• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Longkang minister Vivian Bala wants hawkers to share their trade secrets. Acceptable?

Hawkers cautious about sharing "trade secrets" at proposed training institute
By Olivia Siong

POSTED: 07 Apr 2013 6:22 PM

We've often heard of "makan" or food places in Singapore that got "lost" and was never found again. Thus, some have floated the idea of opening a training institute for retiring hawkers, to impart their knowledge to younger aspiring ones. However, some hawkers said they have their reservations.

SINGAPORE: Hawker centres are part and parcel of everyday life in Singapore -- and the government has announced it will be rolling out 10 new centres by 2017. However, there are several key challenges -- like finding enough Singaporeans who are game for the job, and for retiring hawkers to pass on their know-how to younger, aspiring hawkers.

Some have suggested opening a training institute to do this, but this has drawn mixed reactions from hawkers.

Hawker Gina Rajan, who runs Gina's Vadai, said: "Not everyone wants to leak out their secret recipe, impossible."

Normohanif Mohamed Noor from Haniff Authentic Nasi Lemak, said: "Basically if it's just to teach, then yes. But normally for trade secrets, I don't think that people will really teach that."

Younger hawkers too expressed similar sentiments.

25-year-old Daniel Surendran, who sells Putu Mayam at hawker stall Heavens, said: "If you ask me do I actually want to pass (the knowledge) to someone, I'll be very afraid. Is that person just doing it for business? Or do they really have the love and the passion for the food? When I pass over something like that, (I hope) the quality is retained or if not made better."

Food critic and founder of Singapore food guide Makansutra, KF Seetoh told MediaCorp that it is more than just gaining the secret recipes of hawkers.

He said: "They're not teachers... And if you ask some of these hawkers to release some of their family jewels, (it is as good as asking) Warren Buffet to give you his pin number because he is retiring as well."

Head of the hawker centre public consultation panel, Elim Chew, said there will need to be demand for people to bite.

She said: "I believe when there's enough of an outcry, when people say, 'look, we want to be able to learn how to cook all these dishes in the hawker centres.' Then, I believe the training centre will happen, (together with the) whole entire business chain."

Such plans have become food for thought, as the government waits to see how Singaporeans respond to such opportunities.

- CNA/ac

melzp

Re: Longkang minister Vivian Bala wants hawkers to share their trade secrets. Accepta

its as good as asking GIC, MPs to reveal all assets to public.

tyudm

Re: Longkang minister Vivian Bala wants hawkers to share their trade secrets. Accepta

For a start ask the world worst elected president and Horse Cunt (HC) about transparency in handling national assets.

erection2015

Alfrescian (InfP) + C

If they did this then they would end up with no secrets followed by no trades and no more money.

Tuayapeh

trust idiots like Elim (I am good friends with Madam Dowager) chew and VB to come out with stooopid suggestions like this...

for all you know they are just setting this up so that their "brother" organisations like Food Republic, Sheng Siong and NTUc can come and makan the poor hawkers...

give the hawkers a rest la.... let them hire a few extra helpers from the FTs you love so much and less of your stupid interference from NEA and all your govt bureaucratic organisations like MOM.....

the hawker culture is the last vestige of this country so STOP FUCKING WITH THEIR LIVES YOU BASTARDS!!!!

Microsoft

If dis work out successful...moi guess...rights to de "trade secret" goes to NTUC...or other glc...so on top of rental...u nid to pay loyalties for ebery bowl of wantan mee sold...sinkie...songboh? :biggrin:

1. aiyoh!
2. just reveal what's jinnx's remuneration package shall be suffice for a good start.
3. eat full veri free dafter sheep hoh:biggrin:

wMulew

As usual dumbfuck opposition supporting retards talk one thing complain another. U see so many threads about how sad some jokers are about losing old fav stalls due to owner retiring, here U have the government trying to do something about it and the moronic retards complain about it

Maybe they should ask Coca Cola to reveal their formula too.

As usual dumbfuck opposition supporting retards talk one thing complain another. U see so many threads about how sad some jokers are about losing old fav stalls due to owner retiring, here U have the government trying to do something about it and the moronic retards complain about it

You are indeed hopeless. Why is the gahmen trying to solve this kind of problem? Do you see the US gahmen tell Apple or google to surrender their patents to the state? If they really want to help preserve this industry, work at lowering costs like rental, fixed charges etc.

Actually we need more Pap supporters like you.. then there will hope for 2016 clean sweep for the opposition.

my pet snake shall never share his secret hideout in bishan. hawkers sharing their secrets would be like my pet snake waiting to be devoured.

you like to devour people's snakes?

tsk tsk tsk

dirty lau gay :eek: :oIo:

what to do?

my pet snake is such a slimy shapeshifter.

Cufflinks

This constant reference to pet snakes, is it a euphemism for your Lan Jiao?

er...that would be my very tame anaconda :biggrin:

my pet snake is a great shapeshifter. he should be 38 now and makes very good breeding specimen. he's an idiot for all the wrong loyalty.

sense

Vivian should take a course in Intellectual Property to understand the meaning of Trade Secrets.

Coupons-for-KFC-.jpg

LeMans2011

If dis work out successful...moi guess...rights to de "trade secret" goes to NTUC...or other glc...so on top of rental...u nid to pay loyalties for ebery bowl of wantan mee sold...sinkie...songboh? :biggrin:

NTUC carrot cake anyone?

Kuailan

Fully agree with you bro!!!
Good hawker food is an asset to the stall holder, share secret receipt
wait long long, it's like teaching Chinese kungfu , the master always keep
one secret step for his self defence!

Long kang Minister really some time talk cock without using his blain!!!

This food thing must have heart..no heart n no passion. Teach also no use.

Hawkers cautious about sharing "trade secrets" at proposed training institute
By Olivia Siong

POSTED: 07 Apr 2013 6:22 PM

We've often heard of "makan" or food places in Singapore that got "lost" and was never found again. Thus, some have floated the idea of opening a training institute for retiring hawkers, to impart their knowledge to younger aspiring ones. However, some hawkers said they have their reservations.

SINGAPORE: Hawker centres are part and parcel of everyday life in Singapore -- and the government has announced it will be rolling out 10 new centres by 2017. However, there are several key challenges -- like finding enough Singaporeans who are game for the job, and for retiring hawkers to pass on their know-how to younger, aspiring hawkers.

Some have suggested opening a training institute to do this, but this has drawn mixed reactions from hawkers.

Hawker Gina Rajan, who runs Gina's Vadai, said: "Not everyone wants to leak out their secret recipe, impossible."

Normohanif Mohamed Noor from Haniff Authentic Nasi Lemak, said: "Basically if it's just to teach, then yes. But normally for trade secrets, I don't think that people will really teach that."

Younger hawkers too expressed similar sentiments.

25-year-old Daniel Surendran, who sells Putu Mayam at hawker stall Heavens, said: "If you ask me do I actually want to pass (the knowledge) to someone, I'll be very afraid. Is that person just doing it for business? Or do they really have the love and the passion for the food? When I pass over something like that, (I hope) the quality is retained or if not made better."

Food critic and founder of Singapore food guide Makansutra, KF Seetoh told MediaCorp that it is more than just gaining the secret recipes of hawkers.

He said: "They're not teachers... And if you ask some of these hawkers to release some of their family jewels, (it is as good as asking) Warren Buffet to give you his pin number because he is retiring as well."

Head of the hawker centre public consultation panel, Elim Chew, said there will need to be demand for people to bite.

She said: "I believe when there's enough of an outcry, when people say, 'look, we want to be able to learn how to cook all these dishes in the hawker centres.' Then, I believe the training centre will happen, (together with the) whole entire business chain."

Such plans have become food for thought, as the government waits to see how Singaporeans respond to such opportunities.

- CNA/ac