• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

LHL said "GST increase to help the poor" - Evidence that he said it?

AndroAsc

Hey bros, I need some help with some idiot PAP moron I met online with short-term and selective memory. Does anyone have a link to an original or official source that records LHL saying that GST increase to is to help the poor. This was way back during the last GST hike from 7% to 5%.

Appreciate any help you can give guys!!!

Hey bros, I need some help with some idiot PAP moron I met online with short-term and selective memory. Does anyone have a link to an original or official source that records LHL saying that GST increase to is to help the poor. This was way back during the last GST hike from 7% to 5%.

Appreciate any help you can give guys!!!

GST.jpg

Official source or some newspaper la bro... It might have been said on TV, so a TV recording would do as well, although I seriously doubt anyone was so heng to catch it...

overall transport bus + mrt fare drop by 1 to 2 cents?

Official source or some newspaper la bro... It might have been said on TV, so a TV recording would do as well, although I seriously doubt anyone was so heng to catch it...

If you want an official source..
You can search online for the date when Dragon Prince said this and go to national library archives to look through Shit Times archives

:o

Yeah, I used that link. And the PAP blinded person told me it technically doesn't say that LHL said it since the quotation marks is "vague". Anyway thanks for the link bro.... I guess some Sinkies have just short term and selective memory and will argue for the sake of arguing.

I dun remember Mai Hum Loong say tat... sori but ebery time i c him on tv toking cok, i chg channel immediately...i rather watch an adv on sanitary pad u noe...:D:D

But i think i remember hearing Tharman Shanmugaratnam say tat during 1 of his fuckup speech. :)

I think GST is to help ministers getting their multi-million dollars pay, to help pay for YOG, to help cover for the losses of GIC, to help increase the gov's buffer, anything and everything BUT to help the poor.

Now it is 2010, did the poor felt being helped after 3 years since GST increase?

http://www.mof.gov.sg/budget_2007/gst.html

Q3: It is unclear as to why the Government has to “tax the poor to help the poor”. If it is indeed the Government’s aim to help the lower-income, why not exempt basic goods and services and impose a higher rate of GST for luxury items?

A3: Exempting basic necessities like rice from GST is not the best way to help poorer Singaporeans. GST exemption on basic necessities will benefit higher-income households more than the middle- and lower-income groups, as the higher-income consume more of everything in absolute terms. It is preferable that we keep the tax flat so that its rate can be kept low and the system simple to administer. With a flat tax on all goods and services, the Government will be able to harness the additional revenue to help the lower-income to the extent that they will be better off than without the GST increase.

I dun remember Mai Hum Loong say tat... sori but ebery time i c him on tv toking cok, i chg channel immediately...i rather watch an adv on sanitary pad u noe...:D:D

But i think i remember hearing Tharman Shanmugaratnam say tat during 1 of his fuckup speech. :)

I rather watch the male cat outside the window attempting to mate with the female & creating such a ruckus, which is less annoying that the voice of "mee siam mai hum"....which makes my tummy churn.

:p

I rather watch the male cat outside the window attempting to mate with the female & creating such a ruckus, which is less annoying that the voice of "mee siam mai hum"....which makes my tummy churn.

The most annoying thing is his boisterous laugh.
It's hideous.

Yeeeeee, can't stand the horny ruckus.

Prefer to watch the grass growing. so much more interesting.

Wah!...So i m not de oni 1 tat got turn off...Starhub shd seriously consider installing an "ignore" feature in their set top box...;):D:p