• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MM Lee: I give myself a A/A-

manokie

20100627.101653_mmlee.jpg

MM Lee: "I'd rate myself an A or A-"

Having shaped the financial industry with the late Dr Goh Keng Swee, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew rated his contribution to the financial industry an A or A-.

He said "we could do better", but also qualified that "the Singapore government always takes a very conservative view when it rates itself".

Speaking at the 37th annual Association of Banks in Singapore (ABS) dinner on Friday, he also said that Singapore was only big enough for two banks, not three.

'I would have preferred personally that there be only two banks because I don't think Singapore is big enough for three banks, but neither OCBC or UOB would be willing to buy in, or be taken over by DBS so we've left it. But I think in the end, there must be further consolidation.

"You can't go abroad - and you got to go abroad in a big way, because there is a limit to what you can do in the Singapore market. And You need a big solid bank, with the capability and the capital to go abroad."

He also said that there is no bubble in the Singapore residential property market yet, as there is "real underlying demand". However, the government is already taking steps to prevent a bubble from forming.

http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20100627-224065.html

20100627.101653_mmlee.jpg

Property prices and the election

Daniel Goh: Minister Mentor, closer to home, how worried are you about property prices in Singapore? Are we seeing an asset bubble, in your opinion? And secondly, can we expect elections any time soon?

Patrick Daniel: I like the juxtaposition of those two questions.

MM Lee: I think this bubble is part of the the total liquidity in the whole world system. If you look at the interest rates around the world - very low. So even if we cap our excess, people from Hong Kong, Indonesia - they all say " Look. Compared to what I have to pay, Singapore is cheap, let's buy it." Apart from landed properties they can buy into any condos. So there's a limit to what you can put a cap on.

At the same time, we are convinced that residential properties - not the office properties - there is a real underlying demand. So it's probably not a bubble - yet. But anyway, we are taking steps to make sure it doesn't go into excesses. We've had several previous experiences, so more land is being released for (...) dampen the enthusiasm of everybody rushing for the latest release. And we've told the banks to be more prudent and have a higher down payment.

These are precautions we can take but it does not stop the Indonesian or the Thai or the Malayan Chinese or the Filipino Chinese from coming here and saying "Compared to what I have to pay in my country, this is cheap."

Patrick Daniel: There was a part two to his question.

MM Lee: I am not the Prime Minister. I don't decide on the election date. And anyway, it has got nothing to do with the property boom.

Patrick Daniel: We keep asking all ministers the same question. The best answer I got was from Lim Swee Say. He said, "Real soon, if not this year, next year."

So modest of himself. No A**hole rating for himself meh?

Pachyderm

a thick-skinned person, a person who is not sensitive to criticism, ridicule

why these dogs invite him to tok ?

tok about banks but tok about him and property boom !
of course, rich FTs can come sinkapore to wash their monies right...PAP how to stop right....they like it what !

tok subject A to subject B.

the shameless ogs are keeping him kicking on stage !

Die tomoorow oredi !

<< He said "we could do better", but also qualified that "the Singapore government always takes a very conservative view when it rates itself".>>

yah loh. otherwise lady from #06-271 where got chance to recommend her neighbour for Lee Kong Yeow kan.

p.s. "cho liao a c loo ho"

What A or A-???

If me, I'll give MM Lee an 'F'.

'F' for FUCK OFF.

Shameless, For offering himself to Invading Forces in WW2 and betray local resistance forces, he should be charge in court for treason, dare to rate himself A some more.

1-3.jpg

Among the 26 alphabets, I only knew a few alphabets only ah!

A for Americans cum

F for Foreign Talents

M for Money

and S for Sinkies.

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!

WTF???????????? 2 banks ?????????? not another monopoly in the banking industry

why these dogs invite him to tok ?

tok about banks but tok about him and property boom !
of course, rich FTs can come sinkapore to wash their monies right...PAP how to stop right....they like it what !

tok subject A to subject B.

the shameless ogs are keeping him kicking on stage !

Die tomoorow oredi !

Are you sure they invited him. DBS could have sponsored the event so Ah Baba could talk.

He waiting for some of his party sycophants to rate him an A+++.
Just you wait and see.

Hmm.... I never know a student taking exams can rate his own exam papers...

Goh Meng Seng

He sees himself as the principal, not the student.
And he's waiting for his students to give him an A+++.

Pachyderm

a thick-skinned person, a person who is not sensitive to criticism, ridicule

Are you suggesting that he is an Elephant, a Rhono or a Hippo?...you want t be invited to the cul d sac, to eat knuckle duster burger?

Pachyderm...:D or he suffers from pachyderma...no wonder, he listens to nobody...

Are you suggesting that he is an Elephant, a Rhono or a Hippo?...you want t be invited to the cul d sac, to eat knuckle duster burger?

Pachyderm...:D or he suffers from pachyderma...no wonder, he listens to nobody...

Pachyderm can also refer to a shameless person.

Pachyderm

1. Someone (or something) with thick skin. It is used for animals such as an elephant or a hippopotamus.
2. (zoology) A member of the obsolete taxonomic group Pachydermata, grouping of thick-skinned, hoofed animals such as the rhinoceros, hippopotamus, elephant, pig and horse.
3. (idiomatic) A person that is not affected by (does not care about) what others say about him or her.
4. (idiomatic) Someone who is insensitive.

For someone to grade himself A/A-, it requires skin thicker than the rhino's.

classic. no right or wrong here. just a matter of opinion.

He's hinting that he deserves another pay raise soon, if not A- will be become F- soon :D

Hmm.... I never know a student taking exams can rate his own exam papers...

Goh Meng Seng

Since he is talking about the financial industry, he should have taken into account the billion dollar losses suffered by GIC and Temasek, both owned by MOF. How does he rate himself now? Personally, I think a D is ok.

Yeah you are rite! MM Lee deserves a D.

D for DONKEY!!!