• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MM Lee tell sinkies, PRs vs Citizens distinction has sharpened

saratogas

Recent months, I see PAP gahment working very hard to make a greater difference between Sinkies and PRs. But from what I see they just increase the Price of everything for the PRs and Sinkies remain the same...

Citizen-PR distinction has sharpened: MM
But S'poreans urged not to forget foreigners' contributions
By Clarissa Oon

SINGAPORE citizens and permanent residents (PRs) receive very different treatment in government policies, and this distinction has sharpened further in recent months, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew said yesterday.

As the Government slows down the inflow of foreign workers, he urged Singaporeans not to forget the contributions that foreigners have made to the economy.

However, should the foreign worker tap be turned down too much, it could lead to a 'deflating economy', he warned, in a speech that also dwelt at length on the importance of boosting productivity.

MM Lee is the latest government leader to reassure Singaporeans who are unhappy over the influx of PRs and foreigners. Together, these non-citizens make up around one-third of the population, with PRs forming about 10per cent.

The surge in their numbers has been blamed for all manner of social ills - from a rise in home prices to a shortage of jobs for Singaporeans.

But citizens receive numerous perks not available to these non-citizens, he told about 1,800 guests and residents of Tanjong Pagar GRC attending a dinner to usher in the Year of the Tiger.

The latest perk came yesterday when polytechnics and the Institute of Technical Education announced fee hikes for new and existing students, imposing a bigger increase on new PR and international students than Singaporeans.

Two months ago, the Education Ministry said that by 2012, PRs would pay three times more in school fees for their children than citizens.

Also, during balloting for Primary1 places, PRs will continue to get one ballot while citizens will be given two to improve their chances.

In health care, it was announced last month that subsidies for citizens would be raised further, widening the gap with PRs to 20 percentage points.

These changes are on top of several incentives, like those for Singaporeans to marry and start a family.

Only citizens qualify for the baby bonus and childcare subsidy, Mr Lee noted.

In addition, they get such tax benefits as the parenthood tax rebate, where each baby born allows them to claim a specified amount to offset the income tax they have to pay.

Public housing is another area in which distinctions are made between citizens and non-citizens, Mr Lee pointed out.

For example, Singaporean couples who are first-time buyers can buy a new HDB flat at below market value, or buy a resale flat with a Central Provident Fund (CPF) housing grant of $30,000.

This grant goes up to $40,000 if they buy a resale flat near their parents.

Other citizens-only incentives include CPF and Medisave top-ups, Edusave scholarships for students, New Singapore Shares and financial aid for low-wage workers, like the Workfare Income Supplement.

On foreign workers, MM Lee explained why the influx was being moderated now and not earlier.

The reason: They were needed for the building of the two integrated resorts, which will create more jobs for Singaporeans, draw tourists and boost the economy.

Without foreign workers in sectors like construction, 'the two IRs would not have been built. All the schools, all the buildings would not be here', Mr Lee said.

'When you grumble about the workers, remember they do the heavy work for us. Without them, we would not be here.'

He also acknowledged the side effects, saying trains and buses are more crowded. But if the Government were to reduce the flow too much, the economy would slow and this would lead to property prices and incomes going down.

He called on Singaporeans to bear with the inconveniences or competition for space on buses, MRT trains, even in schools, as growth is the right path to take.

But, he added: 'We always give preference to our own citizens.'

Tanjong Pagar residents interviewed agreed that foreign workers are vital to the economy, but felt it should not be at the expense of finding employment for Singaporeans.

'I'm fine with foreigners as long as I have a job,' said Mr Muthu Kumar, 32, a workplace safety and health officer.

[email protected]

Old Bastard is bloody lying again! FTs are already eating upwards in the food chain, not just the heavy work. They are displacing PMETs who surely are not so much involved in the IRs.

Without foreign workers in sectors like construction, 'the two IRs would not have been built. All the schools, all the buildings would not be here', Mr Lee said.

'When you grumble about the workers, remember they do the heavy work for us. Without them, we would not be here.'

>>'I'm fine with foreigners as long as I have a job,' said Mr Muthu Kumar, 32, a workplace safety and health officer.<<

Pls tell me they didn't ask a FOREIGN TRASH to comment on whether FOREIGN TRASH shud be allowed into Peesai

Gahment increase their school fees, medical bills & tax. They will increase our plate of Chicken rice, Bak Chor mee & Mee siam.

That's all they know, increase price!

Whenever there is a complaint, they will increase price of this or that. At the end of the day, people just give up, otherwise the price increase will come back and haunt you.

The more you complaint, the more they make.

Ministar: Cosssssss, YOU ASK FOR IT!:D

As the Government slows down the inflow of foreign workers, he urged Singaporeans not to forget the contributions that foreigners have made to the economy.[/quote)

Slow down? that means they are still coming, and progressively eating up into our existing 5 millions population. With the current 1.5 million foreigners and if PAP continue to allow foreigners to come in progressively be it slower or faster, Singaporeans will be overrun in no time. The next 5 years for PAP is a genocide for true blue Singaporeans and our fate will be sealed forever. Singaporeans contributions to its economy will soon be forgotten and resources used up to transient residents. Now is the time to vote PAP out to save the foresseable disaster we all might face..

The surge in their numbers has been blamed for all manner of social ills - from a rise in home prices to a shortage of jobs for Singaporeans.

Todate your MOM is not transparent with data on number of Singaporean being jobless due to influx of foreigners and Mah Bow Tan make up stories that rising flat price has nothing to do with foriegners and PR. So now you said he lies.

But citizens receive numerous perks not available to these non-citizens, he told about 1,800 guests and residents of Tanjong Pagar GRC attending a dinner to usher in the Year of the Tiger.

Public housing is another area in which distinctions are made between citizens and non-citizens, Mr Lee pointed out

Just because election is coming. Your trick is nothing new, we have lost all trust in PAP and now you can continue to scream with your lies and show your true hatred colour once 66% stubborn sinkies vote you in again

On foreign workers were needed for the building of the two integrated resorts, which will create more jobs for Singaporeans, draw tourists and boost the economy

There is no prove more jobs were given to Singaporeans. RWS has created more jobs for foreigners than Singaporeans. Didn't you read your owned Shit Times and listen hard enough what has been reported about RWS. Again, no concrete data was published how many jobs in your 2 IRs were given to Singaporeans relative to those given to foreigners.

Without Singaporeans, PAP won't exist too. Besides, you grumble about Singaporeans more than we grumble about foreigners. Everytime you grumble, you tweak policies and legislations to punish us for not listening to you and your son. You grumbled us for your mistakes, you blamed us for everything that PAP overlooked. You make us look stupid despite our hardwork to make you earned millions for your famiLEEs who lose all our hardearned billions in CPF and GIC. You are the worst grumbler Singaporeans ever witnessed..

He also acknowledged the side effects, saying trains and buses are more crowded. But if the Government were to reduce the flow too much, the economy would slow and this would lead to property prices and incomes going down.

So you agreed your retarded son has all the hell to blame for his lousy policies. Did Singaporean incomes go up in the last five years and jobless rate improve with influx of foreigners? You are obviously losing touch with the ground and nobody buy your arguments. You are still living in your fantasy or your obedient dogs did not tell you the truth.

He called on Singaporeans to bear with the inconveniences or competition for space on buses, MRT trains, even in schools, as growth is the right path to take

Ya right!!! we also want you to bear with the inconveneiences of having all oppositions in parliament to make you shit in your pants. This will also increase PAP overdue productivity level which is good for the country and its long sufferings Singaporeans.

But, he added: 'We always give preference to our own citizens.'

We will remember the preference of you calling all Singapaoreans daft and champion grumbler. What's next after the election, your hidden hatchet against Singaporeans will be exposed again and you can continue to award foreigners more scholarships out of taxpayers monies. You can tell the world by single out a foreigner who scores As and downplay Singaporeans who equally performed well. Increase your "foreigners integrated funds" and cast away Singaporeans to JB or batam.

Above alone is enough to swing votes and put majority opposition parties in parliament so that PAP will no longer be complacent and we will have less criminals escaping under our nose.

The most important things for Singaporeans
- security of employment and therefore a sense of pride and self sustenance
- a future for their children
- a sense of belonging to a culture that is evolving with the times.

Petty things like cheaper discounts falls in the political trivia bucket and the only thing that it deserves is for it to be emptied into the rubbish bin where it belongs.

Let's see this election how many singapore shares they will give us to buy back our trust in pap.

the problem is not that the people don't trust the government, but that the government does not trust the people. all our rules and regulations are meant to restraint the chao kwan singaporean who will abuse the system for her own advantage.

for all the bitching against the PAP, fact remains that 66% agree with them, and by implication trust them.

MM Lee tell sinkies, PRs vs Citizens distinction has sharpened

Sinkies continued to be screwed harder and PRs enjoy full conveniences. That is all about it. The distinction is very very clear.

Recent months, I see PAP gahment working very hard to make a greater difference between Sinkies and PRs. But from what I see they just increase the Price of everything for the PRs and Sinkies remain the same...

Citizen-PR distinction has sharpened: MM ...
ya! ... gahmen has bcum richer! ... world bestest paid politicians can xpect even higher pays! ...