• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

LTA award $556 million bus contract to angmo firm who only had 3rd the lowest bid!

First the Austrian construction company Alpine Bau rips LTA off $500million, now they award this contract to the 3rd lowest bid? seriously? Why not the lowest bid. Who is collecting all these bribes at LTA?

London-based Tower Transit wins first Government bus contract to run services in Jurong -

SINGAPORE - London-based Tower Transit has won an inaugural government bus contract, beating seven other firms including incumbents SMRT and SBS Transit.

The firm, which had submitted the third lowest bid, will operate the new Bulim Bus Depot - off Jurong West Avenue 2 - and 26 bus services from the Jurong East, Bukit Batok and Clementi bus interchanges progressively from the second quarter of 2016.

These services are currently run by SMRT and SBS Transit.

Tower Transit will get an estimated total fee of $556 million over the five-year contract period to run the services.

Announcing the results of the competitive tender on Friday, the Land Transport Authority said that commuters can expect higher service levels as all bus services will have scheduled headways of no more than 15 minutes in both directions during the morning and evening peaks.

Feeder services will run at shorter intervals of six to eight minutes.

The current fleet of 290 buses serving the zone will grow to about 380.

LTA's chief executive officer Chew Men Leong said the award of the first bus package "is a major milestone" for the bus industry.

"The restructuring of the public bus industry and the injection of more competition will bring about even higher bus service levels for commuters. With bus contracting, the Government will plan bus services and can thus be more responsive to changes in ridership and commuter needs."

Under the new regime, the Government owns the buses and other infrastructure, collects all the revenue from fares and pays transport firms to operate the routes.

In awarding the contract to Tower Transit, the LTA looked at the bid price but more emphasis was put on quality, Mr Chew said.

The firm has pledged to offer more than 400 bus captains who will be affected by the move of services, employment at current or better terms.

Senior Minister of State for Transport Josephine Teo said: "A key priority during the transition is the welfare and interests of bus captains, technicians and other bus workers. We look forward to the full support from both the incumbent and new operators during the transition, to minimise inconveniences to commuters and set the stage for higher service levels."
- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/si...ct-run-services-jurong-2#sthash.3K3M00Hy.dpuf

Re: LTA award $556 million bus contract to angmo firm who only had 3rd the lowest bid

Singaporeans cannot run a bus company???

sinkies, you have to ask yourself, why is the govt giving away all the business contract to foreigners????

Only PAP ball-licking sinkies are rewarded for business contracts????? and other sinkies should be discarded??

This is how PAP views you and you vote for such fucks????

Only a self -serving shit will behave like this..They scare of rich sinkies especially those who don't support them???

Re: LTA award $556 million bus contract to angmo firm who only had 3rd the lowest bid

sinkies, you have to ask yourself, why is the govt giving away all the business contract to foreigners????

Only PAP ball-licking sinkies are rewarded for business contracts????? and other sinkies should be discarded??

Only a self -serving shit will behave like this..They scare of rich sinkies especially those who don't support them???

Spot on Jiu hu Kia. Noted and thank you.

Now you just fuck home too. We dun need foreign rubbish like you in Singapore and this forum. We can comment on our own politics also.

You tell yourself and your ball-less parents to quit allowing UMNO to screw their arse.

This is exactly correct. The buses are owned by LTA. The interchanges and infrastructure are all owned by LTA. Fares are collected by LTA. It says so in the article. then why do you need pay a UK company $556 million to run it for you? They could not set up a subsidiarary to do it themselves? PAP really spend taxpayer money like water.

Wow... the country is being split up into many smaller pieces to be outsourced to companies all over the world. :wink:

Austrians constructing MRT lines, foreign owned power stations, award-winning China construction companies building new high-rise HDB flats.

One of my buddies who works at Jurong Island told me that Jurong Island is technically fully owned by the petrochem companies there. Singapore only has 'sovereignty' in name over Jurong Island.

Best Familee-run enterprise, this SG Inc. :biggrin: