• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Msian PR Complains on Barrier to Prevent Him From Getting Pink IC. What Do You Think?

[h=2]
To: <nobr>All</nobr>

<tbody>
</tbody>

Barrier preventing PRs from taking up citizenship[/h]
160514_for_ST.jpg

Mr Christopher Chong ("How to help foreigners integrate"; Tuesday) suggested that permanent residency should have a fixed term and then be re-assessed, with one of the criteria being the permanent resident's intention to become a citizen.

The New Paper
Sunday, May 18, 2014

SINGAPORE - Mr Christopher Chong ("How to help foreigners integrate"; Tuesday) suggested that permanent residency should have a fixed term and then be re-assessed, with one of the criteria being the permanent resident's intention to become a citizen.
As a permanent resident here, I would look forward to becoming a Singapore citizen if not for one issue - the requirement that I give up citizenship of my home country.
I know of many other permanent residents who share my view. Not allowing dual nationality is an old-fashioned position, one that has changed in many proud countries over the last decade or so.
Forcing me to give up my ties to my home country, and having to apply for a visa to visit my family and friends there, is a show-stopper.
Singapore should consider changing this policy. Allowing me to retain the citizenship of my home country would in no way diminish the respect I would have for my additional citizenship in Singapore.
I have lived here for nine years and do consider Singapore home. So the authorities should remove the one barrier that is preventing me, and many others, from taking the final step to truly calling Singapore home.
This article was published on May 16 in The Straits Times.

FUCKERS LIKE THESE WANT THE BEST OF BOTH WORLDS. MAKE A BIG BUNDLE THANKS TO FAP, THEN QUICKLY FARK BACK TO MATLAND AND LIVE LIKE A KING. THANK YOU PINKY.

Re: Msian PR Complains on Barrier to Prevent Him From Getting Pink IC. What Do You Th

These mudlanders talk cock...mudland allow them to hold dual citizenship meh?

rodent2005

Re: Msian PR Complains on Barrier to Prevent Him From Getting Pink IC. What Do You Th

Mr Christopher Chong ("How to help foreigners integrate"; Tuesday) suggested that permanent residency should have a fixed term and then be re-assessed, with one of the criteria being the permanent resident's intention to become a citizen.

Wah, "intention" only, no need to take real action.

As a permanent resident here, I would look forward to becoming a Singapore citizen if not for one issue - the requirement that I give up citizenship of my home country.

Too bad, Singapore is not hard up for you.
I know of many other permanent residents who share my view.
Appeal to numbers fallacy. It's like saying polygamy should be legalised since many men desire polygamy.

Not allowing dual nationality is an old-fashioned position, one that has changed in many proud countries over the last decade or so.
So? Singapore is a sovereign state to do what is best for herself.
Forcing me to give up my ties to my home country, and having to apply for a visa to visit my family and friends there, is a show-stopper.
Singapore should consider changing this policy. Allowing me to retain the citizenship of my home country would in no way diminish the respect I would have for my additional citizenship in Singapore.

Mr. Chong, you have gotten your propriety wrong. If you want to become a citizen, you become a citizen on Singapore's terms and not have Singapore back over backwards to your terms.

Besides, your respect for Singapore is no match compared to the convenience of not having to apply for a visa to visit your home country, wherever that may be.
I have lived here for nine years and do consider Singapore home. So the authorities should remove the one barrier that is preventing me, and many others, from taking the final step to truly calling Singapore home.
This article was published on May 16 in The Straits Times.

Overall, very weak arguments. It's all "gimme, gimme, gimme".

Besides, it hints of "let me have my cake and eat it too".

farker need extended NS. pple serve 2 1/2 year, we extend for him 4 years. make sure he guard duty every weekend.

Sinkies can earn income in sinking land and live like a king elsewhere in south east asia. Nobody stopping you. Take your pick. Volcanic beach in lombok, palawan philippines, thailand or malaysia. Just go.

Yeah should have a fixed term for SPR. Those who are no longer working in Spore should revoke their PR and sell back their flat to HDB at BTO price.

Sinkies can earn income in sinking land and live like a king elsewhere in south east asia. Nobody stopping you. Take your pick. Volcanic beach in lombok, palawan philippines, thailand or malaysia. Just go.

How to live like a king when not your own home?

Best you get some of them who KPKB about Singapore and Singaporeans everyday and they still refuse to fuck home north.

Tonychat is one example.

rodent2005

Your post is a Red Herring deserving of the rubbish bin.

Best you get some of them who KPKB about Singapore and Singaporeans everyday and they still refuse to fuck home north.

Tonychat is one example.

That is so true, many Msian SPR are like this tonychat. Make money from working in Spore and yet no appreciation and some more no qualms to call us sinkie and yet expect Singaporeans to show appreciation for able to spend money (not even earn a cent ) in JB.

borom

What an idiot-since when do you need visa within Asean ?

This is the kind of sycophant that will take up multiple citizenship if possible and be loyal only to money.
Should anything happen, they will be the first to scoot and let others bear the burden.

The fact that a PR dares to openly voice such opinion and has it published in the MSM shows how daring the foreigners are in thumbing down of locals.