• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lui Tuck Yew red-faced over Wayangparty's poll & article on Ah Seng !!

Avantas

By Fang Zhi Yuan

For the second time in less than a month, articles posted on wayangparty.com were brought up in Parliament for discussion.

On 15th January 2009, we published an article “T0p 10 things Seng Han Thong should be thankful for” which has been circulating throughout the internet forums. It is not known who the author is. (Read our original article here)

On 12th January 2009, we conducted a poll to ask who deserved more sympathy: Mr Seng or his assailant Ong Kah Chua. The majority of netizens voted for the latter though we have issued a strong condemnation on the unprovoked attack on the same page.

The issue resurface in Parliament yesterday when Ms Penny Low, Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC solicited the views of Senior Minister of State for Information, Communications and the Arts Lui Tuck Yew on netizens’ response to the attack on Mr Seng. (Read article here)

Mr Lui said he did not think the Internet community did enough to rebut some of these comments. ‘It is a squandered opportunity for a higher degree of self-regulation,’ he told Parliament.

“It was disappointing, and my impression is that I do not think the community itself have done enough to rebut some of these unhelpful comments delivered by fellow netizens,” he added.

Mr Lui appeared to be taken aback by the sentiments expressed by the online community which is radically different from what is reported by the mainstream media where Mr Seng is adored literally like a national hero. Over here where there is no self-imposed censorship, Singaporeans are free to express what they really feel deep down inside their hearts. The truth must have hurt.

Read full article here:

http://wayangparty.com/?p=4841

Ah Guan

PAP is famous for increasing prices to solve all the country's problems

Now they want to regulate the internet but they can't

Why? Because no COE gantries can be installed along the information superhighway

oli9

If there's a popularity poll between any MPs & MSK, Im sure many MPs will learn the sad but hard truth that theyre way down there with the cockroaches & rats.

... Mr Lui appeared to be taken aback by the sentiments expressed by the online community which is radically different from what is reported by the mainstream media where Mr Seng is adored literally like a national hero. ...
wat a bookworm! ... oni stay @ home 2 mug 10 yr series ...

dun noe watz happening in ze real world ...

even indy jones advises a student in crystal skull, 'to become a good archaeologist you have to get out of the library' ... n u gt bookworms who collect million $ evry mth 2 study 10 yr series @ home ...

Pek Kim Lui

He still does not get it. People are UPSET with the government.

Boy is he out of touch with the ground. He better spend some time away from brown nosers and get back to reality.

ahleebabasingaporethief

How can a person that has never seen porn be a Ministar?

You need people that are all rounders to lead the country the right way.

No wonder, we get all these 'screwed ups" policies time after time.

Most of our policy making Ministars are wearing "BLINKERS" or "ba chew ta stamP", and I strongly believed "Being Snooked By The Grassroots" and given wrong inforamtion about the ground feeling of people.

BTW, most Grassloots people are not "ah sia kias", have led hard lifes....you think they will break their own rice bowls by telling the truth, the whole truth, nothing but the truth? Lun Cheow ok.

Merl Haggard

The lives of all these PAPPY fuckers are much too sheltered.
How could we ever expect them to be in touch with reality?

Einfield

Boy is he out of touch with the ground. He better spend some time away from brown nosers and get back to reality.

He is a SAF scholar but not very street smart.

People reacted the way they did, because AH Seng represent the power, PAP, Dirty Harry.

So when they see AH Seng kana burn, they see what he represent kana burn.

So if Lui Tuck Yew Kana burn, same reaction, it doesn't matter who, as long as they belongs to the oppressive regime.

Yes. That is indeed the issue.

The lives of all these PAPPY fuckers are much too sheltered.
How could we ever expect them to be in touch with reality?

Yes again. They are becoming so detached that they are living in a different world. If you happen to come across email exchange of decision makers and policy wonks, you would reaise that their interpreation of events are different.

People reacted the way they did, because AH Seng represent the power, PAP, Dirty Harry.

So when they see AH Seng kana burn, they see what he represent kana burn.

So if Lui Tuck Yew Kana burn, same reaction, it doesn't matter who, as long as they belongs to the oppressive regime.

Yes, the first tangible attempt to pass a message as the elections has been as an effective messenger of people's view has been crippled.

Lui should ask himself why Singaporeans reacted in that manner. Do we drink water that is different from rest of the world. Did we come from caves. Were we schooled.

The issue is not self regulation of the Internet. But why Singaporeans reacted in this manner. Is it a sign, a signal, a manifestation of growing dismay of its citizens?

Frankly I can't give a fuck about the Internet. Its too big to control. Only those who do not want to remain anonymous need to seek some protection. On the whole anonymous post carry so much dept and substance that people are aware that these are not malicious or mischievous posts.

etherc

How can you blame him? He started work in an environment of "Yes Sir! I'm sorry Sir! Right away Sir!" And now he's put to work in the real world environment of unlimited possibilities where its " Who the heck do you think you are, don't expect my vote,Talk to my hand."

The thing about p0rn, I really wonder. Doesn't he travel to countries like America or Australia where Penthouse & Playboy are sold and XXX shops sprout up all over? So no curiosity at all?And the cadre of recruits at the time of his enlistment were so non secular that they can control their surging hormones like some Xmen? I can only say no wonder they get million dollar salaries. They must be ascetics! Wait though because I haven't heard of ascetics getting million dollar salaries. We are indeed a world first to give ascetics a new meaning.

funglung

Sinkies must take the stand now.

SHOW TO THEMSELVES THAT ENOUGH OF THEM HAVE BALLS

STAND UP WITH AND BY THOSE WHO SPOKE OUT FOR THEM

BE THEY THE OPPOSITION, REGARDLESS IF THEY ARE MP OR NOT MP

GIVE THEM THE SUPPORT AND ENCOURAGEMENT

STAND UP WITH AND BY BLOGGERS

KICK OUT LKY AND HIS BLOODSUCKING BUNCH OF PARASITES

denzuko1

How can a person that has never seen porn be a Ministar?

You need people that are all rounders to lead the country the right way.

No wonder, we get all these 'screwed ups" policies time after time.

Most of our policy making Ministars are wearing "BLINKERS" or "ba chew ta stamP", and I strongly believed "Being Snooked By The Grassroots" and given wrong inforamtion about the ground feeling of people.

BTW, most Grassloots people are not "ah sia kias", have led hard lifes....you think they will break their own rice bowls by telling the truth, the whole truth, nothing but the truth? Lun Cheow ok.

Huh? LHL seen porn before? Its a wonder he chooses Ho Jinx, he should at least opt for Lily Neo level.

lockeliberal

ear Scroobal

There will always be anger and disastisfaction against the PAP, Pre Internet and Post Internet, the Internet however serves as a megaphone for the active, the loud and disaffected giving them a feeling of unity, and a consciousness of growing anger.

The PAP is as tone deaf as it comes and that bunch of syncophantic MPs are probaly dumb deaf and mute to boot (exp Lily Neo and a few others.)

But to what extent does anger justify extreme violence ? Lui has a point however poorly expressed. The anger amongst netizens and those expressing views are one's of undisguised joy that the PAP and its MPs deserve their come uppance. even if a well defined serious crime has been committed.

They refuse to distinguish the criminal act from their very own intense political anger and when asked if the very same act was committed on their family member, would probably say that no family member would do such an act justifying such an action.

Locke

denzuko1

I am a strong believer that people will always follow the behaviour of their leaders. Gauging by the way they attack the opposition, it is no wonder that the neticen are such ruthless to them.

What do you expect from people when you are treating others this way? Bare in mind that respect must be earned and not enforced. The way I see it, the PAP has no understanding on the meaning of this word.

The_Latest_H

I may not like Mr. Lui's response, however, I also do note he has a point, but poorly conveyed. Still, that doesn't mean I make it personal. All these differences, which I have put across in many other threads, are of a professional nature, and not personal.

If the PAP chaps want to make it personal, when it isn't, that's up to them. But I'm not gonna lose any sleep at night because of it. All I can say to them is that if they make it so personally, its their own time and effort that is wasted, and its their own sleep that they sacrificed, not mine.

DrPanacea

The PAP is so out of touch with the ground that they still believe that Singaporeans love them. This wll be one reason for their downfall.

Get real Mr Liu. Please come down from your ivory tower. You should ask instead why there is so much against the PAP on the internet. When a gahment prefers to rule by fear this is what you get. No love from the citizens. Get it now?????

Einfield

I am a strong believer that people will always follow the behaviour of their leaders. Gauging by the way they attack the opposition, it is no wonder that the neticen are such ruthless to them.

What do you expect from people when you are treating others this way? Bare in mind that respect must be earned and not enforced. The way I see it, the PAP has no understanding on the meaning of this word.

Good Point!
For every action, there's a equal opposite reaction.
Dirty Harry is now slowly reaping what he sow.

U

UpYoz_olo

The PAP is so out of touch with the ground that they still believe that Singaporeans love them. This wll be one reason for their downfall.

Get real Mr Liu. Please come down from your ivory tower. You should ask instead why there is so much against the PAP on the internet. When a gahment prefers to rule by fear this is what you get. No love from the citizens. Get it now?????

Wonder who is out of touch? The 66.6% or the 33.4%?

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

Frankiestine

The truth hurts Mr. Lui...lets face it...its time they wise up to the fact that there is a lot of dissent on the ground and so what if things gets personal over the SHiT incident...these are the personal views of individuals who are fed up with the establishment..

Lestat

Anything that is not mainstream will not be acceptable by the scums in white. :biggrin:

Hmm... Let me rephrase that. Anything that does not praise their system will not be acceptable by the scums in white.

This makes more sense. :smile: