• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

LKY: Obama at the Helm With The World In Recession

sgnewsalte

MM Lee wrote this for Forbes magazine

http://www.forbes.com/forbes/2009/0302/017_current_events.html

Obama at the Helm With the World in Recession
Lee Kuan Yew, 02.11.09, 06:00 PM EST
Forbes Magazine dated March 02, 2009

America's recession has spread worldwide, and there has been no decoupling--for any country--from the American economy. If the U.S. does not recover, the EU will not bounce back. Other economies cannot make up the decline in demand. Asia's leaders hope that America's $800 billion-plus stimulus package will create the 3.7 million jobs President Barack Obama is targeting, which in turn will generate a more confident mood. Asians are rooting for the new President and his team to succeed.

Mr. Obama has chosen some of the most experienced and able minds to fill key economic positions in his Administration. Tim Geithner, Larry Summers, Paul Volcker and Christina Romer are four of the most highly respected experts in their fields. The next nine months will give us a fair assessment of how long and how deep this downturn is going to be.

The President has also not been hesitant to appoint men and women to other Cabinet posts who are more capable and knowledgeable in their areas of expertise than he is: General James Jones as National Security Adviser, Robert Gates as Secretary of Defense and Hillary Clinton as Secretary of State. But when these powerful, strong-willed individuals clash on policy--as they inevitably will--the President will have to make decisions. Obviously he has confidence that he can master their detailed arguments and decide among differing solutions.

Views From the Fed

Federal Reserve Chairman Ben S. Bernanke has stated that to stabilize and revive the ailing U.S. economy more must be done to strengthen the financial system. Such fiscal actions as passing the stimulus package are unlikely to promote a lasting recovery. Bernanke said stronger measures are needed, such as removing troubled assets from the balance sheets of financial institutions.

Whatever candidate Obama may have said about protecting American jobs, any move to restrict trade by Congress and/or his Administration would trigger protectionist forces across the world, setting back the global economy even further.

Obama's Other Problems

Iraq and Afghanistan. Withdrawing troops from Iraq to send more soldiers into Afghanistan is not without risk. Iraq must not be allowed to sink into civil war, with Shiite, Sunni and Kurd militias fighting to defend their different interests.

U.S. commanders know that more troops in Afghanistan will not solve the Taliban insurgency--not unless the porous Pakistan/Afghan-istan border is sealed off. Pashtuns on both sides of the border are from the same tribes. Pakistan's army has not had success in sealing the border, yet the government objects to U.S. forces carrying out bombing raids to kill Taliban forces hiding in the area's mountains.

-- Israel and Palestine. The aftermath of the Israel-Hamas war in Gaza has created a new and troubled situation--but one that offers opportunities for a two-state solution.

--Weapons of mass destruction. The constant threat of nuclear, biological or chemical weapons falling into the hands of terrorists must be addressed. Of immediate concern are Pakistan's nuclear arsenal and Iran's nuclear ambitions. Iranian President Ahmadinejad has rebuffed President Obama's offer to forge a new relationship.

Asian leaders hope that after being briefed on these awesome problems, as well as on the energy crisis and global warming, President Obama will rethink and retool his responses.

--Two emerging giants. The balance of power is shifting from the Atlantic to the Pacific. This trend began more than a decade ago with the economic reforms in China and then in India. Political and diplomatic leverage will follow the increasing economic weight of these two countries.

China, with nearly 40% of its GDP dependent on exports, has suffered badly from the sharp decline in U.S. and EU imports. Many factories in coastal regions have closed, and millions of migrant workers are returning to the countryside. Beijing is aware of the danger of social unrest should these huge numbers of retrenched workers remain idle. To this end it has announced some $600 billion in infrastructure spending. It is also working to stimulate domestic consumption, especially with regard to residential housing. With nearly $2 trillion in reserves, Beijing has ample resources to manage this problem.

Even though India has only 20% of its GDP dependent on exports (and that mainly through the sale of IT software), it has nevertheless been affected by the recession. Foreign capital has pulled out, and India's economy has slowed.

After a short period, though, both China and India will resume their spectacular growth. With their huge populations spread over two subcontinents, these two giants can prime their economies and grow through their domestic markets. They will become heavyweight actors on the world stage. Though they will not displace the U.S. as the preeminent world power, the U.S. will no longer be able to take their views and interests for granted, as it has in the past.

For America to retain its role in global affairs, President Obama will have to exercise wise leadership--as thoughtful and effective as that shown in his quest for the presidency. America's friends hope he will succeed in remaking America.

Devil Within

MM Lee is an idiot! A dumb ass who understand nothing!

"Mr. Obama has chosen some of the most experienced and able minds to fill key economic positions in his Administration. Tim Geithner, Larry Summers, Paul Volcker and Christina Romer are four of the most highly respected experts in their fields. The next nine months will give us a fair assessment of how long and how deep this downturn is going to be."

If any of these morons had any understanding of how market works, they should have warn the world about the current crisis BEFORE it happens! They are part of the problem to begin with!

"Federal Reserve Chairman Ben S. Bernanke has stated that to stabilize and revive the ailing U.S. economy more must be done to strengthen the financial system."

The current problem started with Federal Revserve printing and flooding/inflating the market with cheap money that caused the bubble. You expect them to come out with solution when they are the problem to start with?

With such an idiot at the helm of our reserve, it's no wonder our reserve loss money.

cunt_opener

at the Helm With The World In Recession

:confused: WAF is the old fart talking?

Obama is helpless within boiling water. Trying to borrow money from everywhere right now. Acting in vain to bailout and rescue his country. LKY is similar but just struggling to rescue his own family regime.

Helm what crap?

He better still say Golden Period, fucking moron old fart.

He go join George Bush best lah!

The_Latest_H

If any of these morons had any understanding of how market works, they should have warn the world about the current crisis BEFORE it happens! They are part of the problem to begin with!

Hmmm..but President Obama was elected in November 2008 while this crisis was in the making way back in August 2007, and even before that because of deregulation and the Bush tax cuts for the rich.

In this respect, blame should be laid upon the Bush administration, and in some cases, in the later years of the Clinton administration, which started the ball rolling in allowing the banking industry to self-regulate.

Obama still has a year to 18 months to prove that there will be a stem in the tide of foreclosures, unemployment, wage levels. If the levels can be maintained for a period of time after it bottoms up, the American people will probably not punish him or his party all that much during the 2010 mid-term congressional elections.

mscitw

He has made two mistakes that cost peasantpore's coffers dearly.

no one is perfect and yet old autocrat thinks he is ommipotent.

history books are full of examples of those who overstayed their welcome, Old Autocrat is certainly not the last example.

lancheowman

MM Lee is an idiot! A dumb ass who understand nothing!

"Mr. Obama has chosen some of the most experienced and able minds to fill key economic positions in his Administration. Tim Geithner, Larry Summers, Paul Volcker and Christina Romer are four of the most highly respected experts in their fields. The next nine months will give us a fair assessment of how long and how deep this downturn is going to be."

"Federal Reserve Chairman Ben S. Bernanke has stated that to stabilize and revive the ailing U.S. economy more must be done to strengthen the financial system."

The current problem started with Federal Revserve printing and flooding/inflating the market with cheap money that caused the bubble. You expect them to come out with solution when they are the problem to start with?

With such an idiot at the helm of our reserve, it's no wonder our reserve loss money.

Devil inept vocab/ devil wee-in-tin,

the only idiot here is you, you start off by cursing MM Lee, then you talk abt obama and how fed reserve and all of obama's appoitned experts have failed to keep the world out of trouble, yet, you end cursing "the person at the helm of our reserve" ...how did you tie obama and the performance of his appointees with MM lee....where is the bloody link? you stupid or wat?

Devil Within

Devil inept vocab/ devil wee-in-tin,

the only idiot here is you, you start off by cursing MM Lee, then you talk abt obama and how fed reserve and all of obama's appoitned experts have failed to keep the world out of trouble, yet, you end cursing "the person at the helm of our reserve" ...how did you tie obama and the performance of his appointees with MM lee....where is the bloody link? you stupid or wat?

Attention seeking brainless lancheowless faggot. If you don't understand my post, you can just move on. It seems to me that it is only you who have problem with my post. Why is that so? Could it be that your ego is too big for your brainless head to function? Or you are too stupid to understand that?
:oIo:

funglung

That fucking LKY should have lecture off Obama.

Tell Obama to do it the LKY way.

Peanuts only get monkeys

At the miserable pay Obama is getting , how can he rescue the economy and the world?

Obama must demand he get paid at least as much as Lee Kuan Yew.

Then Obama must demand all his staff get paid at least as much as any of the Ministers in white in Singapore

And to demand that they all get bonus of 1 year, same as for LKY and his vultures in white.

WHERE ARE THE BALLS OF LEE KUAN YEW?
LKY LOST IT ALL NOW?

LKY SHOULD TELL OBAMA THAT WHAT SUCCEEDED FOR SINGAPORE MUST SUCCEED IN THE REST OF THE WORLD

PAY PAY PAY
THATS THE WAY

lancheowman

Attention seeking brainless lancheowless faggot. If you don't understand my post, you can just move on. It seems to me that it is only you who have problem with my post. Why is that so? Could it be that your ego is too big for your brainless head to function? Or you are too stupid to understand that?

small boy devil wee-in-tin, uncle help you correct your mistake if for your own good, dun everytime pretend pretend cover up. thats why you are becoming more amd more stupid....haizzzzz.... like dat oso u dunno?

Devil Within

small boy devil wee-in-tin, uncle help you correct your mistake if for your own good, dun everytime pretend pretend cover up. thats why you are becoming more amd more stupid....haizzzzz.... like dat oso u dunno?

Pretend? I never pretend when I fuck your mother dead. LOL!.... Is that why you keep coming to seek for my attention? You are a pathetic loser, lancheowless faggot.

lancheowman

Pretend? I never pretend when I fuck your mother dead. LOL!.... Is that why you keep coming to seek for my attention? You are a pathetic loser, lancheowless faggot.

xia suay la parrot boy, make mistake kena exposed by uncle still want to act blur act seow..... everybody oso know from old forum days what a fool you are, not i say one, other people say until you buay tahan, escape from old forum, uncle still hv that post leh...everybody's mother you oso want ot fuck meh? can finish meh

Ok so now old man admit China cannot lift world out of recession and US is still key player. About turn by the PAP! Convienient time to announce we in shits all over unless USA pick up steam!

Tired of these damm liar PAP goons! Vote them out!

Ptui!

He forgot one of PAP goons, Lim Swee Say, said he can upturn the downturn of the Singapore economy woh. So no need to depend on the US lah.