• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Makcik Upset The Lowly Private Driver Assumes All Hijab Moslem Women Are Canteen Workers! Racial Microaggression! Islamophobia!

A Singaporean woman, Atikah Amalina, who goes by the handle @thetudungtraveller, has spoken up about her experience of having a stereotype foisted on her.

She shared her experience in a Facebook post on April 5:

Google employee
Atikah is a Google employee and a known mental health advocate who has written about the topic publicly.

Therefore, what was most galling about her recent experience was the immediate assumption that she must be a canteen staff when she boarded a private hire car.

She revealed that the conversation took place with the driver of the private hire car the moment she hopped on.

She wrote about how the conversation transpired:

“Oh you work in the canteen ah in Google?”
I wasn’t sure I heard him correctly. “Canteen?”
“Yeah, the food court upstairs.”
Took me a moment to process what he said and the implications.
“No, I work in Google.”
“Oh.”

Feeling hurt, the conversation thankfully ended immediately.

Presumptuous
Atikah revealed her feelings at that moment:

My immediate feelings were a confusion of humiliation, anger and indignation. Just because I’m a Malay woman in hijab, it was immediately assumed that I work in the canteen when he picked me up at the office – because surely, someone like me cannot be working in Google, right? Wrong. I was very obviously upset, and the driver didn’t say anything after that.

She was also quick to clarify that there is “nothing wrong with working in a canteen”, as she was pointing out that the faux pas committed by the driver is considered part of “racial microagressions” that occur frequently enough.

Atikah wrote:

There’s nothing wrong about working in a canteen, let’s be clear about that, but racial microagressions like this is draining, unfair and points towards stereotypes and judgements made by virtue of your perceived race/group. For some one of us, this is a daily occurrence, and it. is. tiring.

Consciousness raising
Atikah spent the rest of her post offering her take on how to raise the consciousness of those who are not too clued-in.

But for those who are aware, they can play their part by calling out such behaviour — even if it means making the perpetrator feel uncomfortable — as well as being mindful enough not to be part of it.

Atikah wrote:

The key here is the unawareness of the communicator, and how it may be seen as trivial and one-off. But here’s the thing: microaggressions are active manifestations or a reflection of our worldviews of inclusion/exclusion, superiority/inferiority, and desirability/undesirability. Much of this is outside the level of conscious awareness, thus we engage in actions that unintentionally oppress and discriminate against others.

It has to be noted that at no point in her post did she refer to such microaggressions as being racist.

https://mothership.sg/2019/04/woman-singapore-mistaken-google-employee-canteen-staff/

She is upset tat the driver never assume she is the singkieland ah neh Makcik

Just like dr m when he was asked to go to the back when visiting a chinese friend's house and that stuck with him till today tgat ch8nese are the most racist and stuck up people in the country.

Very touchie, she has not known what happened to Mdm Ho at Shangri-la.

Shocking so insensitive....maybe the driver should instead ask how many Courts household items she has on HP ?

Would love to see her wearing nothing but the tudung..so I can googlemap her buck naked body for her holey site

KNN marcik needs to work in canteen to keep their fat ass moving instead of working in a desk bound job KNN

Would love to see her wearing nothing but the tudung..so I can googlemap her buck naked body for her holey site

There's a lot of hijabi porn online. Nothing but the hijab on, and she gets plowed by a stiffy.

I've been tasked to conduct a dialogue session for sinkies, to stop stereotyping m&ds as moslems, drug addicts, canteen workers, mee rebus hawkers and food pandas. There are also other m&d moslems who made it to university. It's time to put an end to sinkies' islamophobia and racism.

I hate being stereotype cos they kept on assuming I'm staying in bukit timah private estate and drinving a Lamborghini. Sibeh sian

I've been tasked to conduct a dialogue session for sinkies, to stop stereotyping m&ds as moslems, drug addicts, canteen workers, mee rebus hawkers and food pandas. There are also other m&d moslems who made it to university. It's time to put an end to sinkies' islamophobia and racism.
pse ensure that the session is not held during peak meal periods, you can't expect the m&ds who're attending to be deprived of tptn and earnings :frown:
Nothing's wrong being a canteen worker. What the fuss?
hanor, you can't blame the driver when the macik / mudcik smells of mee siam with some hum odour :redface:

At least he didn't ask if she's on a suicide bombing mission. This bitch needs a reality check.

pse ensure that the session is not held during peak meal periods, you can't expect the m&ds who're attending to be deprived of tptn and earnings :frown:

hanor, you can't blame the driver when the macik / mudcik smells of mee siam with some hum odour :redface:

Her buah dada smells like begedil... even the texture feels like begedil. :biggrin:

26055932_1781904978507919_5246722377431621368_n.jpg