• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Most Expensive Navy in SE Asia, yet S'pore vessel hijacked.

I guess the RSN don't want to let their shining new stealth frigate get bullet holes from hijacker Ak-47s. Better to let pirates infest our waters, let the sailors die or their company pay the ransom. Pathetic SAF.

Hijackers strike Singapore tug boat off Pahang coast
2010/04/20

SINGAPORE: A Singapore-registered tug boat with nine crew onboard was reported missing while underway in Kuantan waters since last night.

The Regional Cooperation Agreement on Combating Piracy and Armed Robbery against Ships in Asia Information Sharing Centre (ReCAAP ISC) here said the tug boat, PU 2007 was towing a barge, PU 3316, when the ship owner discovered the boat had deviated from its planned course about 11.30pm.

The boat had departed Kintap port, South Kalimantan, Indonesia and was heading towards the Gulf of Thailand to Sriracha port to discharge its cargo.

Suspecting that the vessels had been hijacked, the ship owner reported the incident to Singapore’s Port Operation and Control Centre which is also the ReCAAP ISC, which in turn alerted all maritime authorities in the region to look out for the missing vessels.

At 3.25pm today, the Malaysia Maritime Enforcement Agency (MMEA) which had deployed its ship and aircraft in the search operations, spotted the barge at east-northeast of Kuantan, minus the tug boat.

The centre had requested vessels transiting through the area to keep a look out for the missing tug boat which was last reported heading easterly towards the direction of Philippines or Kalimantan.

This is the second incident of hijacking of a tug boat in the vicinity since January this year. - BERNAMA

I guess the RSN don't want to let their shining new stealth frigate get bullet holes from hijacker Ak-47s. Better to let pirates infest our waters, let the sailors die or their company pay the ransom. Pathetic SAF.

A bit hard to expect RSN to go into Malaysian waters.

The ship going from kalimantan to Thailand. Lots of areas of international waters in between. Also, the RSN should have some agreement to go into territorial waters of other countries if pursuing pirates.

What bullet holes? Effective range and firepower of Pirate Boat's AK 47 (7.62mm rounds) vs Frigate's Oto Melara 76 mm gun? Clearly the standoff range of the Frigate's 76mm gun alone would outgun and outmatch all the available AK 47s on the pirate ship!

Dear PAP

This is getting ridiculous, the pirates struck in Kuantan waters and you expect the RSN to be allowed to patrol of Kuantan ?

Locke

What bullet holes? Effective range and firepower of Pirate Boat's AK 47 (7.62mm rounds) vs Frigate's Oto Melara 76 mm gun? Clearly the standoff range of the Frigate's 76mm gun alone would outgun and outmatch all the available AK 47s on the pirate ship!

Maybe in New Zealand, the practice is for the navy to open fire from long range on suspect pirate boats. In all other navies, the practice is to board the boats, serach them and arrest the pirates. This is call finding the proof. In order to do this, they will be in range of any AK-47s that the pirates might have. hence, there will be bullet holes if the pirate sput up resistance. get it?

Dear PAP

This is getting ridiculous, the pirates struck in Kuantan waters and you expect the RSN to be allowed to patrol of Kuantan ?

Locke

Again, your lack of knowledge is ridiculous. Please note that there are no "international waters" around S'pore. The minute you sail out of S'pore waters, u are in either Malaysian or Indonesian territorial waters. Therefore, everytime our navy sails into the South China seas for exercise, they are in fact sailing across Malaysian territorial waters, which extend 12 nautical miles from their coastline. If the RSN captures these pirates in waters of Kuantan, rescues the sailors, and save the ship, and havethe owners and family members of the sailors avoid paying a ransom, do you think the Malaysians are going to give a shit about the RSN in Kuantan waters? Or are they going to be happy that there is one less group of pirates intheir waters? So, the answer to your question of whether the RSN can patrol off the Kauntan coast, the answer is yes. If they wish, they can remain 13 nautical miles off the coast.

Hijackers strike Singapore tug boat off Pahang coast
2010/04/20

SINGAPORE: A Singapore-registered tug boat with nine crew onboard was reported missing while underway in Kuantan waters since last night.

The Regional Cooperation Agreement on Combating Piracy and Armed Robbery against Ships in Asia Information Sharing Centre (ReCAAP ISC) here said the tug boat, PU 2007 was towing a barge, PU 3316, when the ship owner discovered the boat had deviated from its planned course about 11.30pm.

The boat had departed Kintap port, South Kalimantan, Indonesia and was heading towards the Gulf of Thailand to Sriracha port to discharge its cargo.

Suspecting that the vessels had been hijacked, the ship owner reported the incident to Singapore’s Port Operation and Control Centre which is also the ReCAAP ISC, which in turn alerted all maritime authorities in the region to look out for the missing vessels.

At 3.25pm today, the Malaysia Maritime Enforcement Agency (MMEA) which had deployed its ship and aircraft in the search operations, spotted the barge at east-northeast of Kuantan, minus the tug boat.

The centre had requested vessels transiting through the area to keep a look out for the missing tug boat which was last reported heading easterly towards the direction of Philippines or Kalimantan.

This is the second incident of hijacking of a tug boat in the vicinity since January this year. - BERNAMA

Can you don't be so cock can? Pahang coast is the TW (Territorial waters) of Malaysia which is policed by the MMEA (Malaysia Maritime Enforcement Agency). Do you know how many Singapore-registered vessels are there plying the international waters in the world from the Panama Canal to the coast of Pahang.

There is no correlation between the relative strength of a nation's navy and its anti-piracy activities elsewhere in the world. If that is the case, why are US-flagged and registered vessels still being targeted and hijacked off the Red Sea? I suggest you take a ride in the sea from harbourfront to East OPL off pasir gudang in an OPL boat before you make such nonsensical statements and see just how enormous the oceans are as compared to your little brain :oIo:

Dear PAP

Locke

Agree with you. RSN want to sail into Kuantan wait long long. Same as Singapore will not allow Malaysia Navy to sail in. What will Malaysia offer is to let RSN to sail outside the Malaysia water and have their personal/PIC to drive to Kuantan for the investigation if they suspect the ship is dock in the Malaysia water.

Dear PAP

Again ridiculous, beyond belief. There is something under UNCLOS called innocent right of navigation or right of passage. which any NAVY world wide uses in transit of territorial waters. Blind as the Malaysians are they would probably protest at an RSN ship patrolling within their territorial waters of Kuantan. There is a world of diff between passing through kuantan going up to the gulf of thailand and patrolling off Kuantan.

Its a TUG boat pulling a barge, by the nature of the cargo and mission, it would be near the shore or transiting as close to kuantan as possible.

Locke

Kuantan to Thailand route is very common for tugs and barges. Usually the tug pulls the barge into kuantan for pipe loading and then sent to thailand to be layed below the sea.

Sea is too large for all the navies in the world combined to patrol.

However from my understanding naval warships are allowed into territorial waters if they are in hot pursuit of pirate vessels

Tend to agree with you. The Malaysians are already KPKB about our RSAF flying over their air space, and now they have to suffer sea encroachments?

Dear PAP

Again ridiculous, beyond belief. There is something under UNCLOS called innocent right of navigation or right of passage. which any NAVY world wide uses in transit of territorial waters. Blind as the Malaysians are they would probably protest at an RSN ship patrolling within their territorial waters of Kuantan. There is a world of diff between passing through kuantan going up to the gulf of thailand and patrolling off Kuantan.

Its a TUG boat pulling a barge, by the nature of the cargo and mission, it would be near the shore or transiting as close to kuantan as possible.

Locke

Can you don't be so cock can? Pahang coast is the TW (Territorial waters) of Malaysia which is policed by the MMEA (Malaysia Maritime Enforcement Agency). Do you know how many Singapore-registered vessels are there plying the international waters in the world from the Panama Canal to the coast of Pahang.

There is no correlation between the relative strength of a nation's navy and its anti-piracy activities elsewhere in the world. If that is the case, why are US-flagged and registered vessels still being targeted and hijacked off the Red Sea? I suggest you take a ride in the sea from harbourfront to East OPL off pasir gudang in an OPL boat before you make such nonsensical statements and see just how enormous the oceans are as compared to your little brain :oIo:

Its because of bleeding fucking hearts like you that there is a piracy problem. Wait until someone boards your boat and kidnaps you butt ugly self. Than you will be praying why don't the RSN come and violate whichever countries territorial waters it is to save your sorry ass. Laws not important, lives are, understand or not?

Its Malaysian water right???????

So what do you want RSN to do? Patrol Malaysian shores as well?

I would be asking what had the Malaysian Coast Guards been doing.

Its because of bleeding fucking hearts like you that there is a piracy problem. Wait until someone boards your boat and kidnaps you butt ugly self. Than you will be praying why don't the RSN come and violate whichever countries territorial waters it is to save your sorry ass. Laws not important, lives are, understand or not?

Why dont you go and talk to najip and demand that Malaysia surrender all sea lanes and routes to Singapore?

perhaps idf that were to happen, then both Singapore Coast Guards as well as Republic of Singapore Navy will be able to deploy long range patrol boats as well as Ocean patrol vessel to sail around.

All ship will have to sail outside the sea border. Pirate what to do with RSN or link ?

Good question.......

Go ask papsmearer who seem to think his opinion could lord over all, both in cyberspace as well as in the real world.

Yeah lor, wait till those indon pirate raid your house and rape your grandmother, mother and daughter.... then blame the papee dogs for not doing enough patrolling......leh....:rolleyes:

You damn emo and nonsense man, even madmansg makes more sense than you! :eek:

If malaysian coast guard not going to do anything, the RSN willhave to do it.