• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mai Gong Mo Jio...Yahoo Finance say CDL has very good potential as it is very undervalue...dun miss the boat

realDonaldTrump

I can understand that it is the right approach for the sentosa condo to generate publicity and interests, because they try to package it like a high-end project launch with a 40% lelong component. However I am bewildered why their management allows the industrial property agent to do so. With both announcements back-to-back, are u trying to tell investors that your company is really desperate, or rental yields cannot cover the cost-of-funds (interests)?

Imagine you want to offload multiple units in the same estate, are you sure you want the property agent to shame you by distributing flyers, telling the neighborhood that you got to run road?

Doing so, likely translate to stronger bargaining power for seller and lower selling price. It says a lot about the management's judgement call. CDL is not Oxley. If the management approved such shaming, it hinted that the property agents' priority was to get a buyer; securing a good price was secondary.

CDL's 97 freehold industrial properties should be offloaded discretely or staggered, eg. UOL is also trying to sell multiple freehold units in CSI Distribution Center, but they will only offload a few units each time.
Right approach for selling high-end condo project
65 out of 204 units sold in a week
https://www.asiaone.com/money/buyers-snap-65-units-condo-sentosa-cove-after-40-price-slash
But I doubt they can sell 1/3 of the industrial properties in a week.

k1976

Right approach for selling high-end condo project
65 out of 204 units sold in a week
https://www.asiaone.com/money/buyers-snap-65-units-condo-sentosa-cove-after-40-price-slash
But I doubt they can sell 1/3 of the industrial properties in a week.
Now not the right time to buy industry building as costing as top factor and industry landscape is changing rapidly, any big investment in wrong tech or older tech will be a Big Big mistake

20yrs ago, my amdk company made a mistake to invest few quarters too early...they miss out the cost advantage for next decade to break even. It is similar story for another big local company here woodland

realDonaldTrump

Now not the right time to buy industry building as costing as top factor and industry landscape is changing rapidly, any big investment in wrong tech or older tech will be a Big Big mistake

20yrs ago, my amdk company made a mistake to invest few quarters too early...they miss out the cost advantage for next decade to break even. It is similar story for another big local company here woodland

cost-of-funds are very high now, some companies take profit from freehold industrial properties and switch to smaller leasehold or move operations to Malaysia.

But I think commercial properties more headache. Many retrenchment going around not reported.

Prudential Financial's PGIM Struggles to Sell Singapore Towers
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/arti...ial-s-pgim-struggles-to-sell-singapore-towers

congo9

People who throw money at the Sinkie stock exchange are just not very bright.
It is ..
Shein , tik tok have their company registered in Singapore.
But they refuse to even list in Singapore.
So you know what's wrong with Singkie stock market.

congo9

cost-of-funds are very high now, some companies take profit from freehold industrial properties and switch to smaller leasehold or move operations to Malaysia.

But I think commercial properties more headache. Many retrenchment going around not reported.

Prudential Financial's PGIM Struggles to Sell Singapore Towers
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/arti...ial-s-pgim-struggles-to-sell-singapore-towers
Why do you need office when everyone is trying to work from home ?

k1976

Powell Signals Rate-Cut Delay After Run of Inflation Surprises​

• Fed chair said appropriate to give policy further time to work
  • Central bank can keep rates steady for ‘as long as needed’

Powell Says Fed Policy Will Likely Need More Time to Work
Unmute

Powell Says Fed Policy Will Likely Need More Time to Work

By Craig Torres
April 17, 2024 at 1:38 AM GMT+8
Updated on
April 17, 2024 at 2:58 AM GMT+8

Federal Reserve Chair Jerome Powell signaled policymakers will wait longer than previously anticipated to cut interest rates following a series of surprisingly high inflation readings.

Powell pointed to the lack of additional progress made on inflation after the rapid decline seen at the end of last year, noting it will likely take more time for officials to gain the necessary confidence that price growth is headed toward the Fed’s 2% goal before lower borrowing costs.
https://www.bloomberg.com/tips/

realDonaldTrump

Why do you need office when everyone is trying to work from home ?
not just industrial and residential properties, CDL is also offloading freehold commercial-office/shopping property.

Delfi Orchard, a 40-year-old strata-titled building that is majority held by City Developments Ltd (CDL), is up for collective sale at a $438 million guide price.

The 11-storey complex comprises 150 strata-titled units (127 shops and 23 apartments), of which 126 are owned by CDL. Situated at 402 Orchard Road, Delfi Orchard sits on a 20,264 square feet (sq ft) freehold site zoned for commercial use, with height control of up to 20 storeys.

https://www.straitstimes.com/busine...or-collective-sale-at-438-million-guide-price

realDonaldTrump

Looks like CDL is in whole lot of trouble.
It is very good to recycle capital but the way they do it looks desperate.

proceeds from this sales will be great as extraordinary dividends, not bullets for Sherman to prove himself in new ventures.

congo9

It is very good to recycle capital but the way they do it looks desperate.

proceeds from this sales will be great as extraordinary dividends, not bullets for Sherman to prove himself.
It sounded very desperate. CDL may pose a big profit after selling all these properties or assets

They should be sitting on a very hefty gains for all these properties they hold on for years.

Yahoo is not very careful or maybe very deliberate when doing their reporting with the headlines.