• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

my mom busted her singtel mobile data limit

uglyloser

she just signed up for the $27.70 plan using galaxy ace 2. this plan has only 100MB data..I told her to use the macdonald's wifi to prevent exceeding the data limit. but apparently the wifi connection dropped often and she ended up using her mobile plan data instead. judging by the endless songs and drama she enjoyed on youtube, i believe i will be receiving a much larger bill later. Can anyone mobile experts share how to prevent this kinda of situation?

Is there any setting to prevent the hp from downloading data from the mobile line?

I have never used a smartphone b4. I'm still using an old nokia dumbphone. I know shit about this.

:eek:Thank you in advance for any help!

wtf 100mb only? With today's 3G and hsdpa 100mb is used up very fast. 4G even faster but you will need to sign for a 4g plan which is on a different bandwidth.

she just signed up for the $27.70 plan using galaxy ace 2. this plan has only 100MB data..I told her to use the macdonald's wifi to prevent exceeding the data limit. but apparently the wifi connection dropped often and she ended up using her mobile plan data instead. judging by the endless songs and drama she enjoyed on youtube, i believe i will be receiving a much larger bill later. Can anyone mobile experts share how to prevent this kinda of situation?

Is there any setting to prevent the hp from downloading data from the mobile line?

I have never used a smartphone b4. I'm still using an old nokia dumbphone. I know shit about this.

Why is her expenditure your problem? :confused:

She downloaded her stuff, she pays for her own data plan.

Knn, I thought the title read, "My Mum's Bust" :(

singtel isn't too good either. They charge high and their signal isn't very good.

If your mother hadn't already signed a contract, I would have suggested getting a PAYG deal where the data limit is capped. If you want more then you have to pay extra. 100mb of data is tiny especially if you want to view and download clips on You tube.

In Sinkiepore you got no choice, every Telco
owned by Familee, wat can IDA do?

dun worry, mate! it's capped at $30 for singtel. other telcos are similar, if you worry, there is app that can be downloaded to monitor the data usage or dial *3282 for singtel. cheers!

Go to "settings" and turn off Mobile data.

Give her this phone ...
motorola.-c332-peanut.jpeg

Lucky now all 3 telco cap limit on the surcharge around $100/month.
There is solution.
1. Upgrade the plane >>might be use less is keep streaming video
2. Install WIFI in home and disable your mother phone mobile data.,

i think M1 has a plan with no data given. this should be safe for her.
then she can only use the internet thru wifi

Get her those plan with 2gb limit per month. If she exceeds the 2gb, the bill will be capped up to the maximum of $90+.

no need lah, just get multi-sim, one put in adapter and one in cellphone. use the existing 12GB in your plan, they cap at SGD$30/-...anyway, the loophole has been utilised by me for the past few years. so you actually pay to use 4G at $40/-
but then hor...last month, they also cap the data usage at 40GB which become insufficient for me after surfing sammyboy.:o

the whole affair is singtel give you plan, then they try to take back bit by bit, see beh chao cos' seng li bo ho :rolleyes:

so much for singtel. i am switching to others soon.

Get her those plan with 2gb limit per month. If she exceeds the 2gb, the bill will be capped up to the maximum of $90+.