• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mediacorp Wins Award For Best Channel In Asia

clinton666

All you poor, lazy and uneducated retarded dogs need to STFU :oIo:

Mediacorp is the undisputed Number One Channel in Asia.

MediaCorp, Discovery win big at 13th Asian Television Awards15 December 2008

Singapore - Some of the biggest names in Asian television gathered in Singapore on Thursday December 11 for the 13th Asian Television Awards.Among the stars at the event were Hong Kong's Raymond Lam, named best actor for his role in The Master of Tai Chi, and Bangkok's Chiranan Manochaem, named best actress for her role in The Slave.Denise Lorraine Keller was the host for the evening, with guest presenters Al Jazeera English's Veronica Pedrosa and CNBC Asia Pacific's Martin Soong - who also took home the award for Best News Presenter or Anchor.MediaCorp Singapore took home the Terrestrial Broadcaster of the Year Award, plus four awards from the Programme Categories, with two of Singapore's top artistes, Guo Liang and Quan Yi Fong, jointly clinching the Award for Best Entertainment Presenter. Discovery Networks Asia Pacific took home a total of five awards, including the Cable & Satellite Network of the Year Award for the second year running. DNAP garnered a total of 15 awards and commendations from a record 23 nominations for awards in eight categories, topping its previous best of 17 nominations in 2007. Tom Keaveny, executive vice president and managing director, Discovery Networks Asia-Pacific, said, "Being named ‘Cable & Satellite Network of the Year' again is a great honour and a testament to the compelling, relevant and high-quality programming Discovery delivers to audiences across the region. In 2009 we will celebrate 15 years of broadcasting in Asia-Pacific and this is a wonderful way to kick off the new year."CNN picked up ATA's for flagship programmes CNN Today and Talk Asia, named Asia-Pacific's Best News Program and Best Talk Show respectively. "This is a fantastic achievement that further underlines the quality of CNN International's output from the Asia-Pacific region," said Tony Maddox, executive vice president and managing director CNN International.Al Jazeera English received the award for Best Current Affairs Programme for Inside Myanmar - The Crackdown. Al Jazeera English also received commendations in the categories of Best Documentary Programme and Best Current Affairs Programme. "The Asian Television Awards are among the most coveted in the region and our journalists have been justly rewarded for their in-depth and groundbreaking reporting," said Tony Burman, managing director of Al Jazeera English.

angie II

reporterl_s-a2b6908062.jpg

angie II

cockledm3-6858373f69.jpg

"Wow.. the state controlled media with no local competitors, is praising itself yet again"

theblackhole

phpQNTgxm.jpg

congratulations mediacorps!!! well done and many more good programmes and many more good years. majulah singapura!!! merry christmas!!!

angie II

cockledm3-6858373f69.jpg

"I dun watch mediacock tv anyway. Paying $110 to watch shitty news & shitty programmes is bad enough,
should they dare to increase then forget about it. It ain't as if i'm gonna miss it"

The_Latest_H

Isn't ATV owned by Mediacorp?

Anyway, I'd rather have FoxTel in Perth. I don't watch local stuff now, even as I'm back here for a vacation. I will go back and watch the TV in Australia though...especially since there's no tax for TV.

clinton666

Isn't ATV owned by Mediacorp?

Anyway, I'd rather have FoxTel in Perth. I don't watch local stuff now, even as I'm back here for a vacation. I will go back and watch the TV in Australia though...especially since there's no tax for TV.

You treacherous dog :oIo:

You don't have to keep telling everyone how you like to suck on big white dicks.

clinton666

cockledm3-6858373f69.jpg

"I dun watch mediacock tv anyway. Paying $110 to watch shitty news & shitty programmes is bad enough,
should they dare to increase then forget about it. It ain't as if i'm gonna miss it"

You spastic maggot :oIo:

All your family members are watching Mediacorp except for you

Little Nyonya, big ratings
Fans are drawn to the hard-luck serial for its strong plot and depiction of Peranakan culture

By jocelyn lee

The Little Nyonya, starring Qi Yu Wu and Jeanette Aw, is the most popular Chinese drama serial in the past eight years. -- PHOTO: MEDIACORP

The Chinese drama serial about a long-suffering Peranakan woman, The Little Nyonya, has chalked up a viewership rating of 26.3 per cent as of Monday night, beating the 22.5 per cent rating for the closing ceremony of the Beijing Olympics.
This means one in four viewers is tuning in to the Channel 8 show every night. Which means as many people watch the show each night as they did the tense women's table-tennis team final at the Beijing Olympics in August, where Singapore lost to the China team.

The 34-episode show is the most-watched Chinese drama serial in the past eight years and has beaten shows such as last year's top-rated drama serial Like Father Like Daughter, which had a rating of 20.5 per cent.

The show debuted on Nov 25 and the storyline spans over 70 years, starting in the 1930s.

Actress Jeanette Aw plays both the lead character Yue Niang and her mute mother Ju Xiang. Both overcome the odds despite being ostracised and tortured by their relatives.

Fans of the Cinderella-like serial are addicted to what they describe as a captivating plot and depiction of the rich Peranakan culture.

Tax associate Kee Hui Tian, who does not usually watch local Chinese dramas, now schedules her appointments to end before 9pm daily so she can rush home to catch the show.

The 23-year-old says: 'This drama serial has an intense and complex plot which involves many different generations and I try to watch every episode so I won't miss any important part.'

Another fan, administration executive Ong Ah Chew, 52, has even thought of skipping her folk dance classes on Monday and Friday nights so she can stay home to watch the show.

She says: 'It allows me to know more about Peranakan culture, which is very interesting. It is a refreshing topic for a local drama and a huge departure from the usual modern love stories on television.'

The serial has also attracted Peranakans in Singapore.

Mr Peter Wee, 62, first vice-president of The Peranakan Association Singapore, says the younger generation of Peranakans here are curious about their own history and culture and are watching the show as it provides them with glimpses of the past.

He adds: 'The show has helped to revive and raise awareness about aspects of the Peranakan culture, such as the beautiful costumes and traditional snacks, which have slowly been lost over the years.'

The team responsible for the show is elated by its success.

Aw says: 'I am appreciative of the chance to act in this role and I had put in a lot of effort. I am very happy that it is well-received by the public.'

Scriptwriter Ang Eng Tee, 48, who had written award-winning local dramas Holland V (2003) and Stepping Out (1999), says: 'I came up with this theme because the Peranakan culture is unique to Singapore and Malacca and I wanted to let more people know about it.

'It is a fresh subject for a local Chinese drama because we have not done anything like this before. I was taking a risk and now I am glad I did it.'

[email protected]

theblackhole

some people are simply envious and jealous of our world class mediacorps with their world class tv series. they simply can't stomach the idea that mediacorps has won so many accolades round the world. well done mediacorps. well done the little nonya.well done jeanette aw! you all rock man!!! majulah singapura!!!

clinton666

reporterl_s-caee8539e2.jpg

Only ppl like u & the 66% who have been brainwashed by PAPee will talk & think like that.
For a country with 154th ranking in Press Freedom, i will die laughing if i can be envious or jealous.​

You are just jealous of Jeanette.

You are so frigging ugly even the dirty retarded Blanglas refuse to bonk you.:oIo:

angie II

blah blah blah again

Oh dear... citing an innocent bitch like Jeanette i see u have ran out of excuses. tsk tsk..
I would have rep. your pts. had u guessed or answered correctly that i simply enjoyed attacking the state controlled media. :eek:

stress_reduction_kit-d61cb1ab88.jpg

Hey supreme retard, u need this.

theblackhole

please lah, where credit is due ( like the mediacorp's the little nonya ) please give generously. don't be a kiamshiak!!!...mediacorp did well. so we must congratulate them.the little nonya did well.so we must congratulate the great show. jeanette aw acted very well.so we must congratulate and encourage her. the more i see her, the more i fall in love with her.damned jialat.