• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lim Chin Siong was a Communist

Katana

So is LKY and PAP. Didn't LHL said that a one party rule was necessary for Sinkapore? So what does that make him? A two party rule is always better and looking at how Sinkapore is today under LKY, i'd rather have Lim Chin Siong as Prime Minister.

hairylee

If we follow LKY's definition of Communists then all samsters are Communists Sympathizers.
In the old days anybody against LKY are Marxist or their Sympathizers. Present day they cannot use it anymore but they have a new term for oppositions they cannot handle - Mentally Unsound

Hope

What are your thoughts?
LKY declared that he wasn't,but communist inclined.

I dont think he was.

Communist inclinded,yes no doubt so was LKY plus many others.

No point talking about this,the guy already died,and he declared that he wasn't.

Tat is it!LKY also dare not talk about more.

Karma,Karnma,Karma is in the air!

Lee Hsien Tau

Yeah! Even the Ah Tiong he invited to be bus driver is a commie.

He can't use old excuses to lock up his opponents anymore?

So how will he use the ISA? Is it a dead duck?:rolleyes:

If we follow LKY's definition of Communists then all samsters are Communists Sympathizers.
In the old days anybody against LKY are Marxist or their Sympathizers. Present day they cannot use it anymore but they have a new term for oppositions they cannot handle - Mentally Unsound

You mean the Ah Tiongs openly invited into the cuntry aren't commies?

Not so long ago.......when Bank Of China , at Battery Road, was draped in Red banners, with quotation of Chairman Mao...and proclaiming that the EAST is RED...we called them communists...and felt very uncomfortable with them....now we emabraced them, like brothers!

Who really cares if the "Ah tiongs' that land here are communists...most SINkies men, will only care if the Ah mei's they are with...' cum is it'???:biggrin: ;which they are more concern...

ha ha ha

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
What are your thoughts?

Dear Scroobal,

I guess we need to look at the context of that era in better perspective.

Those were the days of anti-colonialism and cultural chauvinism. However, there is really a political ideology vacuum so to speak. The communist party, which has took part in the anti-Japanese invasion was the only relatively well organized political entity in Malaya. However, right after the way, the colonial government has banned the communist party when the anti-colonialism movement took place.

So if you ask me, if you are someone who are anti-colonial rule that comes with exploitation of labour and resources, which organization will you join?

This is the historical context. PAP was formed as the proxy political front of the communist party. If this is the case, could we conclude that all people in PAP back then were communists?

The support of the communist party withered after the Colonial governments have set out the plan of retreat and giving autonomy to the people of the colonized land. And the route map of independence for this land has been planned before and after 1959 General elections. This is basically because those who have joined the communist party for the purpose of fighting against the colonial rule would have realized that their cause could be carried forward without the communist party which was still an illegal entity.

Thus I would say that in this perspective, Lim Chin Siong may well be playing the same game as LKY; riding the tiger with his own agenda. He may be leftist (so is LKY and Goh KS back then) which sympathize with the communist party (many see the communist party as a great entity that has fought against the Japanese in WW II. This is basically their greatest political capital that become the greatest threat to the British rule.) or even wanted to have the option of making use of the communist party to take power, but to determine whether he was communist or not would need more convincing ideological proof.

Did he really believe in communism as an ideology? Or just the their cause in getting rid of the Colonial government? There is very little evidence of his political belief as "communist" so far.

Goh Meng Seng

wizard

Any one that oppose the PAP ( LKY ) during that time is a communists or bandits?

Any one that oppose US policy in Iraq and Afgan policy now is Terrorist ?

If Barisan socialist won then LKY is a western spy or traitor?

If US crime real intention in IRAQ is expose and lose then they become invader?

Fuck them all. I think these politicans look at the mirror and wonder who the fuck they are sometime.....

lockeliberal

Dear GMS

There two replies from Chin Peng when it came to communist in Singapore and they were both illustrative of the issue. Both quotes are paraphrased and were taken from " Conversations with Chin Peng," and " My side of History." and taken together I do believe that LCS was a communist and understood who he was supporting and why for ideological reasons event though he might not or might have been a member

Conversations with Chin Peng

Direct question was LCS a communist, CPs reply was not LCS was or LCS was not a communist but rather..." LCS said he was not a communist." Illustrative and illuminating

My Side of History.

We influenced the communist in Singapore.........Lee Siew Chow and the Puthecary and other prominient figures were not Communist MEMBERS....... Cold Store wiped out our Communist underground.

Contextually LCS and all the other by 1961 knew what the MCP stood for, and knew that it stood for the armed struggle. They also knew that by 1961 independence had been given to Malaysia and that Independence and or self government was already on the table with the colonial government. They knew to that Independence had been granted by that stage to many colonies and that many ex colonies were on the road to independence. The writing was on the wall, Singapore would get its independence from Britain, the only question was who would be in control of Singapore, would it be interests friendly with the British or Interests not friendly with the brits. Any cooperation with the communist or support was a belief that communism or some variant of communism would be the best way to rule and govern Singapore.

If it was purely anti colonial, at that point in history they would have given up, the fact that they carried on a political struggle meant to me at least , they believed and fought and struggled because of a belief in communist ideology whether they were communist or communist members

Locke

Tiu Kwang Yew

of course, during that time, the ang moh hated communism, so to say Lim Chin Siong was communist was an easy way to rid him from power.

Ah Lim is no more, so who to contradict???

cross the river and burn down the bridge---small man tactic--only bastards did that.

Then the marxists, and then the terrorists.....and now is about suing...

dont we have so many communists working in sinkapore now ???? Driving taxi .....Knn! These PAP bastards !

Now there is no enemy left except the voters, so how?

Immigration is the solution, notice these two years ? FTs swell like fuck and new more citizens are made to vote in fucking PAP skunks and swines to9 stay in power !!!

You see during elections, PAP bastards dont debate policies, they hope for situation like GOMEZ saga and then talk fuck about it with the help of media fuckers and dogs. And they win not gentlemanly!
THose stupid fucking voters like to see who are bad guys and who are good guys in disguise.

Think what, kuan yew a democratic fucker ?

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Dear Locke,

Chin Peng said that Ops Cold Store wipe out their underground commie in Singapore does not provide direct evidence thaqt LCS was a communist.

The proper perspective should be, Ops Cold Store wipe out LKY's most threatening opponents totally, be it communists or otherwise! Cold Store wiped out more than communists.. almost all leftist activists that did not chose to stand on LKY's side.

Thus, I do not think that constitute as "evidence" as to whether LCS was a communist or not. In fact, I would say that if there are such outright evidence, LCS would be charged as such.

To be exact, PAP, LKY and all PAP members, underground communists, leftists, unionists..etc all of them made use of the fact that the communists has great political capital in fighting against the Japanese during WWII to garner support for achieving their respective agendas. LKY did it, so did LCS.

So are you saying anyone who stand in line knowingly with communists' "obvious" covert ops in PAP are communist in nature? If that is the case, LKY and everyone in PAP would be considered as communists per se, just that they suddenly discard the connections and influence immediately right after they got what they wanted.. POWER!

Put is simply, LKY & his faction ride on Leftists led by LCS while Leftists ride on communist party. It really makes no difference, really because I do not think LKY's faction was that dumb in not knowing who they were dealing with in PAP! I mean, it is already a known FACT that some of the LKY faction old guards KNOWINGLY helped communists to escape colonial government arrests!

I would say BOTH LKY faction and LCS Barisan faction made use of the communists, never mind if they were communists or not, but they practically slept with them. But so far, there isn't any hint of distinctive differences in political ideology between the LKY & LCS factions other than the issue of merger. Both have knowingly helped and ride on communist influences. Both believed in Leftist movement. But no signs nor slightest evidence that anyone of them believe in communism.

As for whether LCS was a communist member or not, it is really immaterial; I mean, nobody will ever know for sure! Even if he was, was it ideologically aligned or just for political convenience? Nobody will ever know.

Anyway, history is always written by victors with a tainted glass.

Goh Meng Seng

Dear GMS

There two replies from Chin Peng when it came to communist in Singapore and they were both illustrative of the issue. Both quotes are paraphrased and were taken from " Conversations with Chin Peng," and " My side of History." and taken together I do believe that LCS was a communist and understood who he was supporting and why for ideological reasons event though he might not or might have been a member

Conversations with Chin Peng

Direct question was LCS a communist, CPs reply was not LCS was or LCS was not a communist but rather..." LCS said he was not a communist." Illustrative and illuminating

My Side of History.

We influenced the communist in Singapore.........Lee Siew Chow and the Puthecary and other prominient figures were not Communist MEMBERS....... Cold Store wiped out our Communist underground.

Contextually LCS and all the other by 1961 knew what the MCP stood for, and knew that it stood for the armed struggle. They also knew that by 1961 independence had been given to Malaysia and that Independence and or self government was already on the table with the colonial government. They knew to that Independence had been granted by that stage to many colonies and that many ex colonies were on the road to independence. The writing was on the wall, Singapore would get its independence from Britain, the only question was who would be in control of Singapore, would it be interests friendly with the British or Interests not friendly with the brits. Any cooperation with the communist or support was a belief that communism or some variant of communism would be the best way to rule and govern Singapore.

If it was purely anti colonial, at that point in history they would have given up, the fact that they carried on a political struggle meant to me at least , they believed and fought and struggled because of a belief in communist ideology whether they were communist or communist members

Locke

TeeKee

What are your thoughts?

socialists are aplenty in developed Europe, they provide the best welfare for the people, in a capitalist economy...

it's a much better system than the you die your own problem society.

the most liveable and happy people are residing there...:biggrin:

TeeKee

You mean the Ah Tiongs openly invited into the cuntry aren't commies?

nah i dun think they'll be homesicked, sgp hybrid regime is similar to prc's authoritarian regime..even sinkies will feel at home in prc....without mentioning the prc mei meis...

in sgp there is only one lee kuan yew, in prc, there are plenty of lee kuan yews around....

like what falungon's epoch times/ new dynasty tv said, more than 1 million already quit the communist party...LOL!:biggrin:

TeeKee

LCS denied he was a communist even when he was on his death bed. Even if he is one, it is no big deal. A communist cares for his community. what's wrong with that?

many socialists, like those Catholics in operation spectrum, are branded as communist by Hakka Lee, it's the most easy way out solution for him to eradicate his political opponents or people who go against his plans for a Hakka Lee Regime..

see how it turn out? Ho Jinx losing billions of our taxpayers monies!!

the karma is on the 66.6% who deserved it...:biggrin:

lockeliberal

Dear GMS

My view has always been to seek and triangulate between differing accounts of history, note the differences and to account for them.

Cold Store succeeded by Chin Peng's own admission, if it worked as claimed then obviously the majority of those arrested might have been LKY's opponents but they definitely were either communist members or supporters for Chin Peng's claim to be true. And for cold store to succeed then Chin Peng was in control of the leftist/ LCS faction or in direct influence. They may have been both leftists but one side was definitely under communist control.

LKY quoted Harold Laski, he was a socialist but that was very far from being a communist. Goh Keng Swee went to LSE, that was as left a liberal institution as it could get, but whatever the case they all understood the differences between the left and the communist. There were not innocents, no political virgins then, the left knew what it stood for, and the communist knew what it stood for.

How far left was LCS. and LSC to the point of being marxists ? Its illustrative that the emblem of Barisan Soclalis did not bother in any way to disguise its communist or marxist origins.

Locke