• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MPs solution to HDB housing woes

<TABLE id=msgUN cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffee Shop Talk - MPs solution to HDB housing woes </TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF noWrap align=right width="1%">From: </TD><TD class=msgFname noWrap width="68%">mrbiao <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate noWrap align=right width="30%">Feb-9 8:16 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT noWrap align=right width="1%" height=20>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname noWrap width="68%">ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 5) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%" rowSpan=4> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>21400.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>From the ST:
No playgrounds or covered walkways in new HDB estates. Nor any barbecue pits. New flats should have very basic floor tiles, meanwhile.
It is hardly the usual call from Members of Parliament (MPs), who tend to push for upgrading in their constituencies. But two among their ranks are making the call for “no-frills” housing.
According to Dr Lim Wee Kiak and Ms Lee Bee Wah, this should be an option for home buyers and one way to provide more affordable housing.
When he first raised this in Parliament on Friday, Dr Lim gave the example of flat prices in the 1970s: S$15,000 and S$20,000 for a three-room and four-room flat respectively. A graduate with a starting salary of S$1,000 could pay off his apartment with 15 to 25 months of his pay, he said.
The two MPs did not actually use the word “slums”, but given their description of what would constitute lower cost housing, I couldn’t help but have a vision of Singapore’s future slums should their ridiculous idea become reality.
I doubt these two MPs actually live in HDB flats to begin with. And I wonder if they got their facts right - covered walkways and barbeque pits in HDB neighbourhoods don’t seem to be factored into the cost of HDB flats if I understand correctly - I thought these costs are covered by town council funds? Even if they are indeed factored into the cost, I would think they won’t cost each homeowner much and every neighbourhood ought to have some basic amenities anyway.
To begin with, I don’t think HDB flats and neighbourhoods are anywhere near luxurious in the first place. “No frills” housing? Do those MPs really believe that HDB flats nowadays have lots of “value-added” features? How about making doors optional to lower building costs further? Perhaps we should revert to the 1970s standards when there are no elevators (and when noodles costs just $0.50 or $1 a bowl, and bus rides probably cost just ten or twenty cents).
Further, I think the MPs don’t even know how much it costs to build HDB flats vs the selling price in the first place - they are kind of implying that the government is selling HDB flats at near cost price when it obviously isn’t the case. Assuming there are 250 3-room flats in a block, and each unit costs $150k (selling price)… does it really cost HDB $37.5 million to build the flats? What is the profit margin HDB is making on a block of flats, and how much of the $37.5 million actually goes towards land costs, given that each block of flats don’t really take up a lot of land? I argue that the only solution to make HDB housing affordable, is to either reduce the surpluses that HDB earns on selling flats, or for the Government to reduce land prices in HDB neighbourhoods. The same way that SLA can make a piece of land become worthless overnight by “rezoning” it.
Kinda gives me the shudders to think that some of our MPs don’t really know what’s going on although they are in more ‘privileged’ positions. I don’t claim to know, but I think an educated guess will tell us that the main issue is not about having frills or no frills, because I don’t think BBQ pits and covered walkways cost that much to build… but about Government policy towards HDB housing prices.
The MPs also suggested that upgrades can be added later by the homeowners when they have the financial ability to do so. That is a badly thought out idea. I am sure it costs HDB a lot less to engage a contractor to provide decent quality tiles in bulk to all flats in a neighbourhood, compared to having individual homeowners approaching contractors on their own.
Another example of having people detached from the grassroots suggesting impractical solutions. Why do we pay them $13k a month for them to advocate downgrading our living standards? I don’t think cutting corners is the solution to Singaporeans’ housing woes - rather, more subsidies and financial aid should be provided for those who are unable to afford the cost of HDB flats. Or, more importantly, a review of HDB pricing policy should be done.
</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

annexa

No playgrounds or covered walkways in new HDB estates. Nor any barbecue pits. New flats should have very basic floor tiles, meanwhile.
Whose HDB got bbq pits?! Tell me! Tell me!
Mee Siam Mai Hum!

The_Latest_H

A review of the HDB pricing system is more effective than a stripped down HDB estate. The latter is just window dressing; the former addresses the problem of inflated HDB prices, and the cost of living.

newyorker88

A review of the HDB pricing system is more effective than a stripped down HDB estate. The latter is just window dressing; the former addresses the problem of inflated HDB prices, and the cost of living.

They cannot lower the HDB pricing. In doing so, they will destory the economy of singapore, becos there will be DEFLATION on properties, and reduction of RESERVES values.

So what to do? They just continuously push up the price, and the citizens have to swallow the shit.

No wonder so many are migrating.

Tiu-leh-see-fart

Spot on !

If HDB price collapses, PAP will also collapses!

HDB high price is to wipe clean the CPF ord savings so the reserves will remain in the strongroom controlled by a few persons.

Die die PAP will defend the HDB high price comparing to private property while the SLA sells land expensively.

Market price is the best method to con the people.

They cannot lower the HDB pricing. In doing so, they will destory the economy of singapore, becos there will be DEFLATION on properties, and reduction of RESERVES values.

So what to do? They just continuously push up the price, and the citizens have to swallow the shit.

newyorker88

Spot on !

HDB high price is to wipe clean the CPF ord savings so the reserves will remain in the strongroom controlled by a few persons.

Die die PAP will defend the HDB high price comparing to private property while the SLA sells land expensively.

In 1997, the hong kees play out the PAPs. China did not destroy HK as feared. many returned. Dumped the HDB flats and cause a huge downturn in prices.

So PAP enacted a law, if I remember correctly, the govenment will tax you on the the profit if you sell within a period of few years? Can someone shed some light on this?

This time round, the PRs will just give up, sooner or later, and with so many people unable to fork out the payments, what is the bank going to do? Repro the flats and auctiopn off?

HDB wanted to rid itself of this problem and pass on to the banks. If the banks are going ahead with auction, it will look bad on the banks, not HDB. Howevr, PAP will have to content with the people who lose the flats, and these multi millions MPs will work harder, an excuse that will justify THEIR INCREMENTS in salary after this crisis.

congo9

"The MPs also suggested that upgrades can be added later by the homeowners when they have the financial ability to do so. That is a badly thought out idea. I am sure it costs HDB a lot less to engage a contractor to provide decent quality tiles in bulk to all flats in a neighbourhood, compared to having individual homeowners approaching contractors on their own".

I am sure they also confuse their own PAP MPs as well. That why MPs also ask stupid questions !!!!!!!!

There is one that I know of, around Ave 10, Ang Mo Kio. went to visit a friend and saw them BBQ some food.

How many of these barbecue pits did you see :confused:

I'm just curious as to the amount they would save if they did away with these pits.

funglung

Spot on !

HOW ELSE DO YOU THINK LKY SUCKED THE BILLIONS FROM ALL OF US?

The HDB is one of his key mechanism.

Then you have all his regime other departments, such as Health.

Sinkies exist only for LKY to fuck and to be bled from.

taxpayers are paying more than millions...

where has our 400 billions gone?

No way any government or regime make that kind of money.

THAT 400 BILLIONS WERE MADE BY SINKIES, AND TAKEN FROM SINKIES BY STINKING LKY AND USED BY LKY TO PRETEND HE IS AN ECONOMIC GIANT WHEN HE IS IN FACT A FUCKING ECONOMIC DWARF.

THEN SINKIES ARE TOLD NOTHING FOR FREE WHEN LKY AND HIS PAP BASTARDS TOOK IN 400 BILLIONS TO PLAY WITH AND FRENCH COOKING COURSES ARE NOTHING AT ALL TO THEM

SINGKIES !

FIND YOUR BALLS AND KICK OUT LKY AND PAP BASTARDS.

THAT 400 BILLIONS ARE YOURS AND YOURS ALONE

NOT TEMASICK OR GEE I SEE TO FUCK ABOUT WITH

I am sure they also confuse their own PAP MPs as well. That why MPs also ask stupid questions !!!!!!!!

Remember whay back to the 60's, 70's and even into the early 80's...when HDB came as a SHELL...

may people use linoleum as flooring or cement floor, painted with epoxy paint of dark blue or red, kitchen cabinets came with legs, together with the kitchen sink, toliet door was the aluminium door with the lactch, ordinary porcelin sink, WC by the brand of POLY and made of plastic, with the wooden handle & chain... so was the front door, HDB ugly designed solid window grills & steel casment windows with glass...and was CHEAP..even then they price was rip off...

we should go bcak to basic....no floor tilings, no fancy doors, windows, grills,..etc....basic price of S$58,000 for a 4 room flat..

then the minister salaries must go down to basic too..

oli9

Dont u guys find it very strange?
Spore is a 1st World Nation. We have all the hubs in the world. We are one of the richest nation in the world. Yet our housing resembles those from the 3rd World.
Add BBQ pit & walkway also must pay several thousand. A 90sqm pigeon hole in far fetch bad Fengshui area eg Punggol cost more than S$230K!!!!!

What the hell is going on here?

2lanu

Go pick up a book called Animal Farm and you will find whatever they doing is exactly the same in that book. Nothing new...

2lanu

Dont u guys find it very strange?
Spore is a 1st World Nation. We have all the hubs in the world. We are one of the richest nation in the world. Yet our housing resembles those from the 3rd World.
Add BBQ pit & walkway also must pay several thousand. A 90sqm pigeon hole in far fetch bad Fengshui area eg Punggol cost more than S$230K!!!!!

What the hell is going on here?

On 1st world status, it's like coin of 2 sides. One side is price and the other is the cost. And those scum are getting paid on the price while peasants are paying them.

VIBGYOR

how to control the population?

by controlling your purse.

how to control your purse?

by making HDB prices high!

it takes ages for you pay off.

then you don't dare to fuck with the PAP.

reposses your flat if you join the opposition.

Microsoft

Hmm... wat bout bbq pits?? Nowadays papaya hear the word bbq got phobia izit?? Mus quickly find reason to remove them izit?? :biggrin::p:biggrin:

The_Latest_H

I don't think so. Not if you address the cause of inflation and do it in a systematic system to slowly deflate the bubble. Not all has to come in the form of a Big Bang.