• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MINDEF allows camera phones in camp

hurley

20120817.103354_20120817-cameraphone.jpg

SINGAPORE: Camera phones may be used in military camps here after the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) decided to relax its ban.

The Straits Times reported that the SAF had introduced tightened security measures and the changes could start as early as next month.

One of these measures included dividing camps into red and green zones, where camera phones can be used only in the "non-sensitive" green zones, such as bunks, canteens and gyms. "Red" areas will be those containing classified military equipment.

Camera phones will also be banned in camp offices, where sensitive information might be potentially accessed by servicemen.

Currently, only phones without cameras can be taken into military camps, and servicemen often end up carrying two mobile phones - one to use in camp and another to use outside.

Although there have been no official details about the new rules, The Straits Times says it understands an announcement will be made in a few weeks.

The decision to lift the restrictions, which were first put in place in 2007 after photographs of training activities were posted online, is a turnaround for the Ministry of Defence which has been keeping a tight rein on the use of new technology within the camps.

Sources told the paper that the new security measures that have been put in place are similar to those used by the military in the United States. They also said these measures have been tested to make sure they are tight enough to deal with cameras that may pose a high risk.

Senior commanders of the army were notified of the plan in an email last month. They have since been identifying restricted areas and making their camps camera phone-friendly.

The decision to lift the ban showed the military was keeping itself relevant to a tech-savvy generation, said defence analyst Bernard Loo.

"What is important now is that servicemen are being educated on how to use their phones without compromising the operational security of the Singapore Armed Forces," he said.

Life will be easier when he is called in for training, said operationally ready national serviceman Ranjan Indiran, 31.

"Going online, checking work e-mails on the phone is second nature to us," said the lawyer. "It will be so much easier to keep in the loop with the civilian world."

Stupid law to begin with.
Back then the ban was a knee jerk reaction to the embarrassing vids posted by soldiers.
Nothing to do with keeping secrets and national security at all.

I still can remember going around looking for non-camera phones to use before reporting to reservists. CCB cho lang ma huan.

BB actually launched a few camera-less phones to cater to this market then

One of the company who's riding on this bandwagon is Huawei.

I believe the telcos are selling one model with the camera removed.

The SAF was never concerned about leaking classified secrets, it was more concerned with not letting embarrassing videos and photos get onto the Internet, hence 'tarnishing the reputation of the SAF'.

It's all about face. 面子问题

CLICK THE IMAGE

Lang sai classified equipment.

We buy most our equipment from overseas what is classified about them?

Locally made equipment can't even stand up to international scrutiny.

They just don't want people see how they tekkan chow recruits.

Purpose of banning is to prevent soldiers form taking videos that put ass-AF high-ranking scums in a bad light.

During the last GE, someone got the credit or recognition for permitting NSmen to book in and out of camp wearing bermudas. Anyone of PSLE standard could have initiated that.

Wonder if another politician in 2016 would be credited with this breakthru.

Well i finally can take pictures of my ICT then

huh? u mean u really use a basic phone in ICT?

just take a old nokia to "show" during inpro but put iphone inside pocket can liao. after inpro, nobody will notice or care when u use the iphone.

Not necessarily so. Depends on how 'siao on' those officers are in your unit.

only regular siao on. reservist officers also use iphone or other smart phone. just be a bit tactical lor. during my last few icts, only the ATC rsm was a prick, the rest of the trainers dont really care.