• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MNCs In S'pore Tells GARMENT "Fuck You"!

ahleebabasingaporethief

Always cheating and lying to your own balless kind. You want us to behave balless? Up yours!:oIo: What we do is our business.

See comments below in red.

Think u can bully others so easily? Which foreign companies will want to set up shop in S'pore next time. My cock how many pubic hair also u want to know. Knn!

Stupid Garment pretend to care for locals. Phoooey!

Parent companies of some MNCs to cut jobs; staff in S’pore may be affected
Channel NewsAsia - Wednesday, December 10SINGAPORE: Many multinational corporations are planning to retrench workers in Asia due to the economic downturn. Among them are Sony Electronics and Nomura, a financial services group. It’s believed staff at their Singapore offices will be affected.

ADVERTISEMENT

Sony’s Japan headquarters announced that it is cutting 8,000 jobs worldwide as demand for consumer electronic goods has slowed significantly.

Sony said its headquarters is now reviewing its operations in each country.

While there are no specific numbers available for Singapore, what’s clear is that Sony is cutting costs.

Reports have also said that Japan’s biggest brokerage Nomura is laying off 100 people in Asia this year, including some in Singapore.

It is said the positions will be in its equity operations in places like Hong Kong and Singapore.

Nomura said it’s evaluating business opportunities and is now making strategic decisions about resource allocation and employee numbers.

Singapore’s labour movement urged Sony and Nomura to justify the headcount cut.

Halimah Yacob, Deputy Secretary—General, NTUC, said: "What these two companies will have to do is to explain the circumstances under which these retrenchments are being carried out, that they have exhausted all other possibilities and not just merely say this is the headquarters’ instruction to them."

Madam Halimah doesn’t believe the latest retrenchments will trigger a snowball effect, prompting other MNCs to do the same.

She added: "Workers do look at the kind of employers they want to work with so when employers resort to retrenchments when there’s no necessity, then obviously when times are better and they need workers they’ll find it a lot harder to get workers."

Observers said it’s not entirely surprising that companies like those in the electronics and finance industries are resorting to retrenchments. But companies are once again reminded to implement and exhaust all the tripartite guidelines first to cut costs.

Some measures under the guidelines include introducing shorter work weeks and flexible work arrangements. — CNA/vm

2lanu

There is 1001 reasons can be told by them. SG white scum also LL have to take it. Maybe Halimah wants to say to MNC is at least make an effort to tell something she can then in turn the public. Otherwise she would be protrait as good for nothing!

theblackhole

too late lah.if they're are so concerned for the welfare of the employees, they should have done it when times are good. now with this recession and depression, the bottom line is to cut costs and trim fat. mncs are lidat.profit.more profit.and more profits. if they can't make any profit,they'll just move out.they don't give a damned to their employees. cut means cut - business is business. they heck care what tripartite and bipartite or what partite agreements.cut means cut. you can't do anything about it.

chinkangkor

There are lots of FTs in MNCs. Whether locals or foreigners will be let go first is the most important issue. MOM should collect data and let the public know the ratio of locals against foreigners retrenched so far.

2lanu

If I am Sony spokeman, I sure tell Halimah that DBS also just cut like that without giving reason why must Sony.

chinkangkor

Halimah is just wayang wayang only for the public to see that NTUC is doing something. GE coming soon ....

After GE, Boy George will come out to say: Retrenching foreigners first will hurt locals ...

ahleebabasingaporethief

Yep, always pretend to "help".

When peopel ask for real help like releasing part of CPF, minimum wages, reducing GST....all cannot.

Somemore give lun cheow reasons that the whole world is laughing at S'poreans for believing bcos we never protest.

R4g3

what an idiot, didn't DBS just show all the MNCs that there is no need to bother about what our fake union says?

I dont see there is any penalty for DBS for the retrenchment of 900. So why should any MNCs bother?

AvalanCh3

barking dog don't bite, if they are so sincer they would have done so, they just bark and bark and from the laymen brother we can see that they are not effective to solve solution. this is a million dollar joke that the A team only are good at fighting opposition.

Zeitgeist

I had a dream last night! Everywhere I went, every body including children were wearing T-shirts with the words printed in large font, front and back "What Am We Paying You For?" It was just a dream!:(

theblackhole

you are not alone lah.the garment is with you. so don't worry. our garment will help you if you are jobless.so dont' worry. the gahment will not leave you behind, leave you cold and naked. we are with you always. cheers!

kuntakinte

Sorry to burst your bubble but this is true.

Look at the fucked up products produced by HP lately and their arrogant display of sub service standard. No ice cream or goodies at the service center would appease any fuming customers.

Look at the "monopolistic" mindset of SingTel despite the fact that they are privatized... Are they really privatized ? Try calling their helpline... worst, try to get their moronic technicians to troubleshoot your office or home phone line!!! Look at their moronic service standard - they will only turn up 3 days after your complaint about the phone line that is not working. How are you going to run your business with the phone line especially if it is your fax line?? And, you think SingTel care ? They fucked the care !!

Look at Microsoft Singapore, what are they doing ? Sure, they have a lady sitting as a MP in Singapore. Yes, Microsoft just sit there and look beautiful but churn out spastic and shitty Vista. Still have the cheek to give you the fucking number to call to activate their exorbitant and fucked up products.

Why are they still here ? YES, OUR MORONIC GOVERNMENT GAVE THEM MILLIONS S$ SUBSIDIES/GRANT TO BE HERE !!! SO, THEY ARE JUST LEECHES AND DUN GIVE A DAMN ABOUT SERVICE AND QUALITY PRODUCT.

So, for Sony, probably, the amount they get is insufficient !!

Halimah Yacob, Deputy Secretary—General, NTUC, said: "What these two companies will have to do is to explain the circumstances under which these retrenchments are being carried out, that they have exhausted all other possibilities and not just merely say this is the headquarters’ instruction to them."

If I am Sony's president, I will tell Halima using ex-PM statement: "You should be worried if our company doesn't retrench your staff!" So you see, pappy quotes never fail to come in handy in any big or small occassions.

The_Latest_H

Well, its inevitable that MNCs will leave Singapore because of high costs. Either they move to China and India or they shut up more operations- or even do both.

That's why we have to move away from cheap manufacturing. The fact is that MNCs can produce MP3 players, cheap computer CPU boards and digital camera parts easily in developing countries. Singapore cannot sustain such manufacturing anymore since wage differences are so vast between here and in the two major countries in the region.

Because of this, and because Singapore cannot afford to depress the current lowly wage levels, Singapore has to find a new economical policy. And it has to be vastly different- and besides tourism is not a good substantial economical policy. Tourism too depends on an economical boom- and so far tourism has suffered around the world due to a downturn in spending.

denzuko1

Ah! The famous Harimau Yak Cock, the one who said, " No chicken, eat fish."

Wonder PAP passed her?

DrPanacea

There is 1001 reasons can be told by them. SG white scum also LL have to take it. Maybe Halimah wants to say to MNC is at least make an effort to tell something she can then in turn the public. Otherwise she would be protrait as good for nothing!

The MNCs are not obliged to explain to anyone the reasons for hiring and firing. They do not need to ask the gahment for any permission.

Did our ministers ask the taxpayers for permission to increase their salaries?