• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MM challenges us to welcome MORE FTs! WTF.

Ha, senile old fuck. I highlight 2 challenges for him too. Challenge #1.- Stop losing billions of dollars on Temasek and GIC. Challenge # 2- Step down, retire, and shut the fuck up. I think this speech shows how out of touch with reality he is.

MM Lee outlines two challenges for Singapore to undertake
By S Ramesh & Hasnita A Majid, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 13 August 2009 2257 hrs

MM Lee outlines two challenges for Singapore to undertake

Speech by MM Lee at the Tanjong Pagar National Day Dinner

SINGAPORE: Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew has highlighted two challenges for Singapore to undertake in order to do well in the next five to ten years.

Speaking on Thursday at the annual National Day Dinner at his Tanjong Pagar constituency, the minister mentor said Singapore can reach a new level of development, but difficulties will crop up along the way.

To resolve them, the nation must always face them squarely and work together.

The first challenge is integrating new citizens and permanent residents (PRs) with the local population. The speed of this process depends on the openness of Singaporeans who are born and raised here, and the willingness of new citizens to adapt and be part of the Singapore society.

Mr Lee explained that without immigration, the ageing problem will be too heavy a burden for the young. Immigrants who can be integrated without upsetting the racial balance are in Singapore's interest.

He said: "We need immigrants to make up for the children we are not having. That's a very hard fact of life. Between age 25 and 40, more than 30 per cent are unmarried – that means single and childless.

"Those who marry have an average of 1.8 children – replacement is 2.1. If we do not have educated Malaysians, China Chinese and India Indians and others from the region, our economy will decline and our labour force will shrink."

Mr Lee, however, assured Singaporeans that the government is conscious of protecting the interests of citizens. In fact, there is a clear distinction between citizens and PRs in terms of HDB housing, hospital charges, education fees and the Resilience Package.

On the other hand, he added that Singapore cannot make the immigration process so onerous that no one comes. For example, it cannot insist that PRs or new citizens be fluent in English when even some existing citizens are not.

Mr Lee's second challenge is to encourage Chinese Singaporeans to speak more Mandarin and to take up scholarships to study in China's top universities.

He said Singapore needs 200 to 300 A-level students to be proficient in both languages and cultures to manage the work with China – both government-to-government and in the private sector.

He added: "This does not mean we are displacing English as our working and common language – our first language. English will remain the master language for all Singaporeans.

"Our new immigrants know that in Singapore, without an adequate command of English, they cannot go far. The command of English is the decisive factor for the career path and promotion prospects of all Singaporeans."

As for the resident population, Mr Lee said the government is conscious of the need to keep the character and values of the Singapore society, so it is carefully controlling the inflow of PRs and new citizens to maintain this balance.

wikiphile

But they raid and tangkap those at Geylang? How can??? :(
How to welcome them if mata keep rounding up them in remand centres?

Only 1 Challenge to 66%:

Find back your balls and do something right in the next GE or risk Familee orchestrated EXTINCTION!

<TABLE id=post289484 class=tborder border=0 cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=6 width="100%" align=center><TBODY><TR><TD class=thead> #1
<!-- status icon and date -->
post_new.gif
Today, 10:05 AM <!-- / status icon and date -->
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="PADDING-BOTTOM: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 0px; PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-TOP: 0px" class=alt2><!-- user info --><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=6 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=alt2> </TD><TD noWrap>MarrickG
user_offline.gif

</TD><TD width="100%"> </TD><TD vAlign=top noWrap>Join Date: Apr 2009

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><!-- / user info --></TD></TR><TR><TD id=td_post_289484 class=alt1><!-- message, attachments, sig --><!-- icon and title -->
icon1.gif
Sinkie Felt insulted by FT...
<HR style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #989898; COLOR: #989898" SIZE=1><!-- / icon and title --><!-- message -->How much respect do you want from FTs? It is not their country.

Quote:
<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD style="BORDER-BOTTOM: 1px inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1px inset; BORDER-TOP: 1px inset; BORDER-RIGHT: 1px inset" class=alt2>Caucasian woman stands on S'pore flag while waiting for NDP fireworks

getMediumSizePhoto.do

STOMPer Nur said this Caucasian woman was apparently standing on the Singapore flag laid out on the ground at the Esplanade Bridge on National Day (August 9), while waiting for the fireworks.

Said the STOMPer:

"Look at the Caucasian lady wearing sleeveless top...she was stepping on our national flag! No respect!"

According to the STOMPer, the woman was barefooted. </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Ha, senile old fuck. I highlight 2 challenges for him too. Challenge #1.- Stop losing billions of dollars on Temasek and GIC. Challenge # 2- Step down, retire, and shut the fuck up. I think this speech shows how out of touch with reality he is.

In other countries, the citizens challenge their governments to do this and that, to get this or that right. In Singapore, the president and government ministers collects millions of dollars while issuing challenges to the citizens.

Notice the use of the word "challenge" by Singapore government and media. President challenge you to donate more, minister challenge you to take a paycut, MP challenge you to this or that etc. All implying that if somehow there're shortfalls or shortcomings, it's all your fault for not meeting challenge; none of their fault of course.

(Upped your points for pointing out the use of the word "challenge")

But they raid and tangkap those at Geylang? How can??? :(
How to welcome them if mata keep rounding up them in remand centres?

Aiyah, there are 2 types of FTs mah. One is working FTs, which MM want us to bend over and let them fuck us. The other type of FT is fucking FT, and they are located in Geylang. Therefore, one type of FT fuck us over, and the other type, we fuck over. He is referring to the working FT and not the fucking FT.

ksgd0717

What Do U See?

singapore is either a place where action rules or mouth kong lan par song.

for example. let's see if Iswaran will make sure SM Goh writes letter(s) to persuade the judge to let that teacher be set free if she knows which australian state has a population of 500,000 in an area of 68,401 sq km (26,410 sqm).

oli9

If MM wants us to embrace more FTs, he should set an example by putting a FT in the cabinet ranks.
He dont dare to do that for fears of reprisal from within. He also knows thta his son is weak & that any slight agitation, his son cannot be as powerful as him & rule forever.

chinkangkor

The hard fact is that PRs push up housing costs for everyone, and is a huge burden to the those who need a roof for setting up new families. The govt must face this challenge squarely and not pretend that the problem of high housing cost does not exist.

cobragold

Thailand ex-PM takshin is free to do any cabinet job in SG. No need to pay him much only give him SG passport. He has proven track record of doing finance and managing thailand out of recession. He should take over TH as he will be able to do a better job then HJ.

Yoshitei

Mr Lee explained that without immigration, the ageing problem will be too heavy a burden for the young.

How can this be when medical and transport for the aged are not fully borne by the Government who can even suggest that we strip them of dignity and send them to JB to die?

With the influx of foreigners with a different standard of living and the absence of a minimum wage, their presence in this economy will only drive down wages which will make it even harder for the young to support the aged.

He said: "We need immigrants to make up for the children we are not having. That's a very hard fact of life. Between age 25 and 40, more than 30 per cent are unmarried – that means single and childless.

So why are citizens not getting married? Subsidized housing and education getting too expensive? Jobs getting too uncertain or stressful?

How do we encourage Singaporeans to procreate?

When you're paid millions, you should look into addressing such issues rather then adopting stop gap measures which may, in the long term cause more issues.

"Those who marry have an average of 1.8 children – replacement is 2.1. If we do not have educated Malaysians, China Chinese and India Indians and others from the region, our economy will decline and our labour force will shrink."

Define educated. Does educated describe those that come and work in a restaurant as waitresses (service sector), or perhaps in a call center or helpdesk (1st Level IT)? How educated do these people need to be?

Or does educated describe those who stand along the streets of Geylang, sit with customers in a pub?

Mr Lee, however, assured Singaporeans that the government is conscious of protecting the interests of citizens. In fact, there is a clear distinction between citizens and PRs in terms of HDB housing, hospital charges, education fees and the Resilience Package.

What is the difference in dollars a Citizen pays and a PR pays in terms of housing, medical and education? What is the dollar value of the resilience package?

Is 2.5 years or your adult life followed by 15 years of reserve training worth more then the above or less? And why?

On the other hand, he added that Singapore cannot make the immigration process so onerous that no one comes. For example, it cannot insist that PRs or new citizens be fluent in English when even some existing citizens are not.

Australia can implement a basic requirement for the English language. As a country that has attained the Swiss standard of living why can't we?

What is the cost to society when we cannot even understand the language spoken by the people around us?

Mr Lee's second challenge is to encourage Chinese Singaporeans to speak more Mandarin and to take up scholarships to study in China's top universities.

Now, who was the one who banned dialects from the local media and encouraged the use of English and now Mandarin?

What's next? Tagalog? Basaha? Hindi? Thai?

He added: "This does not mean we are displacing English as our working and common language – our first language. English will remain the master language for all Singaporeans.

Foreigners? PR?

So Singaporeans will have English as the master language requirement placed on them while foreigners are free to decide on what will be their master language?

How then can these foreigners and PRs fully integrate into our society? How can we integrate them and how can they integrate themselves?

Similarly, how can I be successfully integrated into Korea or Japan if I don't speak their language?

"Our new immigrants know that in Singapore, without an adequate command of English, they cannot go far. The command of English is the decisive factor for the career path and promotion prospects of all Singaporeans."

No, they just hire their own kind and the language and culture issue is immediately solved. Just look at companies like Citigroup and Satyam.

As for the resident population, Mr Lee said the government is conscious of the need to keep the character and values of the Singapore society, so it is carefully controlling the inflow of PRs and new citizens to maintain this balance.

Geez, I feel so good already knowing that the PRC hooker along Geylang or the Thai singer in some Thai disco or the Viet KTV girls have already passed through the Government's careful control.

If MM wants us to embrace more FTs, he should set an example by putting a FT in the cabinet ranks.
He dont dare to do that for fears of reprisal from within. He also knows thta his son is weak & that any slight agitation, his son cannot be as powerful as him & rule forever.

Yah lor, we never see him invite any FTs into his own house, and I never heard of him even making any attempts to familiarise himself with any FTs. He should lead by example or shut up.

The hard fact is that PRs push up housing costs for everyone, and is a huge burden to the those who need a roof for setting up new families. The govt must face this challenge squarely and not pretend that the problem of high housing cost does not exist.

Actually, that is not the problem. The housing is controlled by the govt. Very simple, they can have 2 prices. One lower price for native born singaporeans and another price for FTs who have not converted to S'pore citizenship. In Malaysia, when u buy property, there is a bumi price and a non bumi price. The govt. just don't want to do that.

The bigger problem is that no matter how cheap HDB housing is, u still cannot afford it if u lose your nice job to an FT.

Thailand ex-PM takshin is free to do any cabinet job in SG. No need to pay him much only give him SG passport. He has proven track record of doing finance and managing thailand out of recession. He should take over TH as he will be able to do a better job then HJ.

yeah he can con other companies, instead of conning TH. LOL

How can this be when medical and transport for the aged are not fully borne by the Government who can even suggest that we strip them of dignity and send them to JB to die?

With the influx of foreigners with a different standard of living and the absence of a minimum wage, their presence in this economy will only drive down wages which will make it even harder for the young to support the aged.

So why are citizens not getting married? Subsidized housing and education getting too expensive? Jobs getting too uncertain or stressful?

How do we encourage Singaporeans to procreate?

When you're paid millions, you should look into addressing such issues rather then adopting stop gap measures which may, in the long term cause more issues.

Define educated. Does educated describe those that come and work in a restaurant as waitresses (service sector), or perhaps in a call center or helpdesk (1st Level IT)? How educated do these people need to be?

Or does educated describe those who stand along the streets of Geylang, sit with customers in a pub?

What is the difference in dollars a Citizen pays and a PR pays in terms of housing, medical and education? What is the dollar value of the resilience package?

Is 2.5 years or your adult life followed by 15 years of reserve training worth more then the above or less? And why?

Australia can implement a basic requirement for the English language. As a country that has attained the Swiss standard of living why can't we?

What is the cost to society when we cannot even understand the language spoken by the people around us?

Now, who was the one who banned dialects from the local media and encouraged the use of English and now Mandarin?

What's next? Tagalog? Basaha? Hindi? Thai?

Foreigners? PR?

So Singaporeans will have English as the master language requirement placed on them while foreigners are free to decide on what will be their master language?

How then can these foreigners and PRs fully integrate into our society? How can we integrate them and how can they integrate themselves?

Similarly, how can I be successfully integrated into Korea or Japan if I don't speak their language?

No, they just hire their own kind and the language and culture issue is immediately solved. Just look at companies like Citigroup and Satyam.

Geez, I feel so good already knowing that the PRC hooker along Geylang or the Thai singer in some Thai disco or the Viet KTV girls have already passed through the Government's careful control.

These are excellent points. By the way, in answer to your point about PRC hooker along Geylang, and Viet KTV girls.............they did have to pass the govt's careful control by demonstrating their blowjob skills on the ICA staff. :-)

The old fart has spelt out the fate of sinkies in no uncertain terms. To put it mildly, you're all fucked as long as the PAP remains in power.

Sinkies have but two stark options :

1) Pluck up the courage to kick the Lees out in the next GE.

2) Roll over and accept the fact that you'll all be a minority species in your own country and ranked way below recent arrivals in order of importance.

The choice is yours. If you opt for 2, I feel sorry for your children. They don't deserve such spineless parents.

:rolleyes:

khunking

<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"><tbody><tr><td rowspan="4" class="msgleft" width="1%">
</td><td class="wintiny" align="right" nowrap="nowrap">
</td></tr><tr><td height="8">
</td></tr> <tr><td class="msgtxt">Huge crowds gather each time a new condo project is luanched. Many bought
these units thinking they had a good buy. many of these buyers are just
kiasu and followed the herd mentality. One sheep jump over the cliff and the
rest follow.
The truth is that they are paying much higher than foreigners. Many of these
developments are already presold to foreigners in Indonesia, Malaysia,
Thailand, taiwan and Hongkong, before being offered to Singaporeans. Many
foreigners bought these units at a much lower price. For example, a similar
unit sold in Indonesia at $690,000 ( conveyance and stamp fee included) is
priced at $980,000 here at a soft launch!
Go to any sales office and one can actually sense the "take it or leave it
attitude" of these developers. When did developers become so cocky
especially so many people are still jobless and bankruptcy is still on the
rise? The answer is that they already presold a good percentage of their
developments overseas!
Buyers beware!
</td></tr></tbody></table>

Actually, that is not the problem. The housing is controlled by the govt. Very simple, they can have 2 prices. One lower price for native born singaporeans and another price for FTs who have not converted to S'pore citizenship. In Malaysia, when u buy property, there is a bumi price and a non bumi price. The govt. just don't want to do that.

The bigger problem is that no matter how cheap HDB housing is, u still cannot afford it if u lose your nice job to an FT.