• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Massive outcry on PM Lee’s promise to bring in 100,000 more foreign workers

Watchman

Massive outcry from netizens over PM Lee’s
promise to bring in 100,000 more foreign workers

<--- http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/0...mise-to-bring-in-100000-more-foreign-workers/

A massive outcry has erupted in Singapore’s blogosphere with many netizens lampooning PAP Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong for his “promise” to bring in 100,000 more foreign workers into Singapore.

Speaking in the United States a few days ago, PM Lee claimed that the rise in the number of foreign workers was “inevitable” due to the strong growth of the Singapore economy without substianting his statements.

“It cannot be helped because with the market so tight, if we don’t allow the foreign workers in, you are going to have overheating,” PM Lee was quoted as saying in the Straits Times.

PM Lee claimed that the PAP is “managing” the number of foreign workers by “calibrating” their levies to “moderate” the inflow.

“‘But even with that, I would imagine there would be more than 100,000 extra foreign workers this year. I cannot see it otherwise. We have to accept that,” he added.

Foreign workers help to reduce labor costs, thereby inflating GDP growth figures artificially in the process. A certain percentage of the PAP ministers’ multi-million pay is pegged to GDP growth – the higher the growth rates, the more money they bring home.

The outpouring of disgruntlement, disbelief and anger in cyberspace is an indication of the deep-seated unhappiness at the PAP’s pro-foreigner and ultra-liberal immigration policies.

Nearly a thousand comments are posted on Yahoo News so far with the majority of them against PM Lee’s initiative to bring in more foreign workers:

Singaporean:

“Singaporeans are jobless and receiving a very low pay and yet more foreigners coming!!!!!! Stop this shit PAP!!! PAP really sucks!!!”

Disappointed:

“I’m really disappointed. Why govt keep importing foreigners? And yet, the govt department does not recognise degrees from foreign universities (except those top tier-ed uni). Locals from such university cant find jobs in the government department. Why?”

Sekaran Renjiah:

“The PM is intending to allow another exodus of 100,000 foerign workers into S’pore’s workforce as he says “the move was unavoidable as the labour market here is bursting at its seams”. But I don’t understand where tis ppl gets their facts fr. Is nos. & percentages gd enough to make such drastic decisions ?? The reality is, there are tons of us out there looking for jobs like mad dogs but to no avail. Every weekend I receive job opportunities in the civil service thru [email protected]. But whenever I apply they send me an email stating regret in not being able to employ me. But yet again the post ad is repeated every week. Why is tat so? Does tis reflects tat there are no takers & thus foreign talents need to be employed?? Or is it tat by bringing foreign talents the gov can profit more in terms of levy or low wages??? Pls look after ur citizens 1st !! We voted for u to represent us not to imprison us !!!!”

Sad:

“I am 40 plus I am not able to get a job. I have send many job applications and even went to Alexandra Hospital personal for a job interview as a Therapist Assistance still I am not given the job. Yet they say they need more staff for the hospital industry. More foreigns are given the Job in the hopital even doing pharmacy assist packing of medicine behind counter they want chinese speaking staff. Even I look for a job as a parttime packer I went to the recruit express in Jurong for an interview still no call from the agency. But went you look in the paper there is lot of vacancy why are they not employing the Indian and Malay.I have always voted for the government but this election I have to think twice. They say singaporean are fussy and always complaining.As if we have nothing better to do. These foreigner come to singapore to make money and retire back in their homeland. Yes they may have their PR
but the time to retire they have a business in their homeland because their currency value low. In singapore dollar 400 in philippines is a bank manager salary 19000 peos. Two month ago I went for an interview as an operator the pay was $1000.
Three singaporean and one philippino PR went for the interview the Production manager and supervior was a filipo and they employ the the philippino PR and the three singaporean was not given the job. Why was the job not given to the singaporean because we are not capable to do the job, not truth they only like to employ their own people the filipo. Not only they come here to work they break family. They strip the men until he has nothing but only his brief then he has no where to go only to the street or old folk home. Nowday, I see people sleeping in void deck.”

Kamum:

“Allowing foreigners in is to displace those Singaporeans who don’t support them.Simple formula for staying in power so that in the name of politics they can enrich themselves further.PAP members are shameless.
The President of the most powerful nation, in terms of politics, military and economic is only paid fraction of our ‘Minister of State’. Are we saying our junior ministers are much more capable than any world leaders? Simply shameful and disgusting. If these ministers are allowed to run a company outside Singapore, I bet all of them will fail miserably. That is the reason we need more foreigners to work for Singapore and these elites could reap the benefit. Poor Singaporeans, strangers in their own land. Long live Gong Li.”

tis is bullshit.
he has nothing to back him up and i dun tink he will listen this outcry.
more FT to prevent overheating, this oreadi doesnt make sense to me.

furthermore, those commented on yahoo news, i believe they belong to the 66%.
sry your master has abandon you.

Look beyond the picture, all these importation of so call foreign workers. Is it another conspiracy by the government to set up another source of avenue? Everyone knows that the CPF is practically bankrupt by their wanton ways. So by importing hundreds of thousands of foreign workers, just imagine the amount of levies they are able to collect back in return.

wah piang oi .... 2 meals a day already "gau um dim" already ..... current wage still have to compete with foreiners'' sighhh ...:(

... “It cannot be helped because with the market so tight, if we don’t allow the foreign workers in, you are going to have overheating,” PM Lee was quoted as saying in the Straits Times. ...
ofcos! ... it wil oso help ze poor in sg! ...

tis is bullshit.
he has nothing to back him up and i dun tink he will listen this outcry.
more FT to prevent overheating, this oreadi doesnt make sense to me.

furthermore, those commented on yahoo news, i believe they belong to the 66%.
sry your master has abandon you.

Nothing is making any sense at this stage anymore .

If we continue to go the way we are going .

Look beyond the picture, all these importation of so call foreign workers. Is it another conspiracy by the government to set up another source of avenue? Everyone knows that the CPF is practically bankrupt by their wanton ways. So by importing hundreds of thousands of foreign workers, just imagine the amount of levies they are able to collect back in return.

The levies collected are chicken feed !

wah piang oi ..... so many more .... mrt and buses will be packed worst than sardine ..:(

0507_A13.jpg

you all don't exaggerate things and fan up the flames lah.
Sinkies so chiam meh?
I see your going overseas jia hong with whole family at least 2 times a yr.
Some more can upgrade cars and houses like buying mee siam like dat.
Some more can go casino every weekend to burn $$ away.
Yet still got spare $$ to invest here invest there.
Don't bluff me lah.
your thought I dunno how many assets your have and how many digits in your bank account meh?
Chey.:D

hI sINKKESS ,DON'T always complain,TAKE ACTION NOW!VOTE OUT THE MIW IN THE COMING GENERAL ELECTION !THE MIW WILL ONLY LISTEN TO U DURING THE GENERAL ELECTION AND WILL BEG AND EVEN KISS YOUR TOES TO WIN YOUR VOTES.REALLY !CROSS MY HEART !

............THE MIW WILL ONLY LISTEN TO U DURING THE GENERAL ELECTION AND WILL BEG AND EVEN KISS YOUR TOES TO WIN YOUR VOTES.......

I don't think so la. They had passed the stage of even talking to the peasants.

If they are worried, with only maximum 2 years to go before mandatory election, this ivory-tower PM can still say to bring in 100,000 FTs without even batting an eye for the voters, you think he really care now ?

In the last election, he did not even bother to visit some of the precints, while the WP team went round a few times.

Hope some competition again in AMK GRC. Will be a likely GRC to fall, together with the jamban woman.

wahlaneh...
cry until no tear also no use one lah.
if boss pay me $1000 can pay 2 X FT/FW $500 each who u think he will choose?
obvious answer liao mah.

I don't think so la. They had passed the stage of even talking to the peasants.

If they are worried, with only maximum 2 years to go before mandatory election, this ivory-tower PM can still say to bring in 100,000 FTs without even batting an eye for the voters, you think he really care now ?

In the last election, he did not even bother to visit some of the precints, while the WP team went round a few times.

Hope some competition again in AMK GRC. Will be a likely GRC to fall, together with the jamban woman.

The most, they send in SAF paper generals to quell the "freak elections"

:D

The most, they send in SAF paper generals to quell the "freak elections"

:D

Yalor. anything that does not goes with their wishes, are consider 'freak' events.

Countries like Taiwan, Philippines, Thailand, etc, after each change of command, an audit is usually done by the incoming government to dig all skeletons out of the closets.

Probably a good way of doing things for the country once in a while.

the more FTs the better lah...

look singaporeans so dry, so bankrupt and so sterile..

we need FTs of all colours and creeds to spice up this tiny little place..

you don't agree?

Like I said before, sinkees very kiasi and kiasu. If they see any danger to the establishment, they rather go for time tested formula even though the system has been screwing them continuously. That is why I believe, rather then go for those "Big" minister post, they should rather target those that even if lost were not be seen to threaten the nation "rice bowl". And I am talking about post like MCYS, or that tong sampah minister post. Such position that are perceived to be insignificant to the people.

Make sure to vote some of the CBL idiots out. This is the only language they will understand short of storming the bastille.