.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Ms Lim also asked for the details of the electricity tariff formula to be published. The Energy Market Authority has done so on its website.
HAHA! Thx to Sylvia, finally EMA kenna forced to disclose their "state secret"...
<TABLE class=table_standard cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=3 border=0><TBODY><TR class=table_headertop><TD width="5%">No.</TD><TD noWrap width="28%">Title</TD><TD width="15%">Date Updated</TD></TR><TR class=table_cell vAlign=top><TD class=normal align=middle>1</TD><TD class=normal>How is your Electricity Tariff Determined?
<TABLE id=tblAttachment cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=0 width="100%" align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=normal><TABLE cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=1 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width=1>
small-box.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=top>How is your Electricity Tariff Determined?</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD><TD class=normal>31-Oct-2008</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

The_Latest_H

Well, its time to reduce our reliance on natural gas no? I mean, we have a lot of sunlight; Singapore has only one season: summer annually.

Why not convert one of the power plants into a solar one?

Why not make deals with Malaysia and Indonesia to construct new solar stations to make electricity, and in return, use underwater cables to sent power from these two countries? It will just do two very good, and main things: foster closer ties with our neighbours, and reduce resentment- and our internal arrogance; and reduce the cost of electricity in all three countries.

And besides with Indonesia having a burst in their birth rates, the country needs electricity. Using solar to power the country inevitably means reducing their oil imports, and that's good for the environment regionally.

Bigfuck

Well, its time to reduce our reliance on natural gas no? I mean, we have a lot of sunlight; Singapore has only one season: summer annually.

Why not convert one of the power plants into a solar one?

Soleee. Solar not viable for Shinkapore. Another money spin game. Ask the the real experts.:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:. It still costs US$3-4/W of installation. 20 year payback and money burnt.

Man in the streets

of course the PAP baboons artificially boost up the FT population in sinkapore, it would also mean more energy to keep these FT trash alive.

when a tiny island needs more energy to burn, the tariff will go up.

66% enjoy the hike bondage, KNN !

The_Latest_H

Soleee. Solar not viable for Shinkapore. Another money spin game. Ask the the real experts.:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:. It still costs US$3-4/W of installation. 20 year payback and money burnt.

It pays for itself, and the green tech private sector can be mobilised. So it's cheaper since its a private-public co-operation, and not just funded by taxpayers money.

And green tech would be cheaper long run as long as research and development is continued. Solar panels are always being improved and changed to be more efficient at cheaper costs. This creates high-paying jobs as a result, and interested Singaporeans, if they like it and go and study it in tertiary level, will reap the benefits of a new energy industry.

And besides, sunlight is unlimited. Oil and gas are not; they will be used up in the decades to come. Solar stations initial costs may be expensive at first, but over the long term, with retrofitting and upgrading once every few years, the stations will last very long, and fixed costs would be reduced as a result. Solar stations will pay for itself; oil and gas won't.

Bigfuck

Solee. You maths no good. Payback subject to too many condition and over 20 year. Shinkapore no desert. Many rain and cloud. Output no stable. U leeplace old one with new one before payback u add cost. No more big sinking cost cheebye with Lehman shit oredi. Shinkapore payback is tax you with conservancy tax. That is not pay back.That is FIT to gabhrament.

The_Latest_H

Solee. You maths no good. Payback subject to too many condition and over 20 year. Shinkapore no desert. Many rain and cloud. Output no stable. U leeplace old one with new one before payback u add cost. No more big sinking cost cheebye with Lehman shit oredi. Shinkapore payback is tax you with conservancy tax. That is not pay back.That is FIT to gabhrament.

I just think you're not willing to go foward into the future. Its understandable, but I believe that's the future, and really, I think while your hesitation is understandable, believe me, this is gonna be a long term thing when it comes to solar. Energy will become greener as the years pass, and it will be gradually a permanent thing.

And unlike casinos, solar stations are not gonna be there for 5 years. Its gonna be there for decades.

Still, I would never see the PAP doing such a thing. They give corporate tax cuts to the likes of Exxon Mobil, one of the main oil companies which denied global warming for many, many years. They are completely indebted to Exxon that they are always gonna use oil instead of solar; and the PAP is still gonna impose new levies on hybrid cars like the Prius locally.

To them green energy is only a sideshow. They are willing to plant trees for show, but deep down, they are indebted and addicted to oil.

Bigfuck

Do the math. Not now. Too expensive. Let someone else sucker. Renewable tied to finance spin. Now no spin. EU fucked up economy and energy dependent. Need to do this - called value creation because dua lumpar. But need to con people outside EU to make it work.Solar Panel production now fuck Cheena environement. Praise the Lord. I love Cheena:smile:
Fisiks Limbeh understand good good. Dun be commie greenpeace treehugger. Now oil price down, stupid to get suckered. oil price can drop under $50 anytime. Leed winning the oil endgame. Now mankindwaste 66% of energy produced for consumption. Do the math. Energy no balance in solar panel manufacture and fuck the planet with pollution is like burn forest to make biofuel. Champion.

The_Latest_H

Do the math. Not now. Too expensive. Let someone else sucker. Renewable tied to finance spin. Now no spin. EU fucked up economy and energy dependent. Need to do this - called value creation because dua lumpar. But need to con people outside EU to make it work.Solar Panel production now fuck Cheena environement. Praise the Lord. I love Cheena:smile:
Fisiks Limbeh understand good good. Dun be commie greenpeace treehugger. Now oil price down, stupid to get suckered. oil price can drop under $50 anytime. Leed winning the oil endgame. Now mankindwaste 66% of energy produced for consumption. Do the math. Energy no balance in solar panel manufacture and fuck the planet with pollution is like burn forest to make biofuel. Champion.

Sure, think of the short term and think that oil prices will stay the same forever. That was what Venezuela, Russia and Iran thought in reverse a few months ago, and yet with the collapse in oil, they are doomed.

But we would be in deep trouble if we think that as long as oil prices have fallen, we can now delay the conversion to green energy. Its not about being a bloody tree-hugger; its about being pragmatic. Singapore has no oil and gas and has to import oil and gas from the middle east, Brunei and perhaps Australia. Why do that, and further drive down the amount of oil and gas the world has, when we have infinite sunlight?

I look at the bigger picture and I know our economy cannot be continued to be driven by old industries, like oil and gas. We have been depending on internal combustion engines that have been in existence since the Industrial revolution. Eventually we need another type of engine that depends on new sources and not the old sources. Its time for a new energy revolution.

Bigfuck

Sure, think of the short term and think that oil prices will stay the same forever. That was what Venezuela, Russia and Iran thought in reverse a few months ago, and yet with the collapse in oil, they are doomed.

U PAP brainwashed is it? I know Ayres paper lah. Energy can do anything and can be matter all know. What? U wanna to do the stupid 700*700sqkm solar to hydrogen shit ah? That one go fuck spider. Technology expensive. Still have 300 year of coal. When energy become cheap, imperialism ends. Wait long long. 20 year too far. Dats why can have economic hitman. Think here and now and maybe 10 years. One fuck war and Shinkapore eat shit. Cheap rocks for Shinkapore. Maybe shinkapore should make SPR as well.

ahbengsong

If pap uses coal.. they will say must be more expensive because coal is more expensive... either way.. singaporeans swallow the trash pap dishes out continuously...

The_Latest_H

U PAP brainwashed is it? I know Ayres paper lah. Energy can do anything and can be matter all know. What? U wanna to do the stupid 700*700sqkm solar to hydrogen shit ah? That one go fuck spider. Technology expensive. Still have 300 year of coal. When energy become cheap, imperialism ends. Wait long long. 20 year too far. Dats why can have economic hitman. Think here and now and maybe 10 years. One fuck war and Shinkapore eat shit. Cheap rocks for Shinkapore. Maybe shinkapore should make SPR as well.

Well, didn't I say that we can do it in co-operation with Malaysia and Indonesia, hereby extending the effect?

In any case, its sad. And I'm not even PAP brainwashed, since the PAP is not exactly pro-green. By adopting a stance that we can depend on oil and gas on the basis of current prices is folly since prices are volatile.

You have to expand your vision and your imagination. Don't just think of Singapore; think about the region, if we set up the first solar station that generates power on a massive scale here. And once it expands through energy consortiums in other countries, it will just get bigger.

Its all about expanding the mind and imagining the possibilities of what man can do, not what we cannot do. We have to find opportunities, and not excuses.

Bigfuck

Well, didn't I say that we can do it in co-operation with Malaysia and Indonesia, hereby extending the effect?
Its all about expanding the mind and imagining the possibilities of what man can do, not what we cannot do. We have to find opportunities, and not excuses.
U tink people neber tink b4? Fuck, election coming, economic crisis, blow the solar plant. Yeehaa! No my ploblem anyway. Shinkapore money. haha. Expropriate! Bring Solar panel home for home use, like steal insulation from Halliburton oil pipe. What u think is call intellectual masturbation. Some more masturbate unaware in front of some gay muscular men waiting to shaft you with a big red one.

The_Latest_H

U tink people neber tink b4? Fuck, election coming, economic crisis, blow the solar plant. Yeehaa! No my ploblem anyway. Shinkapore money. haha. Expropriate! Bring Solar panel home for home use, like steal insulation from Halliburton oil pipe. What u think is call intellectual masturbation. Some more masturbate unaware in front of some gay muscular men waiting to shaft you with a big red one.

I guess you can't get it. Forget it, fella. I don't need to argue with a guy who can't reason or think above his current level.

Bigfuck

I guess you can't get it. Forget it, fella. I don't need to argue with a guy who can't reason or think above his current level.

U toking to the master who played this game. Chow guniang small fuck don understand oil company agenda. Do your masturbation but keep outta taxpayer money. Economic hitman like goondus like u. Don know international politics wanna to show your 5 cent engineering and economic skill. all the leading material i tell u u neber eben leed let alone deal with the big boys at the bars and plivate sessions.:(