• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living with Myths III: Beginnings

underMIND

1.jpg

The 1st part of the blog.. for easier reading..

• 1.png
    1.png
    131.9 KB · Views: 178

danielsim

Very interesting read. In fact, I would very much endorse the opinion that 'Beginnings', or master narrative as we can so understand it better, are simply interpretations of various pieces of information conjoined together to make clearer and more vivid sense of how the different events co-relate and lead on to one after another. It is through all of these constant, wide-ranging studies and analysis of topical and thematic reviews that we can conjure new perspectives in this ever-changing society as well as to lay the foundations for a new future that we can envision, in the Now, or in the near future.

Poomer

Well, it's a critical analysis of Singapore's history as we know it. It being the official stance of the Singapore government, reinforced by history books, museums and SPH news articles. Or simply put, fucking the government using flowery words, till they dunno they kena fuck...

danielsim

Exactly sia ... But this blogger really can write sia given the words that he uses ...:biggrin:

It is simply..... thinking critically. But the author really gives good insights. All in all, the government is trying to change what we perceive our history as by doing what they do best. SNEAKY MANIPULATION TACTICS and trying to cover them up with supposedly "good" (read:alternative) motives and propaganda.

underMIND

Well, it's a critical analysis of Singapore's history as we know it. It being the official stance of the Singapore government, reinforced by history books, museums and SPH news articles. Or simply put, fucking the government using flowery words, till they dunno they kena fuck...

Having read the article, you can see that academics are now becoming more vocal with their views. Although sometimes you really got to read between the lines to understand the 'real' meaning of it.

danielsim

Having read the article, you can see that academics are now becoming more vocal with their views. Although sometimes you really got to read between the lines to understand the 'real' meaning of it.

Come to think about it, it is indeed heartening to see more academia stepping up to fulfill their higher calling of righting the wrong. Hopefully through all these, we can strive towards the CHANGE in rules and way of governing which all of us are fervently hoping for. Cheers to a better future!

Poomer

Come to think about it, it is indeed heartening to see more academia stepping up to fulfill their higher calling of righting the wrong. Hopefully through all these, we can strive towards the CHANGE in rules and way of governing which all of us are fervently hoping for. Cheers to a better future!

Well, it doesn't take a genius to realise that the fundamentals of Singapore's government has gone to the dogs. Matters have gone awry in so many different aspects that it's starting to be a chore to list them down one by one. I would say that the problem lies with the head, which have caused the many wounds on other parts of the body to fester. In the past, historical accuracy, or the lack of, on the government's part were considered a necessary evil. After all, when you had a good government, that served the people, you just take it as a worthwhile tradeoff. But these days, it's a fact that many feel that the PAP has lost the plot and do not have the mandate to lead, more people are voting PAP because they don't want change or are clinging to their past, than really supporting the PAP government. There comes the part when people start questioning the past and with the internet, those previously soft voices can now be heard on a large platform, and let's face it, there is no lack of listeners these days.

underMIND

Well, it doesn't take a genius to realise that the fundamentals of Singapore's government has gone to the dogs. Matters have gone awry in so many different aspects that it's starting to be a chore to list them down one by one. I would say that the problem lies with the head, which have caused the many wounds on other parts of the body to fester. In the past, historical accuracy, or the lack of, on the government's part were considered a necessary evil. After all, when you had a good government, that served the people, you just take it as a worthwhile tradeoff. But these days, it's a fact that many feel that the PAP has lost the plot and do not have the mandate to lead, more people are voting PAP because they don't want change or are clinging to their past, than really supporting the PAP government. There comes the part when people start questioning the past and with the internet, those previously soft voices can now be heard on a large platform, and let's face it, there is no lack of listeners these days.

I am with you on this. When we start questioning the past, we will gain more insight into the current mess. Moreover, these are not some ah beng/ah lian trying to stir shit here. They are academia and this soft voices pack a powerful punch!