• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Most of us are suffering from Peniaphobia?

MarrickG

Isn't many of us also suffering from Peniaphobia? Who is not afraid of poverty?

20090915.181302_worker.jpg

So rich, but he fears losing everything

He lives in a posh Katong Bungalow and drives an expensive BMW, but can't fully enjoy his wealth.

Instead, the 45-year-old trader spends his days in fear, worried that he will lose everything.

It has gotten so bad that he lost 5kg of his body weight, reported Lianhe Wanbao.

The trader's fears surfaced when his business fell by 10 per cent during the economic crisis last year.

Then, he was also asked by his landlord to vacate the office space that he rented.

He started worrying about the success of his business. If it collapsed, he would not be able to pay for his three childrens' education nor support his wife and elderly parents.

He was also afraid that a business failure would cost the 60 employees under him to lose their jobs.

The worries compounded over time. Besides insomnia, he suffered from a gradual loss of appetite and became a gaunt shadow of his former self.

He developed a fear of crowded places and started locking himself up at home. He refused to go out, even to the office.

Concerned about her husband, the trader's wife brought him to a psychiatrist, where she found out that he had peniaphobia - a fear of poverty.

His psychiatrist, Dr Hong Yong Yuan said that the trader was lucky because his wife had the personality of an optimist. She would constantly encourage her husband and help him handle business matters.

Peniaphobia does not happen to only rich people, said Dr Hong.

Dr Hong said: "In the trader's case, although he didn't suffer from any major losses, he developed peniaphobia because he is constantly pessimistic and worried about everything."

He pointed out to the Chinese daily that the number of peniaphobia cases in Singapore had doubled since September last year.

The new patients are usually white-collared workers who generally have pessimistic tendencies, he said.

What is peniaphobia?
It is a form of depression where the afflicted person worries about becoming poor.

Symptoms include poor sleep and inability to think rationally and properly. In serious cases, the afflicted person will avoid places with people and shun away from society.

Besides taking medication, the afflicted person needs to relax through breathing exercises, physical activity and learn to deal with stress.

FuckSamLeong

cabinet.jpg

That will never happen to us.:biggrin: We feel so rich checking our CPF balances every month!:p:p:p

We are into Heavy Metal Rock music too because it name describe our rice bowls too!:wink::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

MarrickG

A lot of good news about Singapore recently isn't it?

Wed, Sep 16, 2009
Reuters

Singapore most tycoon-dense

NEW YORK - Singapore has the highest density of millionaires at 8.5 per cent of the population, according to a Boston Consulting Group study.

Switzerland is second, at 6.6 per cent, followed by Kuwait, at 5.1 per cent.

In fourth place is the United Arab Emirates, at 4.5 per cent, then the United States, at 3.5 per cent.

The number of millionaires worldwide shrank 17.8 per cent to nine million, as the global recession caused the first worldwide contraction in assets under management in nearly a decade.

Europe and North America were hardest hit in that regard, posting 22 per cent declines.

The US still boasts 3.9 million millionaires, the highest worldwide.

Wealth dropped 11.7 per cent to US$92.4 trillion (S$131.5 trillion), and a return to 2007 levels of wealth will take six years, said the study that examined assets overseen by the asset-management industry.

Also hit hard were offshore wealth centres like Switzerland and the Caribbean, where assets declined by 8 per cent to US$6.7 trillion last year from US$7.3 trillion in 2007.

Europe posted a slightly higher US$32.7 trillion of assets under management, edging out North America for the wealthiest region, though total wealth in the region dropped 5.8 per cent.

Latin America was the only region to report a gain in assets under management, posting a 3 per cent uptick from US$2.4 trillion in 2007 to US$2.5 trillion last year.

what have PAP done to us?
house + BMW still worry everyday, that is the life i do not want to have.

TeeKee

what have PAP done to us?
house + BMW still worry everyday, that is the life i do not want to have.

things like this really tell us God really exist...listen to his words..

Matthew 6 (New International Version)
Do Not Worry
25"Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? 26Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?

28"And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? 31So do not worry, saying, 'What shall we eat?' or 'What shall we drink?' or 'What shall we wear?' 32For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Perspective

That will never happen to us.:biggrin: We feel so rich checking our CPF balances every month!:p:p:p

We are into Heavy Metal Rock music too because it name describe our rice bowls too!:wink::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

No the Peniaphobia shows why they are so afraid to lose at the elections. No more million dollar salaries if that happens.

annexa

He started worrying about the success of his business. If it collapsed, he would not be able to pay for his three childrens' education nor support his wife and elderly parents.
Sell his posh bungalow and buy HDB, drive a Kia instead of a BMW. So simple.

pia

No the Peniaphobia shows why they are so afraid to lose at the elections. No more million dollar salaries if that happens.

Very true.. the most peniaphobic type. However, they won't starve themselves, they would rather starve the peasants. :mad:

Almost everybody suffers from peniaphobia.
Unfortunately for many, it's not just a fear but a reality.
It's the job of the government to prevent that reality for as citizens as possible. Do they realize that?

Sell his posh bungalow and buy HDB, drive a Kia instead of a BMW. So simple.

if he do that, his banker who lend money to his business will stop all loan to him and his business will collapse within a few months.

your advice is so shitty. dun sabot leh.

blackmore

Almost everybody suffers from peniaphobia.
Unfortunately for many, it's not just a fear but a reality.
It's the job of the government to prevent that reality for as citizens as possible. Do they realize that?

The goverment's concern is only to white wash those on the poverty level. Look at Hougang, Bukit Merah, Bukit Ho Swee and old Tanglin estate. Its a stark reality that the poor do exist in Singapore; but not in the eyes of the government.

I believe those who manage to break out of these estates will die die maintain their stand their upbringing was elsewhere. Its a crude reality of life but people tends to hide the truth.

The goverment's concern is only to white wash those on the poverty level. Look at Hougang, Bukit Merah, Bukit Ho Swee and old Tanglin estate. Its a stark reality that the poor do exist in Singapore; but not in the eyes of the government.

I believe those who manage to break out of these estates will die die maintain their stand their upbringing was elsewhere. Its a crude reality of life but people tends to hide the truth.
It doesn't matter if those who break out hide the truth of their upbringing.
But for those still in poverty, why don't they take steps to vote out this elitist government? Or at least some of its members such that the rest realize that they need to look after the needy citizens?
Surely, the poor + the disgruntled + the civil rights activists + the intelligent + the non apathetic should be more than 50% of the voting population?

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>AKA 66% mentality and the Familee is quick to exploit it to the fullest!</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>