• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Madam President Approved New Law To Allow PAP Gahment To Borrow Up To $90 Billion For New Infrastructure! Majulah PAP! Majulah Singapura!

SINGAPORE - President Halimah Yacob has given her approval for a law that will allow the Government to borrow for major long-term infrastructure, the first time such loans will be allowed since the framework for protecting Singapore’s reserves was established in 1991.

As custodian of the country's past savings, all proposals on borrowing must be carefully scrutinised by President Halimah, and the Government can raise loans only after she has given the nod.

"This is a prudent and considered approach. Borrowing obliges future generations to make good what the current generation has committed to, failing which, the burden naturally falls on our past reserves," she said after she gave her assent to the Bill for the Significant Infrastructure Government Loan Act (Singa) on Monday (June 7).

Under the new law passed by Parliament in May, the Government will be able to borrow up to $90 billion to pay for infrastructure that will last for at least 50 years.

The annual interest threshold of such borrowings cannot exceed $5 billion, and each project funded under the law must be sizeable and cost at least $4 billion.

Describing Singa as an "important waypoint" under the reserves protection framework, Madam Halimah said the law will allow the Government to distribute fiscal responsibility more equitably across the generations who will benefit from the projects.

"I am glad that parliamentarians had a robust debate during last month's second reading of the Singa Bill," she added.

Explaining her decision to give her assent, she said the Government had briefed her and the Council of Presidential Advisers on the proposal, and assured her that there would be safeguards to make sure the borrowing is done in a sustainable and responsible manner so that future generations of Singaporeans will not be saddled with overly onerous financing costs.

The President noted that this is important as it would help to mitigate the risk of future draws on Singapore's past reserves due to such borrowings.

"Singapore has, thanks to the wisdom of past leadership and good governance, accumulated our national reserves over many past generations. We similarly owe it to our future generations to steward these reserves responsibly," she added.

During the debate on the law in Parliament in May, Deputy Prime Minister Heng Swee Keat, who was also Finance Minister then, said Singapore was embarking on a "generational upgrade" to its infrastructure over the next 15 years, and borrowing to pay for the major infrastructure projects will help to smooth out the hump expected in development spending.

With major highways, the Cross Island and Jurong Region MRT lines, and climate adaptation structures in the works, Singapore expects its yearly development expenditure to rise to around 5 per cent of gross domestic product, compared with the current base line of 3.7 per cent.

Singa will help to lower the yearly figure to 4.2 per cent for the next decade.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...-to-law-that-lets-government-borrow-for-major

Which means the Govt is preparing for population explosion to come? No wonder they kept asking all Singaporeans to get vaccinated to speed up reopening of the borders. LHL is dying, he can't wait to fulfill his dream?

Knew it ! Whenever he's on leave ......... something exciting happens, always ! lol.........

KNN my uncle would have asked halimau did pap used their karchng as collateral before she gave assent? KNN

LKY said it. They're daft. One day they will wake up to a WP govt that finds the coffers empty.
KNN that's the main leeson that My uncle alittle worry if oppies take over as gov they will be honest to leeclare sg vault is emptied and withhold his cpf withdrawal KNN with pap still in charge they will take the young sinkie money to allow my uncle to withdraw KNN

Your uncle is daft if he only relies on his cpf to survive. He deserves his lousy planning or he is a loser

Local reserves are infinite as it is in SGD.

Foreign reserves are what we often talkabout.

It's basic economics stupid. The garmen spends 1 billion, MAS just credit LTA or MND account 1 B SGD electronically.

Under normal situation ,who the hell would loan money when u hv cash, seems like they bad mgt n spend all,no woner cpf they lick down for retirement,its like taking 100 dollar from u keep it in theor pocket n gave u nack do keys years later every mth in cents

Capital Of China Beijing GIF

Which means the Govt is preparing for population explosion to come? No wonder they kept asking all Singaporeans to get vaccinated to speed up reopening of the borders. LHL is dying, he can't wait to fulfill his dream?

Don't be a fool. Opening the borders is good for our local economy. Many local SMEs and hawkers have been incurring heavy losses since the CB started last year. Demand for local services and F&B have plunged ever since foreigners stopped coming to Singapore.

If CECA were such a success, it would have brought in so much revenue for us we wouldn't need to borrow to build infrastructure.

if our SWFs had performed better, we wouldn't need to borrow more either.

the PAP has been far from exceptional and at best mediocre in their performance over the last 2 decades.

The stupid logic of the President "approving" and allowing govt spendings from the reserves is so ridiculous.

Say for example, when the a govt is elected democratically in a General Election that means that the citizens have spoken and this is the govt they want.

Why then you need another layer of a singular person to decide for the citizens if the govt whom they have legitimately into power is doing the "correct" thing by investing in their own country ?

This Halimah always approve and say yes. Can't she say No and make her own suggestions or tweak in some changes.

She will say if chicken is expensive...then buy fish lor.

You expect her to disapprove? Nothing more than an overpaid rubber stamp puppet. :biggrin:

Also, these kind of approvals should be done in Parliament (Congress)... is the Sinkie President analogous to a constitutional monarch, just need to give the 'royal assent' to public policies that have already been decided?