• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

More S&C Charges?

By Channel NewsAsia, Updated: 11/07/2010

SINGAPORE : Residents may end up paying more in service and conservancy charges if the problem of highrise littering gets worse.

This possibility was raised by Parliamentary Secretary for National Development Dr Maliki Osman when he launched an anti—litter initiative in Admiralty on Sunday.

Grassroots organisations will be using community pressure, like roping in residents to keep a lookout for those who litter from their flats.

The number of complaints against highrise littering island—wide has been increasing over the last few years.

In 2008, there were 2,499 complaints.

This jumped to 3,474 complaints last year.

In the first half of this year, there have been 1,965 complaints.

Dr Maliki said: "When we have littering problem, and we have a cleanliness problem; the conservancy costs will go up because the workers will have to come in more regularly.

"That would increase the cost because from a normal cleaning situation where you just clean the common corridors and the lift lobbies, now you have to go into the individual households to try and clean it. This is unnecessary for the residents because the higher the cost, it will be transferred to the residents. We do not want that to happen.

"We want them to try and minimise the need for them to pay extra just because of irresponsible behaviour. At this point in time, we have not raised the conservancy charges at all because we have been able to manage, but I think we can continue to contain it even better if residents take responsibility.

"The chances of increasing costs will be there if we do not contain this, because the idea is to look at the natural situation where previously you will not need workers to go into individual households. Now, if one HDB block, you have an average of 100 units. Just imagine if half of that required cleaning. The costs will tremendously increase.

"If we do not need that, then we can actually reduce the cost and maintain the cleanliness at the common corridors spaces and common area, and we really do not need to increase costs if everybody is responsible." — CNA/ms

There are more drunk drivers causing car accidents these days.

Instead of taking measures to reduce the number of people who drink and drive, or to increase the punishment on people who are caught drunk driving, let's do the following.

Let's increase the insurance premiums for all cars. Let's impose higher COEs and ERPs so that there will be less cars purchased and less cars on the roads and less cars on busy roads. If there is any damage to public property like bus stops and traffic lights. these higher fees collected will pay for their repair. Let's also charge the automobile repair companies additional taxes so that they can help to pay for repairs.

The thought process is baffling.

... Residents may end up paying more in service and conservancy charges if the problem of highrise littering gets worse.

This jumped to 3,474 complaints last year. ...
wenever there is a prob or wenever peasants comprains ... gahmen's soln is oways 2 collect mor moni from peasants ...

tis 1 understooded oredi ...

More abortion cases? - Increase abortion operation charges
More divorce cases? - Increase divorce application and proceedings charges
More Netcitizens KPKB? - Increase internet charges

More complaints against civil servants? - Increase their Pay!!!!

wenever there is a prob or wenever peasants comprains ... gahmen's soln is oways 2 collect mor moni from peasants ...

tis 1 understooded oredi ...
But this is even more absurd.
They should be putting programs in place to deter high rise litters and severe punishments imposed on those who are caught and investigate those who are suspected.
The solution is not to impose higher charges on everybody.
Are they saying that the ordinary people now have the mandate to be vigilantes and go around catching high rise litterers?

The writing is on the wall, brace yourself for the S and C charges increase.

if like this means.. no use owning a flat already... keep on increasing all charges of owning a house.. no point.. keeping it

our fault that they keep getting those FT in? i bet most of these littering are done by them

if like this means.. no use owning a flat already... keep on increasing all charges of owning a house.. no point.. keeping it

Owners of flat die, die must pay for:

1. Radio/TV licence
2. Property tax
3, Utilities
4. S& C charges

Even if you rent, the landlord will have to charge rent to cover those costs.

The only way to avoid is to live in JB or vote out the PAP. Sporeans deserve the gov't they voted for. :rolleyes:

By Channel NewsAsia, Updated: 11/07/2010

The number of complaints against highrise littering island—wide has been increasing over the last few years.

This jumped to 3,474 complaints last year.

In the first half of this year, there have been 1,965 complaints.

The more the Sinkies complain and complain and complain....
The more the Sinkies has to pay and pay and pay....
gahmen say " complain somemore lahhhhh..... " :oIo:

That not fair to those good resident. Normally always same people/unit throwing items/litters.
HDB should install camera facing that area to catch which window/unit throwing out. Sue them, take them to court with fine at least $5k and min jail 2 week for putting other life in danger.

Not enough babies? Fine those with less than 3 children, everyone can be a multi-dollar elite like that. Brainless...

php4bKuSZ.jpg

Need to smack this idiot for neglecting real issues !

Bro Cestbon
I'm not sure if your suggestion is the best possible, but it's already more equitable and logical than the one raised by the miw.

The next thing they will do is to put aerial CCTV all over Sinkieland and make sinkies pay for it!

They don't need excuses to increase prices.

Look at the power price hikes even though oil prices has fallen & remained stable for at least a year. The recent bus/train fare hikes.

Usually they wait until after the elections before introducing the price hikes, but this time round they are in a rush. Maybe they are short of funds :confused:

Sporns being made to pay for FTrash shit and the FAPee Sell Country Thieves' greed. What's new?

They don't need excuses to increase prices.

Look at the power price hikes even though oil prices has fallen & remained stable for at least a year. The recent bus/train fare hikes.

Usually they wait until after the elections before introducing the price hikes, but this time round they are in a rush. Maybe they are short of funds :confused:

Not only that. They are confident that together with the FTrash, the 66% Goondus will continue to remain fearful of them in the cumming GE!

No need to install CCTV whole islands.
One CCTV good quality plus installation will cost less than $3k. With fine $5k already can cover the cost.
My ideas is to install only the portable CCTV camera facing that in area when there are few case high rise litter. Until the the person caught by police. After the case close remove the camera and install it in another area with high cases.
Bring them to court with min $5k fine and 2 week jail.
2nd time offender $10k fine, one month jail and ask them to stand below high rise building give any volunteer to throw down anything at him. Let see how the person feel. :D