• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Myanmese with poor Engl works here as...

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Myanmese with poor Engl works here as...</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Jan-14 7:29 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 37) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>27181.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Myanmar national with poor command of English working as “accounts executive” in Singapore

January 14, 2010 by admin
Filed under Headlines
http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/01/14/myanmar-national-with-poor-command-of-english-working-as-accounts-executive-in-singapore/

Leave a comment

Written by Our Correspondent
The Straits Times reported today of a 26 year old Myanmar national Yin Yin Oo signed up for free English classes at a Community Club because she needed “help” in spoken English.
She has been working in Singapore as an “accounts executive” for over a year.
While it is not revealed what she does exactly, it is highly unlikely that she is a professional accountant by training when she admits that “she was at the ‘intermediate’ level in reading and writing”.
In all likelihood, Ms Yin is probably doing some simple book-keeping at a local SME which employed her due to lower wage demands.
With due respect to Ms Yin, her job can be easily taken over by any Singaporean with a ITE or “O” level certificate.
The ruling party has been defending its “foreign talent” policy on the ground that foreigners are needed to fill vacancies in certain sectors shunned by locals such as construction, nursing and IT support services.
However, in the past few years, we have seen an increasing number of foreigners on S-passes (S for semi-skilled) flocking to work in Singapore.
These semi-skilled foreign workers compete directly with Singaporeans for jobs which otherwise belong to them such as nursery school teachers, administrators, clinic assistants, IT engineers and “accounts executives”.
They are in high demand due to their lower wages which help to raise the profit margins of small businesses.
A PRC nursery school teacher commands a monthly salary of only $1,200 to $1,400 compared to Singaporean who fetches more than $2,000.
Given a choice, any employer will hire the cheaper PRC and save $800 – $1,000 in wages monthly.
It is impossible for local workers to compete with these so-called “foreign talents.” A PRC living alone in Singapore can survive with that kind of salary, but what about a Singaporean with a family to feed?
The question is: why are these PRCs allowed to work in Singapore at all when their qualifications are a suspect in the first place? (like the infamous Zhang Yuanyuan who came to Singapore armed with a diploma from an unknown institution in China; she got her PR within 2 months of application)
The Manpower Ministry should release more information on the number of foreign workers in Singapore on S-passes, their occupations as well as the percentage who are granted Singapore PRs to enable Singaporeans to better assess if these foreigners are indeed “talents” or “thrash”.
A recent article by Wall Street Journal suggested that the influx of foreigners into Singapore in the last few years has led directly to the stagnation of wages of blue-collar workers, widening of the income gap between the rich and the poor, overall decrease in labor productivity and standards of living. (read article here)
Singapore companies must start thinking of ways to boost their productivity and reduce their over-dependence on foreign workers.
Ms Yin will probably not be able to find work in any other first world country with the exception of Singapore.
More stringent criteria should be put in place so that we only recruit foreigners in selected sectors which genuinely face manpower shortage due to difficulties in employing locals.
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE class=msgtablealt cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>7:45 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (12 of 42) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>27181.12 in reply to 27181.11 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>There is a war breaking out on this thread on TR. Some "myanmese girl" is rebutting...
<LI id=comment-56818 class=alt>Nay on Fri, 15th Jan 2010 2:54 pm
6b5163a46e1580ba37ec95d3eb549c4a

Hello Admin,
Want to ask you about your post title. Do you think only Myanmar are Foreigner in SG? Your title doesn’t fair.
According to your post, what’s wrong with Ms Yin. She is trying her improvement.
Your post target is Myanmar. Ok, let’s talk about our country (Myanmar). I believe, you all will know about our country is poor country. Our gov is the worst gov in the world. But, we can try and fight with all of you from these difficult situations.
On the other hand, you have been living and learning education with full facilities more than us (MM ppl). Why we can’t compete with us? Find yourself the solution.
From
MM Girl
</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD><TD class=wintiny width="25%" noWrap align=right> </TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgbfrbot> </TD><TD colSpan=3> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>7:46 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(13 of 42) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>27181.13 in reply to 27181.12 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><LI id=comment-56820 class=alt>Innocentbaby on Fri, 15th Jan 2010 2:57 pm
a63f0267468f9af0f361067844bcbfa3

i am very upset of this fucking Singaporean People..
because of No human standard no level and no high qualification in school … that why so rule and so proud …. i don’t like it..
now i am standing on all foreigner who work in this Fucking Singapore ..
hay..all fucking Singaporean , build your English first before you talk to Myanmar people… OK
fuck

</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"></TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle>Reply</TD><TD class=wintiny width="25%" noWrap align=right></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgbfrbot></TD><TD colSpan=3></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>7:47 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(14 of 42) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>27181.14 in reply to 27181.13 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><LI id=comment-56825 class=alt>JOSHUA (BURMAVJ) on Fri, 15th Jan 2010 3:02 pm
6329e00a5f4e72181625085c9215b040

This article simply shows the standard of Singaporean Media Standard. As a professional Journalist, I really feel embarrassed on behalf of the contributor and the media that publicize this kind of bias and unprofessional article. And moreover, the writing is against the law. In this case, if the accuser found out what is written about her, the paper can be sued by libel law. I denounce the writer, editors, publisher of this articles and strongly recommends that they remove this from the web as soon as possible. They even need to make public apology for what they have done.

</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"></TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle>Reply</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Si Thu on Fri, 15th Jan 2010 3:17 pm

Here my words
Singapore look like a mango tree. Your PAP party and goverment try your country to be shine. Now you can collect good salary and good benafit being singaporean. Our foreigner look like gardeneer. we cant get good thing except low salaries. We try hard and so cheap. But it is one thing good for some company. So do you want to call us as enemy or friend? We can also develope our english skill by our self. Dont forget some singaporean cant speak well.

Options Reply

To: kojakbt89 (16 of 42)

27181.16 in reply to 27181.15

JOSHUA (BURMAVJ) on Fri, 15th Jan 2010 3:21 pm

I also read all the comments by Singaporeans, their worried on the foreign workers show that the Singaporean labor industry is NOT competent. They are scared. Cheers my Burmese buddies from Singapore.

Options Reply

To: kojakbt89 (18 of 42)

27181.18 in reply to 27181.17

justice.judge on Fri, 15th Jan 2010 3:32 pm

Dear concerned, just do it. I wanna see what will happen. LOL. U trying to kick out to all FT is explanation? Imao. LOL. If ya` all can do, just kick out all of us. No regrets! Just do it! Keep breath, eat more and say less. Just show ya` all ability. I wanna see. And no need to vote, ya’ all singaporean want this, right? So do it. I’m watching u. And concerned, u said u wanna weed out the low end FT? I think it’s good idea. So that high FT can be relax and ya` all singaporean will get opportunity to do that low lvl stuff. Nobody will rob ur jobs at that time, dude. Good luck!

Options Reply
To: kojakbt89 (19 of 42)

27181.19 in reply to 27181.18

Itchy Hand on Fri, 15th Jan 2010 3:55 pm

I am just wondering about “….for singaporeans…only!!!!!!!!!!! period!”
What would it be like…A hak,a hak..
Anyway I think PAP is better govt than those of surrounding countries…put ur feet in ur govt’s place and think …you ain’t do betther anyway…that’s why they are govt and ruling u…they called in foreingners for those works u guys wish not to do or not qualified to do…nicely fed child cries worse…
“Our Koong Koongs and Poh Pohs struggled to stand in crowded MRT trains from Jurong to Bedok while S-pass foreigners with their wives and children occuppy the priority seats chatting loudly in their strange language”
- I saw ur nicely taught singaporean teenagers occupied at the priority seats on the bus while the senior citizens were standing
Oh wait.. when u grow old…they will put u at the nursing home where the foreigners are working and you will know the value of foreigners then…

Options Reply

In short, the FTrash are despising Sporns under the auspices of the PAPee TRAITORs. In functional countries, the TRAITORs would have been overthrown and the foreigners deported.

"i am very upset of this fucking Singaporean People..
because of No human standard no level and no high qualification in school … that why so rule and so proud …. i don’t like it..
now i am standing on all foreigner who work in this Fucking Singapore ..
hay..all fucking Singaporean , build your English first before you talk to Myanmar people… OK
fuck"

Unlike you.... i'm only targeting on YOU :oIo:
Fuck U... Go back to your fucking Country and Don't Come Back
FUCK YOU

sinkies just dun get the picture.
PAP dun want you. you are too expensive.
they only want cheap labour. cheap cheap cheap.
so just die already.

I dont know why are you guys getting so excited over a article that could contain lots of fake and made up information on top of which the poster is someone of questionable understanding of what is happening.

Written by Our Correspondent
The Straits Times reported today of a 26 year old Myanmar national Yin Yin Oo signed up for free English classes at a Community Club because she needed “help” in spoken English.
She has been working in Singapore as an “accounts executive” for over a year.
While it is not revealed what she does exactly, it is highly unlikely that she is a professional accountant by training when she admits that “she was at the ‘intermediate’ level in reading and writing”.

So what does she do exactly in the company ?
Suck dick no need good engrish leh , deep throat can liao mah :D

so just die already.

Have we just woken up to this?, this had been around since the 1980's, only problem is most SINkingporeanS, don't bother, for it was BOOMZ time, for many.

An organization whom I worked for in the 80's, with an UNION, went to JB, & KL, to recruit Malaysians to work here promising better incentives & some guarantee of PR and even help & give housing allowances. This Cheaper, Better & faster for our Malaysian FT's started long time...have we just woken up??

Later it was the Pinoys, the Hong Kongners ( also known as Hong Kees), the Myanmese...and even the A.F.R.I.C.A.N.S...and not to mention the desired 'race' of Caucasians, in which there are many SINkingporeans have the same qualifications...

We are never LOOKED after...but oftern LOOKED OVER, or AVOIDED, in our own country, when we LOOK for work.

Recently, I have encountered a Myanmese working as a HR Manager ( we cant get locals?), for a SME company, whose English pronunciation, JRR Tolkien would under stand...I couldn't.

Wake up, SINgkingporeans, you are 1st world ( so-called) citizens living with a 3rd world benefits, whereas the FT's are in heaven here, they are from the 3rd world, enjoying more than a 1st world standard, in terms of pay, work benefits, conditions & even HOUSING.

Wake up....:mad:

I dont know why are you guys getting so excited over a article that could contain lots of fake and made up information on top of which the poster is someone of questionable understanding of what is happening.

Maybe its because we know of other anecdotal evidence of similar cases. The garment and the media here talks alot about low level FT workers but the truth is that there is an even bigger FT population working in capacities that Singaporeans can readily undertake.

What is also true is that many of these FTs are paid quite well. Who do you think forms the largest population of rental condos in Singapore? It's the highly paid FTs, many who are not as qualified as Singaporeans.

Many FTs have good connections and can easily get their spouses hired to jobs that pay very well in MNCs for which these spouses are realy not qualified to do at all.

The problem is the PAPies and their greed to jackup the GDP and to fill up the condos and jackup the demand for HDB. The Pappies and their cronies will win but ordinary Singaporeans hae suffered and their suffering will grow exponentially.

Kick out the Pappies and things will get better.

MYANMAR on Fri, 15th Jan 2010 8:47 pm
OH……..really a mad man whose write this letter. Check it out 1st, who raise up the Singapore. who support to Sg…lets say among the foreigners are skilled,cheap and hard working than local. So that all the employer are want to offer foreigner. If SG have brave kick out all foreigners see what will happen in SG. All Singaporeans can raise up their country or not….. Singapore like as the orchid and need to absorb the manpower, skill power and thinking power from the foreigner only. So that definitely Singapore Economy are depends on the foreigner. Among all of the foreigners MYANMAR is more skillful and every working fields you can find MYANMAR….MYANMAR why come and work in SG….bec of their Government… The SG and Singaporeans like as a dog which is bite to his boss….So stupid editor and writer, before you choose the Topic you need to think about yourself first and what is your skill…..Let me know all Singaporean can speak well in English……everytime I heard that evrywhere they use “HAWKIN” language only…
I want to invite all of the Singaporean to my country and want to give them one thinking what is Myanmar, whose is MYANMAR,WHERE MYANMAR….You all use our brain,our skill and now to bite to us….You will go down to hell………………Shameless Singapore…………..

1. AYEAYEMYOSAT on Sat, 16th Jan 2010 12:28 pm
    b1f12612f263e889f46715074cf17517

I want to say/spell something on behalf of our Working Hard Foreign Workers here. Hey .. Fucking Singaporeans!! You guys won’t be able to get a good job in anywhere, any country .. OK? You guys love to take fake MC leaves. You guys are always complaining about your duties or your working environment and for everything WITHOUT ENOUGH WORKING. Then, you guys still want to have the good facilities & pay. May I suggest you, There is no employer will pay you highly before the employer see you working hard and also your good skills. Don’t be too jealous. Try not to be very lazy first. OK? No wonder you guys are not hired. Everybody knows the skills of Singaporeans. The employers know which resources can improve their benefits well. We are not demanding but working hard. That’s why we (foreigners) are hired in any time even in the economic crisis period. Anyway, try to improve your skills first. And Try to speak proper English first. Like that also can lah? haha .. There’s no such usage in the world. We don’t speak Singlish.

anyway, if u bros want to "talk cock" with these Myanmese, come to:

http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/0...h-working-as-accounts-executive-in-singapore/

It's quite apparent that someone on their side is co-ordinating their responses or pulling more Myanmese into this thread.... but I think they are all barking up the wrong tree...

Bro,
You're right. They are barking up the wrong tree. It's quite obvious that they can't comprehend the gist of the article.
DOM

since when was the standard of singaporeans' high. our standard engish is singlish.
and we are called singlet/

Or they may not be Myanmese....

It's quite apparent that someone on their side is co-ordinating their responses or pulling more Myanmese into this thread.... but I think they are all barking up the wrong tree...

Dear Bros and Sis,

In the last few days, an article about a Myanmese girl has triggered a cyber war breaking out between Singaporeans and Myanmese FTs on TR site. It clearly shows that there exist fault lines between Singaporeans and FTs here. I believe such incidents will never be reported by PAP's 151st. They would rather prefer it to be sweeped under the carpet and hope that things would die down. But nevertheless, you cannot make these deep fault lines disappear.

It is quite clear from the postings that in the event of a conflict between Singapore and Myanmar, where the loyalties of these FTs will lie. If you guys have the time, do read the kind of postings from these so called Myanmese FTs and ask yourselves this question:

Do you seriously think PAP can successfully integrate such emotional Neatherthals (see below) with us Singaporeans???

http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/01/14/myanmar-national-with-poor-command-of-english-working-as-accounts-executive-in-singapore/

<LI class=alt>David Constantine on Sun, 17th Jan 2010 4:04 am
17d3835349be8eda68a300e3d8e53695

Stupid #Kojakbt¡&shy; Apologize for saying ¡°you Myanmese are a bunch of ignorant fools¡±. Or I swear to every powerful beings in the universe that I¡¯ll track you down and kill you.
Look at yourself, without those things the PAP gave you, what do you have? an ugly face? a look which in other country would be called a ¡°freak¡±? Well a freak from a freak¡¯s country will say just like freaks¡&shy; You jerk.. Coz of stupid asses like you, there were times I thought of invading Singapore and skin kinds of ya alive. If it wasn¡¯t for those Singaporeans who really nice and loved me, I¡¯ll really do that. So watch your mouth and apologize. THAT¡¯S THE LAST WARNING!